We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A squat to put it mildly”
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Reviewed September 30, 2013

5 of us booked into 3 rooms to go to the theatre, we were given the keys to our rooms, another persons luggage still in there and we had access!! room was awful, hair and used tissues in the drawers, fan in the bathroom filthy we took a photo of this, when we got back to our room in the evening the fan had miraculously been changed for a new one coincidence???? i think not!!!??
we had 2 rooms at the basement of the hotel, my father could not use the shower in his room as the base was too high off the floor! and the springs kept popping up from the matress, my sister had a family suite which was available for the 2 of them and their room wasnt quite so bad on the upper floor to reception
and you get woken up at 6am by the aeroplanes, convenient location was the only thing going for this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had to stay locally for a night and the price was right. I have seen the reviews but decided to risk it as we stayed on a Saturday night and just for one night. The check in process was good and quick, the room was nice. Yes, we were almost above the restaraunt which turns a kind of nightclub and the music was real loud. However, as we were preoccupied until 12 am anyway, we did not mind much. After midnight, it become very quiet.
nice breakfast inclusive of the price. Overall an ok stay for a night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coollondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here on Sat 15th June due to going to the Rihanna concert at Twickenham. We booked at the beginning of January requesting a room for 4 people. On arriving the hotel looked quite nice the man on reception was very helpful and booked us a taxi to the Stadium. The room wasn't that special but fairly clean. Unfortunately we were woken at 1.20am by some girls thinking it was there room luckily my husbands had moved the cabinet closer to the bed so he could put his phone there so this was partially blocking the door. It was not done for any other reason! We didn't have any towels in the room but I had brought some with me so that wasn't a big problem. The breakfast was nice.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SharonKNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

3 of us booked to stay here for the Rihanna concert for two nights. We arrived and were advised we may need to stay in three single rooms the 2nd night. We said we weren't happy about it, and the "manager" said he would sort it. We come from Sheffield so we thought we would get up early and see the sights of London.. Then go to the concert. We arrived back at 1am after the concert, to find someone else in our room..( who happened to have a cabinet in the front of the door??)
We went to reception, a guy was walking around, he actually saw us coming and called the manager.. I know this as I understand the language. They had moved 3 people's luggage ( without permission ) in to a single room. Our things weren't even packed by us. So someone was snooping in our things!!
Now we're all separate, one of us right on the other side of the hotel.. This is an absolutely horrible hotel, and it should be shut down! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Navrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for one night during a trip to see a concert at Twickenham. It was convenient due to the location and the price was good value for a twin room and breakfast included. When we arrived there was a wedding happening at the hotel and parking was a nightmare! There were cars everywhere on the forecourt of the hotel. I went into reception whilst my friend stayed in the car and asked where we could park. In fairness to the staff they did act quickly as there were several people also arriving at this time and they managed to clear a space for us within about 20 minutes. The room was basic but clean and fine for our needs. The breakfast was really good for our hangovers! Would stay again but only for a night for the convenient location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pow17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The experience of this place was terrible. Our booking was a mess from the start then I was put in this room which looked like it was used as a smoking venue as there where cigarette burns on furniture and even a plastic bag over the smoke detector???? The decor was none existent and sorry guys but the graffiti on the walls was not a nice touch. TV had picture with no sound and to top it off noise noise noise until the party finally finished at 12 pm and the loud thumping music had stopped, then I managed to get some sleep. The next morning did not get any better as I had to wake up to a cold shower at least i had a towel( I always travel with my own).

Room Tip: Room far away from the function suite or even better in another hotel, my room key said room 9 but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CJ1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stay at the Shalimar quite often for work and don't see why there is so many bad reviews! We pay £40 a night for ensuite rooms, many of which are newly refurbished. Rooms are equipped with tea, coffee facilities, a tv and are cleaned daily with fresh towels. Breakfast is served from 06.30 and cereals, juice, toast etc is readily available. The hotel is a budget priced hotel so expect what you pay for, it ain't the Ritz! Staff are always handy for any problems which are usually resolved speedily.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrMattg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hounslow hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget London Hounslow
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
2.9 mi away
easyHotel London Heathrow
easyHotel London Heathrow
#18 of 22 in Hounslow
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge London Hounslow Hotel
5.0 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
3.2 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Address: 215-221 Staines Road, Hounslow TW3 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Hounslow
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Hounslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing