We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Civic Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Civic Guest House
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My garden shed is more inviting than the room at this guest house. No hot water and shower did not work. Decor was 1950's at best and room felt cold and damp , in spite visiting in April. Curtains fail to draw and keep no light out, bit like the windows that do nothing to restrict the traffic and aircraft noise.

Breakfast was an insult to the English, not just because it was turkey rashers but because it was cold, over cooked greasy and small.

If I had to stay here again I would prefer to commute from home, 2 hours away.

Compared to the chains, travel lodge, days inn,ibis etc the prices are extortionate esp for the quality of room and decor

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vfmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    16
    11
    35
See reviews for
21
10
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here one night, before a meeting across the road in the conference centre. I arrived late at night and found the staff to be very helpful and caring. The rooms wasn't luxury, but it was clean and had plenty of room, and I was told I could put the heating on if I was cold. There was tea and coffee available in the room (with a clean kettle and fridge), towels and soap provided, and a TV. I had a good night's sleep with no disturbance from noise, and had breakfast in the morning which came within 5 minutes. The place had a homely feel to it.
The only thing I was disappointed with was that I'd previously booked online and confirmed I'd pay £45 for a twin room (which was the same price as a single), however, when I arrived, there was a large banner outside advertising that were rooms for £30 a night.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building have neon lights that will shine into the window until around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav_OLs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Wanted somewhere close to Twickenham Stadium for the England v New Zealand game, that is the only good thing about this hotel, 20 minutes walk to the ground, filthy room, smelly, cold, wardrobe falling to pieces, shower cubicle dirty and smelt of stagnant dirty water, wouldn't want anyone to shower there, couldn't sleep because of noisy pipes and noise of guests above, could hear their footsteps, 'English' breakfast was cold, turkey bacon, beef sausage, inedible. Will never go here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daleywayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I went chose this hotel based on location and parking availability. The place is 20 mins from Heathrow and right on the Piccadilly line to get into the City of London, and very close to the M4 for when I needed to escape...

I saw the mixed reviews and they mostly seemed to be concerned with people expecting more than they got. This is a cheap guest house, not a 3 star or higher hotel. You get what you pay for. In my case I needed a room for the night in a good location with parking, and that is what I got. Fixtures and fittings are very basic, but they were clean, functional and the staff were helpful.

On the downside, the place is starting to look tired and dated, the beds were a bit small and soft for me (184cm and 110kg) and the Owens could have been a bit bigger and newer. But these are minor gripes and you don't expect perfection from budget accommodation. Having said that, next time I might be tempted to try one of the budget chain hotels instead.

Room Tip: Apparently not all rooms are ensuite. If this is important, make sure you request this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuppetSlaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Booked into the civic guest house as a party of 7 for 1 night. rooms were basic but clean and the staff couldnt do enough for us even when we found a condom hanging from the smoke alarm in one of our rooms. Upon complaining the staff removed it straight away and were very apologetic. Showers a bit small and took a while to regulate the thermostat but went roasting hot once regulated. Kettle in one of our rooms a bit dodgy as we had to keep our finger on the switch to boil it. Breakfast was a 20 min wait but worth it, enjoyed a hot breakfast, tinned tomatoes though and turkey rashers instead of proper bacon but all in all tasted fine. There was also cereals and fresh fruit juice along with tea and coffee. If you are looking for a basic no frills guest house for a very short stay its ok but i couldnt do a full weeks holiday here. Its location is amazing being a 2 minute walk away from the underground and a 5 minute walk from the town centre. Bus stop is on the guest house,s doorstep. If your looking for somewhere cheap and basic to rest your head for the night then its acceptable.I would use them again for the odd night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caryn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very tatty place - felt it was not quite clean. I paid £70 for single room B&B. The bed looked "grubby" and I dont think the sheet had been changed. Luckily I only stayed one night! It had all the usual things (kettle, tea, coffee, tv etc. The room was En Suite but I couldnt bring myself to use the shower due to the awful smell from the drain in the shower cubicle. The breakfast was basic and there was no bacon (only turkey rashers). The waiting staff were very busy and made mistakes with peoples orders. The place was a "rabbit warren" and the room numbering was "interesting" to say the least!

Room Tip: Try another Hotel/Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for a family wedding. Was shocked at the state of the place. Had to pay before seeing rooms. Beds old and very uncomfortable, smelly drains, mouldy shower didn't even want to use it! One very small towel for a family room not that nice either. Broken sink, curtains falling down window wouldn't shut (room on ground floor) graffiti in wardrobe. Breakfast: got orders wrong, cold baked beans and tinned tomatoes, dry overcooked scrambled and fried eggs, turkey rashers and very strange sausages! The whole place needed renovations! it was only busy due to Olympics and us. Not good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hounslow hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget London Hounslow
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hounslow - Heathrow East
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Grand London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
0.4 mi away
Master Robert Hotel
Master Robert Hotel
#17 of 23 in Hounslow
3.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Continental Hotel
The Continental Hotel
#18 of 23 in Hounslow
3.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Guest House

Property: Civic Guest House
Address: 87-93 Lampton Road, Hounslow TW3 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Budget Places so you can book your Civic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Guest House Hotel Hounslow
Civic Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing