We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ok for a night stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had to stay locally for a night and the price was right. I have seen the reviews but decided to risk it as we stayed on a Saturday night and just for one night. The check in process was good and quick, the room was nice. Yes, we were almost above the restaraunt which turns a kind of nightclub and the music was real loud. However, as we were preoccupied until 12 am anyway, we did not mind much. After midnight, it become very quiet.
nice breakfast inclusive of the price. Overall an ok stay for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coollondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    16
    10
    26
See reviews for
14
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here on Sat 15th June due to going to the Rihanna concert at Twickenham. We booked at the beginning of January requesting a room for 4 people. On arriving the hotel looked quite nice the man on reception was very helpful and booked us a taxi to the Stadium. The room wasn't that special but fairly clean. Unfortunately we were woken at 1.20am by some girls thinking it was there room luckily my husbands had moved the cabinet closer to the bed so he could put his phone there so this was partially blocking the door. It was not done for any other reason! We didn't have any towels in the room but I had brought some with me so that wasn't a big problem. The breakfast was nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonKNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

3 of us booked to stay here for the Rihanna concert for two nights. We arrived and were advised we may need to stay in three single rooms the 2nd night. We said we weren't happy about it, and the "manager" said he would sort it. We come from Sheffield so we thought we would get up early and see the sights of London.. Then go to the concert. We arrived back at 1am after the concert, to find someone else in our room..( who happened to have a cabinet in the front of the door??)
We went to reception, a guy was walking around, he actually saw us coming and called the manager.. I know this as I understand the language. They had moved 3 people's luggage ( without permission ) in to a single room. Our things weren't even packed by us. So someone was snooping in our things!!
Now we're all separate, one of us right on the other side of the hotel.. This is an absolutely horrible hotel, and it should be shut down! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Navrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for one night during a trip to see a concert at Twickenham. It was convenient due to the location and the price was good value for a twin room and breakfast included. When we arrived there was a wedding happening at the hotel and parking was a nightmare! There were cars everywhere on the forecourt of the hotel. I went into reception whilst my friend stayed in the car and asked where we could park. In fairness to the staff they did act quickly as there were several people also arriving at this time and they managed to clear a space for us within about 20 minutes. The room was basic but clean and fine for our needs. The breakfast was really good for our hangovers! Would stay again but only for a night for the convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pow17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The experience of this place was terrible. Our booking was a mess from the start then I was put in this room which looked like it was used as a smoking venue as there where cigarette burns on furniture and even a plastic bag over the smoke detector???? The decor was none existent and sorry guys but the graffiti on the walls was not a nice touch. TV had picture with no sound and to top it off noise noise noise until the party finally finished at 12 pm and the loud thumping music had stopped, then I managed to get some sleep. The next morning did not get any better as I had to wake up to a cold shower at least i had a towel( I always travel with my own).

Room Tip: Room far away from the function suite or even better in another hotel, my room key said room 9 but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJ1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stay at the Shalimar quite often for work and don't see why there is so many bad reviews! We pay £40 a night for ensuite rooms, many of which are newly refurbished. Rooms are equipped with tea, coffee facilities, a tv and are cleaned daily with fresh towels. Breakfast is served from 06.30 and cereals, juice, toast etc is readily available. The hotel is a budget priced hotel so expect what you pay for, it ain't the Ritz! Staff are always handy for any problems which are usually resolved speedily.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrMattg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on business on a regular basis over 3 years. I concur with all comments on helpful, friendly staff......and they are to be congratulated on the continuing efforts to improve the facilities which have resulted in a large extended secure car park (always space available) and refurbished rooms, including en suite facilities. Breakfast service is IMMEDIATE and served before you have time to finish a cereal (nothing worse than waiting when there's work to be done). I've stayed at other hotels in the area but for value for money it cannot be beaten. Only problem is its directly under the Heathrow flightpath so take earplugs if you're a light sleeper. I'm back there again !

Room Tip: All rooms are affected by low flights into Heathrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepdaler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hounslow hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget London Hounslow
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hounslow - Heathrow East
0.9 mi away
Master Robert Hotel
Master Robert Hotel
#17 of 23 in Hounslow
3.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Heathrow Central
0.5 mi away
Crompton Guest House
Crompton Guest House
#10 of 23 in Hounslow
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.9 mi away
easyHotel London Heathrow
easyHotel London Heathrow
#21 of 23 in Hounslow
3.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Property: Shalimar Hotel
Address: 215-221 Staines Rd, Hounslow TW3 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Hounslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing