We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be going again !!”
Review of Passage to India

Passage to India
Ranked #179 of 242 Restaurants in Hounslow
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Won't be going again !!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just been to this restaurant - very disappointed !! We used to go every couple of months but hadn't been for a while. The restaurant is now under new management with a new chef - not impressed.
No longer any linen napkins - just paper napkins - tableware new - poor. Service very slow. Stupid blue lights flashing in the windows - very off-putting.
Same menu but unfortunately not the same chef !!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rochelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    5
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Used to be very good”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Some years ago this restaurant was one of the best in the area, now just looking at the dusty windows and old carpet at the entrance give you the idea that things are not as they used to be.
I don't think the management read these reviews, but in case they do:
Please spend a bit of cash and improve the outside and inside decor to give more life to the place and take down the Christmas lights in the windows as we are in summer now.
Prices are the same than other restaurants in the area and food is still good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, but feels like an indian man's pub. So if you're a girl you would come to get takeout. ”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Me and mum came to try it out to see if we should bring the rest of our family, close and extended for a little gathering.

The food is amazing!! Garlic mushrooms wowed me. These guys really know what punjabi cooking is as the flavours, cooking style and portion sizes are just right for the punjabi belly. Which is why you get lots of punjabi peeps visiting it.

I would only come here for takeout though as this is not a place for family but more like a lad's hangout.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and though they are not so refined in restaurant etiquettes you can see they mean well and do their best to be helpful.

My fiancé would perhaps like this place if he wanted an eve out with his mates, as the restaurant seems used to blokes grouping around tables saying hi and having a good loud laugh, with lots of bottles on the table.

Hygiene could be better. The carpet does need changing and they may as well get some new linen also. The toilets are sorry to say a bit rank, but it does the job if you are desperate and not a hygiene fanatic.

Helpful?
1 Thank RubySh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A relaxed meal in pleasant environment”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

There is massive choice of Indian restaurants in Heston and Hounslow, ranging from the fast and furious with delicious food and wipe-down tables to those such as Passage to India where the service is more relaxed and with nice decor, white table-cloths and nice cutlery etc; and linen napkins (hurray!). The menu here is extensive and the staff are knowledgeable should you need advice. The décor is pleasant and relaxed, tables are well-spaced and the restaurant has recently been refurbished. There are always local, Indian customers in here which, given the choice in Heston, is a good recommendation! The food is delicious and reasonably priced, although they do charge for poppadoms and pickles. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HCM1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to this restaurant for many years and have seen a slow decline first in atmosphere but on our last visit in food and service too.

On our last visit we were sat right at the back due to two huge parties of people, this seems to be a regular occurrence, therefore it was very noisy and we could not even chat and hear ourselves. We had to ask for the basic ie knife and fork, no napkins, the food was badly presented and did not taste as good as it had done.

We left as quickly as we could. It's a shame as we have had so many previous meals 3 years ago plus and would recommend the restaurant to friends and family. We have now found a good restaurant a little further away but worth the drive 'Memories of India'

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tourist64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage to India also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
 
Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Been to Passage to India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing