We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient! and luxurious!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed at the Sofitel which was located conveniently adjacent to LHR terminal 5. Easy free ride on the Heathrow Express to get to flight leaving from terminal 1. The hotel is relatively new. The room was spacious and the lounge chairs were awesome. Very quiet. Only downside was that the view out of my window was facing the all glass elevator bank, so had to keep the shades drawn. Most rooms face inward toward an atrium. Would have liked to have been able to see planes taking off from the airport. But the rooms themselves are very well appointed. If you don't mind the hour long tube ride into central London, this is a very economical place to stay in London compared to similar class hotels in the central city.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelenoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,748 - 10,754 of 12,047 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at the Sofitel to make our morning longer. It worked out great since we had a 7:35 AM flight from Heathrow. We were met by very polite bell service, sped through check in and got to our room in a matter of minutes. The concierge arranged for shuttles to Windsor Castle, a nice dinner on the river and a morning transfer to Terminal 1. Everything was done perfectly for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheKeeneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Upon check in I was greeted by a bellman to assist with bags and checked in to the hotel with my name being used several times. The room was very clean and luxurious. The beds were soo comfortable! The tea lounge was a bit steep,(price wise) but it can be expected as to the calibre of the hotel. The concierge was very helpful in assisting us with airport information and arranging transportation. Overall great experience with this hotel. I would stay here again, coming through Heathrow.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGlately
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just a quick review to really recommend this hotel. We stayed here before an early morning flight to NY andthis hotel really is very impressive. Airport hotels are often poor, grotty and unwelcoming. This one is totally different. The place is vritually brand new, the room we got wasn't massive nor small, but it was of a very high quality. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the facilities at T5 are just a short walk away.

We didnt try room service at the Sofitel so can't comment on it but what we can say is that we had a very relaxing night's sleep in a hotel which didnt feel like an airport hotel, and we were thoroughly refreshed before our flight.

I'd definitely recommend the Sofitel T5 as it's a little oasis of calm and comfort next to a busy terminal, and you'll have a lovely relaxing time before zipping away on your flight.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed for 1 night prior to an early BA flight to Athens. We flew down from Manchester with BA into T5 so it was really convenient for us. I can't understand the comments about the hotel being difficult to find as it is clearly signposted. The reception area is so big as to be quite daunting but as soon as we walked in a porter took care of us and our luggage was taken from us and delivered to our room really quickly. Our room was next to the chill out area and was good value for the pre paid price. Everything you would expect plus a really comfortable chair and footstool. There is an excellent range of cocktails (try the Paris Martini) but be aware that some facilities e.g. the Library Bar, are not always open. We had dinner in the Belle Epoch and whilst not exactly cheap the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Check out was smooth and we were on our way back to the terminal in no time. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandCDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Travelling a lot, i never have high hopes for an airport hotel -- the Sofitel however managed to disappoint even limited expectations.

Delays and Indfifferent service check-in; poor, over priced food; pay for wifi; an insistence on answering requests for room service / wake up calls in French (really?) Not impressive.

The only redeeming feature -- the convenience factor. Stay if you must, but make a trip to M&S for dinner and the terminal for WiFi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTravelledScot03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls that you experienced. I would very much like to gain more information with specific details as I do look into these issues personally. Please e-mail me at Vincent.Madden@Sofitel.com and I can answer you personally.

Regarding WiFi, we are presently reconfiguring our system to allow free access to all guests. These works will be completed by the end of October. Presently high speed access is free to all guests on a Superior or Luxury room category or above. I know that this change will be very popular with all of our guests.

As a French brand we do extend an initial French greeting and then proceed to continue in English I am sorry if this irritated you.

Thank you for the positive comments on the location and ease of access, I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. In the meantime I look forward to hearing from so.

Yours sincerely

Vincent Madden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

It’s modern, it’s new and it’s convenient. If your flight departs from Terminal 5, in less than ten minutes you can walk from your hotel room to the departure lounge, check in, check your baggage and be on your way. We booked a prepaid advance purchase classic room (277 sqf) for the night prior to our departure to Nairobi. The rate was £ 190.80. The check in process is initiated with a £ 55.00 proposal to upgrade your stay with a buffet breakfast for two and in-room internet connectivity. The upgrade saves £ 2.00 off a la carte pricing. Check-in was efficient although indifferent.
The room is modern but tight, well appointed and furnished with a wall mounted flat panel TV, desk set, lounge chair and table. The queen size bed is comfortable and outfitted with high quality linens. The built in wardrobe houses your personal safe. In room coffee and tea service is provided. The bathroom, although small, has a separate tub and walk-in shower. It is furnished with a complete range of L’Occitane toiletries.
The hotel’s common facilities include a gift shop, two cocktail lounges, hair salon, spa, gym and two restaurants. An airline check-in terminal is located off the main lobby. It includes a printer for boarding passes. Dinner table service at the Vivre restaurant was abysmal due to insufficient staffing for a very busy dining venue. The evening meal was acceptable although the selection was pedestrian. The meal charge was £ 103.00 which included a bottle of pinot noir. The breakfast buffet is expansive.
Check-out represents a considerable service enhancement opportunity. It is very busy and the express check-out is cumbersome effectively negating any benefit associated with its availability. The express check out requires completion of a separate form including signature and email address information all of which the hotel garnered at the time of booking, check-in or both. User considerate, it is not!!! In addition, check-out triggers turning off the room’s electricity as well as invalidating the key card thus rendering the room inaccessible. No mention of this is made in the check-out process. You learn of it on your return to the room. A call to the front desk is required to reverse the actions.
Airport baggage trolleys are available in the main lobby; however, the porters will not allow you to take them to your room. A seamless transition from hotel to airline check-in is not good for gratuities.
The Sofitel LHR is a non-smoking venue.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelT5, General Manager at Sofitel London Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your most informative review following your stay with us. You gave some very valuable feedback and I appreciated the positive observations that you made while apologising for the areas we let you down.

Specifically the service in our Restaurant was poor and for this I apologise, I have discussed this with the team who wish to be associated with my apologies.

We do not allow the luggage trolleys to the rooms as they can cause extensive damage, to counteract this we provide porterage 24hours a day and we have airport trolleys available in the lobby on check-out so you can take it directly to the Airport.

Your comments on the express check-out form are well noted and something I will look into further.

Thank you again, if I can be of further assistance please do let me know at vincent.madden@sofitel.com. In the meantime I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely


Vincent Madden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
2 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range: $174 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing