We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grim and depressing experience.”
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A grim and depressing experience.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Waited around at reception for an unacceptable amount of time before a very nice young lady came along to give me my room card. Following on from the general theme of the other reviewers I concur that the rooms are tiny, and the bathroom is a bit of a joke. No door on the shower so you soak the whole toilet sink area when you have a shower. Plenty of hot water though.

The bed was ok, lovely plump duvet and pillows but no mattress cover so I had to do my little trick of making the duvet into a sleeping bag, so laying on the bottom half and folding the other half over myself, a bit like a huge pitta bread.

Anyway, there was plenty of tea and coffee, and.......wait for it......... BISCUITS! You never get biscuits so that was nice. But the mugs were weird, one had a picture of a bloke called Dave on which was one of those photo mugs you get. I wonder if Dave is missing his mug.

The people opposite my room were in and out slamming doors all night.

So, all in all this place is a bit of a dive, but it was clean, and convenient for the Piccadilly line. However, I think I got in on a cheap week and I have since seen you pay more like £180 for three weekday nights. I would pay half that and stay again but that's your lot.

Bon voyage.

Room Tip: No idea. I imagine they are all of a same ilk. All I would say is that you are going to be cramped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifeOnAPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    36
    17
    30
See reviews for
8
40
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel staff are polite and the rooms are clean however the bathrooms are very small. The sink was falling off, only 1 shower door so the bathroom got soaked and in the night someone tried to get in the room! This caused the door frame to fall off and land on the bed and when we got up there was no door handle on the outside to get back in! We asked to see the manager and she refused to come down and see us! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tineke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hounslow hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

After reading earlier reviews I felt i needed to defend the Rosemount
The rooms are clean,warm, good size and for £45 per night in this area is super value for money. Yes the en suite pods are very small but the water pressure is good with plenty of hot water and towels. Tea and coffee with biscuits also. You could stay around the corner and pay a extra £30 but for me id rather that in my pocket than theirs.
The staff are warm and friendly and there's a small bar and cafe/restaurant serving nice food at reasonable prices. If your on the front the road noise is quite apparent but dies down later on. Someone previously complained about the plane noise waking them up but that's probably because it's on the flight path to Heathrow (A clue there )
TVs are a little small but good choice of channel and a good picture.
Once again you can't complain too much for the price
Excellent value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigaub666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

As a group of 2 couples, we stayed here on a Saturday evening, as we needed a cheap and cheerful place to stay for 1 night, as we went to watch the Rugby at Twickenham. As we wanted to get to the stadium in good time to soak up the atmosphere (& a few drinks of course!), we requested an early check in and a car parking space. Both requests were provided for is, no problem at all. The hotel was easy to find, the carpark was perfect and the receptionist was very polite and pleasant. We put our stuff in our rooms and were very pleased with the high level of cleanliness. Both rooms were of an adequate size, very basic but very clean. Both had a decent size double bed, a tv and tea and coffee making facilities. Both bathrooms were again very clean, toiletries were provided but they are very, very small. All this did was to provide much hilarity between us. It was great fun and did not pose a problem at all. After a great day out at the Rugby, a brilliant meal in Twickenham and very, very cheap drinks in the pleasant Weatherspoons across the rd from the hotel, a good nights sleep was had by all. Yes, the hotel is on the flight path, but we knew this before hand and it really wasn't a problem. The breakfast was huge and delicious. The lady that served us was the lady from reception when we checked in and again, she was very courteous and friendly and worked very hard. So...all in all, I'd say you get what you pay for. A very clean and tidy, friendly and basic, good value for money hotel in a great location for the Rugby stadium.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadnams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

So let's start with the positives. The Rosemount is located just a few stops from Heathrow and the hotel itself is a short walk from the train station. Also, it is, in fact, a hotel just as advertised.

Now for the not as great parts. First, the bathrooms. Wow. It's basically a phone booth converted into a bathroom, but with the added bonus of the sink jutting into what little space is there. Also, I swear I could feel the floor move when I flushed the toilet, probably because the entire space is part of a plastic enclosure not correctly attached to the substructure. Also, the shower only had one half of the set of doors, and the half that was there was held in place with masking tape.

The room itself wasn't tiny, but you could tell that it had been designed for a single queen bed because the headboard attached to the wall clearly didn't line up with where the bed was now positioned. This was done so they could put a second bed in the room, up against the windows. This new spare bed was being "supported" by what looked like a car jack. Also, don't expect things like a "do not disturb" sign (we made our own), air conditioning, or an elevator that doesn't look like it was last cleaned in 1987. Finally, there is going to be a decent amount of noise from both the airplanes and street traffic.

Also, the staff there vacilate between being uniformed about basic parts/services of the hotel, and just being outright dismissive. In their defense, I suppose it would be difficult to do this job without the right kind of resources and support. But that doesn't really excuse the attitude.

Bottom line, this hotel is obviously run on an absolute shoe string budget. It's not the worst place I've ever stayed at, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone else either.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iainkelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Useful location - just a couple of minutes walk from Hounslow Cental underground station which, in turn, is just 3 stops from Heathrow. So, it's alternative to staying at an airport hotel - in theory. The hotel is at the end of the main street so just steps from shops, takeaways, pubs, restaurants etc. However, Hounslow isn't the greatest of towns.

Reception was unmanned when I arrived and I had to wait a few minutes before somebody turned up. Service was friendly though. There is a small bar and restaurant attached to the hotel which I didn't try.

Hotel appeared to be well maintained and housekeeping standards were very high.

However, the room was TINY. Approx 8ft square with a shower room carved out of this, leaving an L shaped cupboard. Bed was narrower than a standard single (think camp bed) and only 6ft long so my feet poked out the end. Only place where you could view wall mounted TV was by lying on bed. The only surface to put thigs on was the window ledge or you could put the dining chair into service as a table. No other seating options. Fortunately I only had carry on bags. A suitcase would have taken up pretty much all of the available floor space,

You almost needed to be a contortionist to use the shower room, it was so cramped. The shower cubicle only had one door meaning that you also needed to be an amphibian to use the shower room after taking a shower.

Wifi did not work. The receiptionist told me that they 'sometimes' had problems when planes came low over the hotel. This place is directly under the Heathrow flight path, just about 2 miles from the runway threshhold. So when are there not planes flying low?

Other gripes: Fire alarm went off early in the evening and, about 2 hours later, another loud alarm in the corridor went off. Luckily, these weren't in the middle of the night.

Overall, it's just about OK for an overnight as long as you don't plan spending much time in the room awake. However, for the same sort of money you could stay in the Travelodge or Ibis just around the corner or, even at a Heathrow Travelodge or Pricelining a room at the airport. If you are considering this because you are on a budget, remember that the tube from LHR will cost you £4.50 each way. Overall, as an airport hotel option it doesn't make much sense.

Room Tip: Try to find out in advance what size your room is (and what size the bed is)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKAScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The "ROSEMOUNT HOTEL" is the worst place to stay ever. Hounslow borough council, you seriously need to go and inspect this Hotel. What happened to building regs and "Health & Safety"
We arrived in Hounslow after an eight hour drive in torrential rain and had to search for the carpark which was located around the back, NOT secure at all and no lighting, so we had to leave our car at our son's place in Northfields, four stops on the tube.
We were given our key and went to our room. OMG !! The bed was a hand made angle iron bed with a solid MDF base and a thin mattress with springs poking you in the back. The tea & coffee tray was on a tiny shelf held up by one screw and the other one almost out of the wall. The hanging space...lol.....the rail was right at the front of the space so the hangers were outside of the so called wardrobe which you then walked into. Then there was the "BATHROOM" or converted cupboard. So tiny, unless you see for yourself you would not believe it. To use the sink you had to kneel on the toilet, to use the toilet you had to leave the door open because your knees were touching the door, to get into the shower was an assault course, luckily we are fairly small people, there is no way a larger person would even fit in the room. Then if you didn't remember the huge step UP into the bathroom, when getting out was a like stepping down two steps at once. They did have things on the walls (to hide the huge holes) these were peices of wood covered in curtain material. It also said there were "Blackout Blinds ???? you could see straight through them.
Then there was the "Polish" staff, who pestered us for our money, and then said that they took it anyway from my card details. We asked to speak to the manager "MONIKA ZIMNY" but she didn't want to know, we asked for another room with a bigger bathroom but were told they are all the same. Then the receptionist showed us the brochure and said "Well you booked online, you didn't pay the brocure prices" ???? Then said that the brochure was old and only on show for walk in guests to see the pictures (no photo of bathroom though)
We didn't eat breakfast there, we didn't dare after seeing the the waiting staff/person who looked as though she had just crawled out of bed in her clothes.
What I really don't understand is, HOW do people come into our country and get away with everything. We are a family of builders and building regs are so strict as is the Health & Safety law. This is the UK and when in the UK everyone should abide by the same rule.
Yes, one very, very P..... Off person.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlinebuyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hounslow hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget London Hounslow
0.1 mi away
Ramada Hounslow - Heathrow East
0.1 mi away
The Continental Hotel
The Continental Hotel
#18 of 23 in Hounslow
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge London Hounslow Hotel
3.1 mi away
easyHotel London Heathrow
easyHotel London Heathrow
#21 of 23 in Hounslow
708 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Property: Rosemount Hotel
Address: Steve Biko Way (Off Staines Road), Hounslow TW3 3JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosemount Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Hounslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing