We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and good value for money but at a price ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Being a member of the health club at our local Village Hotel we expected the same but in Liverpool. The hotel, however, is very tired which is exactly how we felt when we left.

The hotel is in need of a refurb, which from the website appears to have started but our room had yet to receive such TLC. The shower screen leaked and had clearly done so for a while. It was, however, spotlessly clean like the rest of the hotel. The staff were very professional and friendly, however, the noise from hotel guests was horrendous. We've stayed in hotels after Christmas parties etc but this was far worse than just joviality. In fairness when, after the 4th separate awakening, we eventually complained to reception, they sent someone up who professionally and diplomatically handled the matter. Not an easy or fair thing for them to need to do but it was done well. The selfishness and rudeness of hotels guests can't be helped by the hotel I guess.
The breakfast was very good and the service again also very good and professional.
Whilst we won't be returning, that's not to say that this hotel shouldn't be tried. It's pot luck what the other guests are like! We stayed on a Friday night.

The hotel is certainly good value for money but it's around 6/7 miles from the center of Liverpool and a good 10 minute drive. There's a trainline relatively close though. We chose the hotel as we use the gym at our local hotel and know how good that is particularly the classes. Unfortunately we were just to tired to try, but it looked good!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room and away from any type of party guests if possible. We chose a king sized d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crossy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,201 - 1,207 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Visited for first time via Tesco Vouchers scheme for our wedding anniversary on 1st September – surprise for Hubby.

Found it fine and copious car parking so no problems but it was a little further out than I thought. Checked in and room was found fine via the vintage lift but was not quite what I was expecting as website had stated modern rooms with satellite tv, ipod players etc which this certainly was not. I think our room was yet to be refurbished but Husband was happy enough so I didn’t create a scene or ask to me moved as were about to miss last orders for food.

We checked in late so after dumping bags we went straight to The Victory (pub section) and ordered a beer and a gourmet burger each – it was good pub grub and we sat under one of the big screens so it was perfect and the service was great with really friendly waitresses.

Early night proved the tv channel choice was slightly disappointing but slept well and arose for brekky. We had booked a taxi into Liverpool as we had a whole day booked to make the most of our time but the restaurant was full so we have to want about 25 minutes to be called through (by room number) for our breakfast). This in turn made us have to amend our plans and book a later taxi which was a shame as I have never had this in all the years of hotel stays – was fine on Sunday as we knew how it worked so made no time sensitive plans.

Breakfast slection was very good but I would say they have far too little staff working as we had to wait ages for some of hot englaish breakfast items to be replaced and on Sunday morning had to actually grab a member of staff and ask…….

Overall we liked the hotel and the staff we brilliant but the location was slightly too far out for us, the room was disappointing and the breakfast situation could do with improvement… shsme really as we are heading back to the wonderful city of Liverpool for our anniversary again this year as would loved it so much.

Room Tip: make sure you have a refurbed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emskiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for one night (Friday) after working in Liverpool during the daytime. We stayed at the Wirral one last year and were impressed, so booked this one kind of last minute but using a special promotion of b&b and evening meal WITH WINE! for a grand total of £58!! Now I'll be honest, the wine was pretty crap, but you're not going to get a £30 bottle, and we didn't expect it. The food was great, the staff were really lovely, the room was spot on, just everything was top notch. The breakfast was particularly excellent. We used the pool and sauna facilities twice which was all included in the 58 quid (which I actually put thru" my business and claim back!).

Some of the reviews talk about poor food and service. It's not a £300a night hotel so you're not going to get caviar and smoked salmon, but what kind of nob head would actually want that? Someone probably, but possibly not in Liverpool.

Anyway, we were there on the night of the friday night bad snow and the m6 car abandonment saga which we saw on tv in the bar with a pint of beer and some excellent Stilton cheese I'd deliberately not eaten and wrapped in a serviette and taken from the restaurant (naughty me). All staff were friendly. Some had got snowed in and stayed the night in the hotel and were enjoying a beer or 3 in the bar with us.

I've just remembered, there was only one pool cue in the bar area that had a tip on it, so that could do with sorting, but it's a vast improvement on my local where we have to play pool with rolled up broadsheet newspapers (we cannot read in Yorkshire) or walking sticks; we keep our flat caps on as we play too.

In short, it's great, and we will stay again. We've just booked to stay at the Dudley one next month. If the manager reads this, do we get a free stay once we've stayed at every one?

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethfromBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

friday nights b&b plus dinner is under £80 for 2 it is a 3 course meal which is very goodvalue and teally good food,you have full use of leisure club,there is a pub and club on site too .great for a romantic getaway they have theme nights ,which look very busy but we have not been to 1.the beds are massive but kingsize is better they are high and oh so comfy the best bed i have stayed in a hotel.all in all a great hotel and the breakfast is buffet tasty and plenty of choice,staff very attentive and freindly.

Room Tip: book a kingsize room the bed is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momoava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I last visited this hotel a year ago and was dubious when my company booked me in there again.
Pleasantly I was surprised, the rooms had been refurbished, the food was much better, except breakfast where the scrambled eggs were very unappetizing looking and tasting like coloured foam!!
The staff are very friendly and well trained, both on reception and in' the Hub' business centre where we were looked after very well indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for the end of a corridor, it will be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for New Years Eve 2012. The hotel is easy to find, just off the M62. Plenty of parking. The room was ready early, before the 1500 check in time. The room was quite large and reasonably clean but the bathroom was tired, no heated towel rail. A little bit of dust in places but the bedding was clean. Usual coffee/tea facilities, TV, hair dryer, phone and free wifi. Once we had checked in, we had full access to the Gym / Spa facilities, even for the day when we checked out, including jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.
The New Years Eve meal was good but the drinks service was a bit hit and miss. The entertainment / disco was on constantly on from when we sat down til well after midnight but we were still able to have a conversation. At the end of the night it took 3 attempts to get the correct drinks bill (wrong bill then extra items on it). Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
Pretty sure we would stay there again but would like to think there are plans for a refurb soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToffeeBlue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We used to come here once every month or so for the Sunday carvery , as the food was always great , plentiful and well presented . First visit for almost 8 months and my word it was awful ! Firstly our seats were full of stains and dried in food ., the waitresses were fine as usual , the music in there was what you would expect to find in concert square on a Friday night at about 1am!!! Bizarre choice of Music if you ask me! The soup (Tomato ) was Ok ish ! The carvery was plain awful! Dried meats ( turkey beef ) the cheesy type potatoes were a solid mass! As was the mash!! I actually couldn't get the spoon in ! Everything esoecially the gravy tasted salty to us all .... Very very poor ! The only saving grace was the Waffles! Also the layout of the food was poor ( the pasta ingredients were left on chairs the whole time we were there !) not sure weather this was a bad day / change of manager / or they've given up on the Sunday carvery , but we will DEFINATELY not b going back ! On our way out of the car park there was THE biggest dead rat we have ever seen , feet away from the hotel ! All in all a Waste of money and time

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiston
2.9 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
5.1 mi away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Knowsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Tarbock) Hotel
8.1 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,809 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Liverpool

Address: Fallows Way, Whiston, Knowsley L35 1RZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Knowsley > Whiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Price Range: $41 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Liverpool 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Liverpool is situated just 400 yards from the main junction of the M57and M62 motorways and is a great base for exploring the busy centres of Liverpool and Warrington. Located near to Whiston and Lime Street Stations it is ideal for quick access to Liverpool City Centre and Liverpool John Lennon Airport is just 8 miles away. Village Hotel Liverpool has 63 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, a cafe, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool Hotel Whiston
Village Hotel Leisure Liverpool
Village Hotel Whiston
Village Hotel Liverpool Whiston, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing