We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #25 of 217 Restaurants in Hounslow
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Walking distance from all the heathrow
Hotels great atmosphere good food lovely service just what you need before you start your holiday well recommend

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank svanavich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    53
    17
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just the ticket before travel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This pub is situated about a 5 minutes walk from the Jurys Inn Hotel near to Hatton Cross Underground Station. We stayed at the hotel and went to the pub for a meal and a few beers before retiring for the night for our early morning flight.
The beers include Real Ales and many popular other draught beers. The menu was extremely varied and there would be something for just about every palate. I had a really nice Steak. Pleasant atmosphere and fast friendly service.
Recommend it and we will certainly go again when flying from Heathrow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Country House Haven Near Heathrow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A superb country style pub right on the corner of Heathrow Airport.

Surronded by trees giving a rural setting this pub sets itself apart from the urban area.

The pub serves a excellent selection of Real Ales and has a menu that should suit most people.

There is a mix of customers and all in a very friendly atmosphere.

I would thoroughly recommend if you are staying overnight at Heathrow prior to a flight out the next day.

The pub is located near to the Hatton Cross Tube Station

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Respite from Heathrow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a good pub near the Jury's Inn on the south side of Heathrow. If the brutal airport environment is getting to you, the Green Man is a breath of fresh air. It's a short 10 minute walk from the Jury's Inn (the only hotel in the vicinity I believe).

Good standard pub fare. I had a steak and it was very good. A large outside dining area (but deserted in November LOL!) The planes fly right over the pub, but you tune them out after awhile. Mainly filled with locals which gives you some decent flavor. A much more enjoyable experience than eating in the grossly overpriced and sanitized airport hotel.

The building dates to 1640 and there are legends of the famous highwayman Dick Turpin visiting the pub back in the day. Whether or not the legends are true, it only adds to the character of the place.

This was a real find and I'm sure I'll be returning as I stay at Heathrow from time to time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a great place but some staff should be out of there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I normaly go to this pub on my day off, they have a great management there, they r very friendly, u feel very comfy when u r served from one of them, but there is a lady aged between 40 to 45, grizzly hair, with a very bad costumer service, always making mistakes, charging u more than u should pay, never ever smile, everytime i see her serving i just turn over and go somewhere else! She just a member of staff didn't show any label as a duty manager!
But apart from this woman the other 3 are great! 2 dutty manager and a lovely guy! I would recomend this place to my friends but i extremely advise to change that member of staff :)

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
Feltham, Greater London
 
Hounslow, Greater London
Feltham, Greater London
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing