We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...Cheap”
Review of Civic Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Civic Guest House
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great...Cheap”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went to the rugby...Needed a bed and toilet... Got allot more.. En-suite.. Windows.. furniture. Soap Towels, Tea/coffee stuff and A FRIDGE!!!! Cold beers Happy days!! Breakfast was fine.. Staff very nice. Maybe not a place for family's but great for the price and location for Rugby...Will be back for 7's next year.. Andy

Room Tip: 5 fine En- Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndygCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    16
    12
    41
See reviews for
24
10
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
coventry west midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Four of us (The Bringloes) booked into the Civic Guest house for two nights 10th and 11th of May, specifically for the England sevens rugby at Twickenham. I will be honest and wondered what to expect having read reviews, that were not very glowing.
But speak as I find we all were very happy with our two nights. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean, and the Civic not far from the rugby ground.
We wanted somewhere to sleep and have breakfast and this served the purpose. You get what you pay for, and it did the job for us.
We will be going to the sevens next year, and will be staying at the Civic. Make your own minds up do not beleive on all you read.
Thanks staff for a good weekend. Phil, Jamie, Andy, and Gavin.

Room Tip: This is based on the room we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My garden shed is more inviting than the room at this guest house. No hot water and shower did not work. Decor was 1950's at best and room felt cold and damp , in spite visiting in April. Curtains fail to draw and keep no light out, bit like the windows that do nothing to restrict the traffic and aircraft noise.

Breakfast was an insult to the English, not just because it was turkey rashers but because it was cold, over cooked greasy and small.

If I had to stay here again I would prefer to commute from home, 2 hours away.

Compared to the chains, travel lodge, days inn,ibis etc the prices are extortionate esp for the quality of room and decor

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vfmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here one night, before a meeting across the road in the conference centre. I arrived late at night and found the staff to be very helpful and caring. The rooms wasn't luxury, but it was clean and had plenty of room, and I was told I could put the heating on if I was cold. There was tea and coffee available in the room (with a clean kettle and fridge), towels and soap provided, and a TV. I had a good night's sleep with no disturbance from noise, and had breakfast in the morning which came within 5 minutes. The place had a homely feel to it.
The only thing I was disappointed with was that I'd previously booked online and confirmed I'd pay £45 for a twin room (which was the same price as a single), however, when I arrived, there was a large banner outside advertising that were rooms for £30 a night.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building have neon lights that will shine into the window until around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav_OLs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Wanted somewhere close to Twickenham Stadium for the England v New Zealand game, that is the only good thing about this hotel, 20 minutes walk to the ground, filthy room, smelly, cold, wardrobe falling to pieces, shower cubicle dirty and smelt of stagnant dirty water, wouldn't want anyone to shower there, couldn't sleep because of noisy pipes and noise of guests above, could hear their footsteps, 'English' breakfast was cold, turkey bacon, beef sausage, inedible. Will never go here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daleywayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I went chose this hotel based on location and parking availability. The place is 20 mins from Heathrow and right on the Piccadilly line to get into the City of London, and very close to the M4 for when I needed to escape...

I saw the mixed reviews and they mostly seemed to be concerned with people expecting more than they got. This is a cheap guest house, not a 3 star or higher hotel. You get what you pay for. In my case I needed a room for the night in a good location with parking, and that is what I got. Fixtures and fittings are very basic, but they were clean, functional and the staff were helpful.

On the downside, the place is starting to look tired and dated, the beds were a bit small and soft for me (184cm and 110kg) and the Owens could have been a bit bigger and newer. But these are minor gripes and you don't expect perfection from budget accommodation. Having said that, next time I might be tempted to try one of the budget chain hotels instead.

Room Tip: Apparently not all rooms are ensuite. If this is important, make sure you request this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Booked into the civic guest house as a party of 7 for 1 night. rooms were basic but clean and the staff couldnt do enough for us even when we found a condom hanging from the smoke alarm in one of our rooms. Upon complaining the staff removed it straight away and were very apologetic. Showers a bit small and took a while to regulate the thermostat but went roasting hot once regulated. Kettle in one of our rooms a bit dodgy as we had to keep our finger on the switch to boil it. Breakfast was a 20 min wait but worth it, enjoyed a hot breakfast, tinned tomatoes though and turkey rashers instead of proper bacon but all in all tasted fine. There was also cereals and fresh fruit juice along with tea and coffee. If you are looking for a basic no frills guest house for a very short stay its ok but i couldnt do a full weeks holiday here. Its location is amazing being a 2 minute walk away from the underground and a 5 minute walk from the town centre. Bus stop is on the guest house,s doorstep. If your looking for somewhere cheap and basic to rest your head for the night then its acceptable.I would use them again for the odd night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caryn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hounslow hotels
0.3 mi away
Crompton Guest House
Crompton Guest House
#12 of 23 in Hounslow
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget London Hounslow
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hounslow - Heathrow East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Grand London Heathrow
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Hounslow Hotel
3.0 mi away
easyHotel London Heathrow
easyHotel London Heathrow
#21 of 23 in Hounslow
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Guest House

Property: Civic Guest House
Address: 87-93 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Civic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Guest House Hotel Hounslow
Civic Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing