We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, Service a bit slow”
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
Ranked #7 of 242 Restaurants in Hounslow
Price range: $15 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Have some extra time before your flight? Stop off for a fantastic breakfast, lunch or dinner and then hit the nearby shops for a last bit of retail therapy! We offer asian food inspired by the flavours of japan
Nether Whitacre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
536 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Food good, Service a bit slow”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stopped here for a meal before our flight.

I've been to a few Wagamama's so it really wasn't enough new to me.

However, unlike other Wagamama's i've been to, service was lacking a bit at this branch. The restaurant wasn't to full, and we managed to get a seat close to the windows to look out over the terminals.

We were seated, and then the member of staff left us to it, but had forgot to give us any menus to look at.

Eventually got the menus and ordered and the food arrived. Food was good, and up to the standard of the other branches i've been to.

Overall, nothing to special, being in an airport and just eating to kill time whilst waiting for your flight. Service could have been better and a smile doesn't cost much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandamedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    323
    111
    43
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Tasty Food -overkill on the service!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

It's a nice option when waiting for a flight. The food was really good quality and surprisingly tasty. However I found the service a bit overkill. I'd only just sat down when i got asked if i was ready to order. I said i wanted another five minutes but the waiter just stood over me and kept giving me all sorts of recommendations, I found it all a bit uncomfortable and intimidating. In the end I took one of his recommendations just to get the waiter to move away from me! Found it ridiculous to be pay £18 for a bowl of noodles and a glass of mineral water!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isobel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good quality food - need to be more service oriented”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The menu covers all asian - fusion dishes, quality is good. The place is clean, the service is slow on pick hours (so unfortunately I was there at 6pm..). Price is okay 12£ for a main dish and a beer is not so expensive (compared to what you can get in other european aiport restaurants)!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davide D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Tasty, good food served quickly”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was surprised to find a Wagamama's in Terminal 5. The family wanted to have a full meal before our 12 hour flight and we decided that we know Wagamama's at home so why not. Ali was our waiter and he was excellent. If you are lucky enough to have him as your waiter you will not be disappointed. He couldn't do enough for us. He helped us with menu selection which is the same as landside and then the food arrived promptly.

The view from the restaurant is of the runway and the planes are clearly visible so you can watch all the action from your seats. This restaurant has the banquet seating as well as canteen seating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Until they put a Wagamama in the D.C.-area...”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

...the Terminal 5 one will remain my "go-to" Wagamama. I go when I have at least 45 minutes before my next flight boards. Service is efficient. I've always enjoyed the chicken katsu curry, so I can't speak for any of the other dishes. For fellow Diet Coke drinkers, they have it available in a bottle for 2.20 pounds; no refills. The only Wagamama in the U.S. is in Boston, and since I tend to travel through LHR Terminal 5 more often that I do Boston, this is where I'll have to get my Wagamama fix. I've been to both Wagamamas in Boston, as well as two others in Central London, and this location in Terminal 5 is no better or worse than any of them, hence I'm giving it an average rating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCC_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
Hounslow, Greater London
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing