We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just the ticket before travel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #28 of 231 Restaurants in Hounslow
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just the ticket before travel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This pub is situated about a 5 minutes walk from the Jurys Inn Hotel near to Hatton Cross Underground Station. We stayed at the hotel and went to the pub for a meal and a few beers before retiring for the night for our early morning flight.
The beers include Real Ales and many popular other draught beers. The menu was extremely varied and there would be something for just about every palate. I had a really nice Steak. Pleasant atmosphere and fast friendly service.
Recommend it and we will certainly go again when flying from Heathrow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    59
    20
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Country House Haven Near Heathrow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

A superb country style pub right on the corner of Heathrow Airport.

Surronded by trees giving a rural setting this pub sets itself apart from the urban area.

The pub serves a excellent selection of Real Ales and has a menu that should suit most people.

There is a mix of customers and all in a very friendly atmosphere.

I would thoroughly recommend if you are staying overnight at Heathrow prior to a flight out the next day.

The pub is located near to the Hatton Cross Tube Station

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Respite from Heathrow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a good pub near the Jury's Inn on the south side of Heathrow. If the brutal airport environment is getting to you, the Green Man is a breath of fresh air. It's a short 10 minute walk from the Jury's Inn (the only hotel in the vicinity I believe).

Good standard pub fare. I had a steak and it was very good. A large outside dining area (but deserted in November LOL!) The planes fly right over the pub, but you tune them out after awhile. Mainly filled with locals which gives you some decent flavor. A much more enjoyable experience than eating in the grossly overpriced and sanitized airport hotel.

The building dates to 1640 and there are legends of the famous highwayman Dick Turpin visiting the pub back in the day. Whether or not the legends are true, it only adds to the character of the place.

This was a real find and I'm sure I'll be returning as I stay at Heathrow from time to time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a great place but some staff should be out of there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I normaly go to this pub on my day off, they have a great management there, they r very friendly, u feel very comfy when u r served from one of them, but there is a lady aged between 40 to 45, grizzly hair, with a very bad costumer service, always making mistakes, charging u more than u should pay, never ever smile, everytime i see her serving i just turn over and go somewhere else! She just a member of staff didn't show any label as a duty manager!
But apart from this woman the other 3 are great! 2 dutty manager and a lovely guy! I would recomend this place to my friends but i extremely advise to change that member of staff :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A Bit Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have been here several times for lunch with colleagues and have found that the service is rather slow, on the last visit we made sure we ordered our food before we actually went so it would be served to us by the time we arrived as on a previous visit it had taken an hour to have our food prepared and brought over and there were no other customers in the pub at that time. Several of the items on the menu were out of stock so several of our group had to change their order.

Saying all that, the food quality is decent and the staff are friendly and polite. They just really need to be more efficient at lunchtimes as there are lots of neighbouring businesses who might choose to go there for lunch if the speed of service was improved.

There's a pleasant beer garden in front if the weather's nice enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybong_n_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Feltham, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 
Feltham, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing