We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fiddletown, California
Level 6 Contributor
720 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Perfect Airport Hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had an overnighter on our way home and stayed at this hotel. It was easy to get to and the rooms were nice sized, with everything you need, well appointed, and comfortable. Just a few elevator rides and you can be at the terminal or on the tube to London which we did for the day. It is nice not to have to rush to the airport when you can walk. Excellent value for the cost. Wi-fi is not free. Staff were very helpful and courteous. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,266
    2,849
    658
    222
    136
See reviews for
1,759
4,626
1,337
2,690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I've stayed in some really terrible airport hotels at Heathrow and this is just head and shoulders above the rest. The price is worth it for the space, service, cleanliness and comfort. Highly recommended despite the price tag.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkyb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This place calls itself a “luxury hotel.” In my experience, this is not remotely the case. Our experience was a disaster from beginning to end.
(1) There is no information given to you on how to get to the Sofitel hotel in the emailed hotel confirmation or information in any of the terminals (except Terminal 5). One airport official told me the hotel had a hotel bus to take you to terminal 5. We waited outside for awhile until it was clear there was no hotel bus. Another official said you had to walk there (from terminal 2). A third said we should take a taxi over there - we tried the taxi drives did not want to do that short run. We finally determined that there is an intermittent express subway that runs about every thirty minutes to Terminal 5 and then you wander around until you find the hotel. Even more circuitous was the return to Terminal 4 to fly back to the US. There is no train connection between Terminals 4 and 5 – you have to go back to central station from Terminal 5 and then take another train to Terminal 4 (that took about 45 minutes). We understood that a bus ran between 4 and 5, but no one seemed to know where to pick it up. We tried the taxi drivers again and were once again turned down.

The point of all of this comment is that we stayed at an Heathrow airport hotel for convenience and ease of use before we flew back to the US. The hotel has an obligation to actually tell its customers how to find it – particularly with all of the misinformation that clearly exists among airport officials. It would have been better to take the Express Train into London and stayed at one of the hotels close to the downtown train station.

(2) Once at the hotel they had probably 30 people in line waiting to check in, with three staff checking them in – at 8:00 at night. That took 20-30 minutes of waiting in line – for a lot of customers who were already tired and grumpy from traveling. When I asked the staff if this was normal, she indicated that it was always busy. No apologizes from any of the staff.

(3) As we walked to our room, we gazed out the large five story glass atrium windows of the front of the hotel into a empty lot filled with rubble, an abandoned truck and abandoned trailer. Wonderful ambiance.

(4) The “suite” was about the size of a Holiday Inn room with a sofa and chair crammed into it – I guess so they could say it was a “suite.” The room was sweltering because the AC turns off unless your room card in stuck in the wall.

(5) The reservation indicated that I received “Free Internet Service” but when I tried to connect I was charged 15 pounds for the connection. When I called down to the front desk they said that was how the system worked – but they would refund me in the morning on the bill to my room. Looks like a scam to me, where they hope hotel customers don’t raise an issue. When we checked out, there was no refund on the room charges. They then indicated that it would be refunded on my credit card. Not sure if that has happened yet. But: the front desk did not seem to know what was the actual procedure.

(6) We decided to have a drink and snacks at the hotel Club (included in the Suite charge). It took us 10 minutes of wandering around and asking hotel employees where we could find it – most seemed not to know or gave us wrong informaiton. There is a sign on our floor indicating the Club was down a hallway, but neglected to tell you it was one floor below.

(7) Once at the club, the “snacks” had clearly been sitting out for quite some and looked overripe and disgusting (raw tuna) or dried out (chesse). There were pieces ofstale bed that had been ripped up and remained in the bread basket. Meanwhile the staff person kept hovering about ten feet from us, staring at us – till we got spooked and left.

(8) On the way back to room, we saw four London policemen hauling someone out of one of the hotel rooms.

(9) We went back to the Club in the morning so we could check out the “free” breakfast and check out there (as provided for in our confirmation) to avoid the long check out lines. The breakfast was the same old dried out cheese from the night before, some fruit, some stale bread and some cold cut meats. There was also no one in the place during the 20 minutes we were there to check us out.

(10) The hotel only opened in 2008, but it already has a worn feeling about it.

(11) The Good: the beds were comfortable and the room was quiet and well insulated from noise.

Bottom Line: I would not stay at this place again if it was the last hotel available in Heathrow. Take the Express train into London – you’ll have a better time and waste less time and money.

Room Tip: Take the Express Train to London
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Wonderful hotel for the weary traveller! Great idea to have a hotel like this at a location like Heathrowsuch a pity we only needed to stay one night. Received an upgrade to a King size room without needing to ask. Huge heavenly beds and luxuriously large bathroom and lovely L'Occitane toiletry products. Plenty of thick fluffy towels and great room service. Extensive breakfast buffet with very helpful waiters and service staff.
If you have to stay only one night with an early flight the next day, spoil yourself and splurge a bit on this one!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathykar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I flew into Heathrow late night from Athens May 23. Was exhausted after a 10 day hiking trip and I guess sort of sad that the adventure had come to an end. I had made the one night reservation for the Sofitel Hotel, at least I thought. (Be careful when making the online reservation). After a bit of a hike through the airport to get to the Sofitel it turns out the reservation was actually for their sister hotel across town. Long story short, the night manager initially turned me away and then found a way to get me in. He upgraded the accommodations and I had an amazing stay. Thank you so much. I'm just sorry it has taken me so long to write the review and thank you. Hotel was amazing! The room, breakfast, spa treatment, bar, etc. It was just what I needed after the long trip coming back to Seattle. Thank you night manager and crew for ending my trip on such a positive note.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlipFlop16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hounslow
2.4 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.0 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Heathrow

Property: Sofitel London Heathrow
Address: | Terminal 5, London Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hounslow
#1 Business Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Family Hotel in Hounslow
#2 Green Hotel in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London Heathrow 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Heathrow Airport hotel with direct access to Terminal 5 via a covered walkway and Terminals 1, 2, 3 / Terminal 4 via courtesy Heathrow Express / Connect rail connection and only 21 minutes from Central London by train. Sofitel London Heathrow boasts 605 non-smoking bedrooms including 27 suites. All rooms include the famous Sofitel MyBed, plasma screen TV and double glazed windows (rooms facing outside have triple glazing). All bathrooms include separate walk-in shower and bath. For your meetings and events, the hotel's conference centre boasts 45 meeting rooms including three executive boardrooms, a tiered theatre and a main room for up to 1,300 delegates. The hotel food and beverage outlets include: La Belle Epoque - 3AA Rosette restaurant serving gourmet French cuisine with contemporary world influences; Vivre - with its open theatre kitchens, Sphere Bar, the Le Bar Parisien invites you to experience classic and trendy cocktails, as well as Champagne selection, and the Tea 5 salon serves delicious cakes and lunch options. Leisure facilities include the hotel's Zen Garden, a 24-hour gym as well as a hydro suite with vitality pool, sauna and steam room (chargeable). A hair salon is located on the ground floor. For travellers arriving by car, the hotel offers on-site underground car park as well as Park & Fly packages for up to 15 days. We do also offer transportation to and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Heathrow Hotel Hounslow
Sofitel Hotel London Heathrow
Sofitel Hotel Hounslow
London Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing