We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here on a stay and park package before flying on 23rd December 2011.
The hotel is beautiful and the reception staff were charming. We were upgraded to a superior king size room which was very comfortable and well appointed.
We enjoyed some drinks in the comfortable and stylish Library Bar - the barman was very pleasant and attentive. The next time we stay will definitely try out one of the restaurants - we had a look at the menus and they looked very tempting.
Parking is conveniently located underground at the hotel and Terminal 5 is a short, covered walk away. The other terminals can be reached by a short, free train transfer.
We would highly recommend this hotel and have already booked our next stay on 7th September 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,990
    2,769
    630
    213
    131
See reviews for
1,655
4,459
1,303
2,624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,517)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A bit pricey just for the convenience of walking from hotel to plane...but have stayed at several hotels at Heathrow...and this is THE best!!!!! Would have liked a robe and free wi fi...
Food in restaurant also is quite good. And, service throughout hotel also great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJaneToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Yes, 5 stars for the Sofitel London Heathrow. I was so impressed with everything from the service, to the food, to the amazing rooms, modern glass architecture fit for a spy movie, and obviously a great location in the airport.

I've stayed at the Sofitel many times as a night before the flight out hotel, but one time I was actually living in the hotel for 2 weeks during the Iceland volcano shutdown of the skies. I used the Sofitel as my home base to be close to the airport when the flights were ready to leave.

Easy trip to downtown London on the train and enough choices of food between 4 restaurants at the hotel and a few choices around the airport.

Room service is slow, but well prepared and presented.

Breakfast in the hotel restaurant is fabulous.

The hotel has a movie night once a week in their corporate theatre.

I've used this hotel for meetings and larger group functions and the events team at the Sofitel are top notch.

Rooms are incredible with very cool lighting effects, very comfortable beds, flat screen TV that you can hook your laptop into for movies and the washroom is huge.

Cleaning staff do an amazing job, the rooms are absolutely spotless and repairs are made immediately.

Card key access is much more secure using RFiD proximity embedded chip cards, rather than mag strips.

Love this hotel, and it helped make the volcano shutdown more bearable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DowntownCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Lovely hotel, but what sets this hotel apart is its service which is standout, and for London surprisingly friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointyhead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Pros:

Love the in-room electric water kettle, instant coffee & tea (provided at no charge)!

Well lit, spacious bathroom with separate walk-in shower and bathtub had excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water.

Beds have duvets with crisp, clean white duvet covers (as opposed to blankets and bedspreads that rarely get washed).

Excellent proximity to Terminal 5 (we arrived from SFO very late, went to sleep after midnight and had to be out the door by 8:00 am for our flight to Milan)

Robes and slippers are provided.

Bed sheets and bath towels are excellent quality.

Cons

Room rates do NOT include wifi or any sort of breakfast.

Our room had only one bathrobe and it had clearly been used by a previous guest. We immediately called down and asked for two clean robes and extra bath towels which were delivered to the room quickly, but still, not a great way to start.

The bathtub is oddly narrow. My husband and I are petite to average sized; doubt a larger person could bathe comfortably. Not really "luxurious" by U.S. standards.

No swimming pool.

Check-in and check-out were slow and tedious.

Overall impressions:
We booked a Classic room (220 GBP) in advance, on the hotel website. Upon checking in, we inquired about wifi and breakfast (not included in the room rate) and were offered the option to upgrade to a Superior room, with wifi and "continental" breakfast, for an additional 46 GBP. In total, we paid 266 GBP or $420 USD for one night. At that price, not a great value.

The rooms are well designed with comfortable beds. The in-room kettle is a very welcome touch, but I can't stand being charged extra for wifi, especially by a "luxury" hotel. The bathroom was spacious and modern. The glass enclosed shower was very nice, the soiled bathrobe was not. Oddly, there was no bidet. Luxurious? For an airport hotel, I suppose, but at over $400 per night? The continental breakfast was just coffee and tiny croissants - nothing else! Overall, I don't feel the price reflected a good value. Despite this, we'll probably stay here again if we have another late arrival and early departure out of Terminal 5 simply because of the excellent location and good night's sleep, but I'll try to get a better rate and I won't pay extra for breakfast or wifi.

Tips:
For those arriving in Terminal 5, I highly recommend the Marks and Spencer food shop for anyone looking for a healthy light take-away meal at a reasonable price. We picked up some wonderful mixed fruit bowls, various salads (loved the four bean salad) and yogurt at very reasonable prices. This is a great alternative to ordering room service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHairedGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 31, 2011

If you have to transit through London, this is the hotel for you. The convenience of the Sofitel Terminal 5 via Heathrow Express between terminals made this a very seamless journey to our hotel upon our arrival at Terminal 3. Other hotels within the area require shuttle buses (Hoppa Bus) with drivers that are lazy and have rotten attitudes. My prior experience with local Heathrow hotels is that rooms are old, small, and not updated to meet the needs of today's savvy travelers. Sofitel exceeded my expectations and provided ample room where you didn't feel as if you were sleeping in a hotel's broom closet. Don't waste your time saving a couple of pounds for offsite locations. A good night's rest will make you very pleased that you chose this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Premium hotel located in Terminal 5 of LHR; had a very specific itinerary which had me flying into Terminal 5 (which made this Sofitel London Heathrow very convenient) and allowed for an immediate check in (despite an extra charge for early check-in at 8AM) and much-needed nap. A 6:45 AM flight the following morning out of Terminal 3 necessitated staying within this location despite a night trip into downtown London.
Things I appreciated: very nice Tea5 lounge, great gym equipment and room, superb concerge staff, sound-proof rooms allowed for a great sleep
Things to watch out for: my cab to Knightsbridge via taxi cost 90 GBP with tip. If possible, take the Heathrow Express into Paddington Station (which I did coming back). Taxi trip to Terminal 3 at 4:30 AM cost 17GBP. TO GO TO AN ADJACENT TERMINAL. Terminal 3 does NOT start functioning until 5:00 AM so if you can wait for the 5:07 Heathrow Express from Terminal 5 to Terminal 3, then do so.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speechino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.2 mi away
YOTELAIR London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing