We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and limited veggie choice”
Review of The Skylark - CLOSED

The Skylark
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Overpriced and limited veggie choice”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

With an order-and-pay-at-the-bar-in-advance protocol, the Skylark is a gruff reintroduction to UK service standards after a US trip. Food is overpriced and utterly bland, thegrim decor, gambling machines and Murdoch media blasting TV a sad reminder that there is no mistaking where you are.
As for the food itself - let's just say Gordon Ramsey can sleep soundly.
Avoid - a sandwich from Boots is a better option that the horror offered here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD W, Manager at The Skylark, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
I appreciate your comments. I understand the ordering at the bar system may not be the standard of service you prefer, however this is our ordering procedure. I apologise you did not enjoy your visit, I hope we can make it better if you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Still good value....”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had breakfast here before a flight to Munich.

There were few customers because of the time of day and I was greeted by a cheery staff member doing 'meet and greet' at the door. I found the Eastern European girl behind the counter to be polite and personable.

I had the full English breakfast and swapped the tomato - which I hate - for an extra hash brown. I thought this was good of them, particularly as we live in a world where everybody says "no" nowadays. The food was cooked well and washed down with a healthy pint of beer.

Prices are higher than in non-airport branches but the value is still good and I would go back again if flying from this terminal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank powermetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD W, Manager at The Skylark, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Thank you for your comment, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We really do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skylark also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 
Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 
Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing