We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of La Belle Epoque

La Belle Epoque
Ranked #1 of 255 Restaurants in Hounslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Named in retrospect and translated as the "Beautiful Era", our inspiration for this restaurant emerged from the period in European social history during the late 19th century that lasted until World War,It became recognised as the "golden age" - a time when new technologies and medical discoveries were found and when politics, art and literature underwent radical transformation. In Paris, restaurants achieved a new splendour and cachet for one to parade and where fashion began to move in seasonal cycles.In the culinary sense this period is enormously relevant to our philosophy of progression, optimism and very modern.We would like to think this beautiful era is strongly characterised by our cooking which is rarely serious yet rooted in classical French cuisine and have extended our repertoire to embrace some exciting 'outward looking' far eastern variations.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A small group of us dined here last night and what a memorable experience. We chose the Menu Degustation with accompanying wine pairing, what a treat! The slow roasted partridge, prune and Armagnac boudin, crab apple purée was the highlight together with the St. Emilion. Magda and her team were attentive throughout and great ambassadors for the Sofitel. We will definitely visit again soon.

Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CulinaryManager, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Leigh O

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our 7 course tasting menu, especially slow roasted partridge, prune and Armagnac boudin, crab apple purée and the excellent service. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team
to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and thank you once again for taking the time to write.

Kind regards,

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 582 of 643 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have eaten in this restaurant many times and was concerned that they had changed with their name change but was delighted that the change in name and menu had not diminished the excellent food, wine and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CulinaryManager, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Judith E

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our personalised service & excellent food. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

We do appreciate all your feedback about your meal. Thank you also especially for your kind remarks regarding your previous visit as well.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and thank you once again for taking the time to write.

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Ate here with my wife before flying off on holiday for her 40th. Fantastic tasting menu experience with matching wines, on a par with or better than other Michelin start restaurants we have eaten at. Extra birthday course for wife - cake with candle in. Staff were superb too, service was just right (not too intrusive and open to a bit of banter).

Would thoroughly recommend if you're in the vicinity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RakeHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CulinaryManager, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear RakeHey

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you enjoyed our tasting menu with wine pairing. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and thank you once again for taking the time to write, and thank you for celebrating your special occasion with us.

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I met his family to celebrate his father's 87th birthday and to bid farewell as we were emigrating to NZ.On arrival, I quietly mentioned to a member of staff that it was my father in laws birthday and was it possible to make a bit of a fuss at dessert time by popping a candle in his dessert.Wow! They went one huge step more and upgraded to the chefs table which was truly amazing experience.Food and wine was enjoyed overlooking the kitchen and one very special touch was the waiter taking photos of our special get together with an IPad and then emailing them to us all as a special souvenir of our time together.Thank you Sofitel.You and your terrific staff got all our votes as a first class experience.We highly recommend your hotel as a place to stay and will always remember what a special night we had together.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Nurseykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelCulinary, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Nurseykiwi

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had a wonderful experience and that you enjoyed the food and excellent service. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and thank you once again for taking the time to write and thank you for celebrating your special occasion with us.

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have eaten here several times. Always excellent food, consistently great service and friendly staff. Front of house team are especially good. Definitely worth a detour just to eat here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank craig d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelCulinary, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Craig D,

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience and that you were happy with our personalised service & food. Your feedback is very encouraging and will motivate us to strive harder towards excellence.

We do appreciate all your feedback about your meal. Thank you also especially for your kind remarks regarding your previous visit as well.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and thank you once again for taking the time to write.

Prakash Hegde
Restaurant Manager
La Belle Époque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Epoque also viewed

Hounslow, Greater London
Old Windsor, Windsor
 
Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames
 

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing