We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for the races”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ideal for the races”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here as a group of couples, having booked to go to the races. The location of the hotel is ideal for this- 10minute walk, even for those of us in heels! Some of our party had arrived earlier and had been given rooms (earlier than check in time), which was perfect for us all travelling and needing to get changed.
Rooms were large and with a couple of seats plus table, dressing table, tv, tea/ coffee making facilities. Bathroom was large, clean and with plenty of good lighting.
Unfortunately it was other aspects of the hotel that let it down. We all ate in the restaurant at night and the food was average (I had steak which was over done, as I had asked for it rare). It was the evening of a HUGE sporting event, but we were told they don't show such events in the hotel. Extremely disappointing, especially as there's limited Sky tv in rooms also. The staff were all very enthusiastic and helpful, but not enough to make up for the average menu at night and expensive breakfast.
If you want a close location to the races, it's ideal, rooms large, but lots of the "mod cons" missing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's good to read that you found the hotel's location ideal and that we were able to facilitate early check-ins for the members of your party that arrived early, however please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment in your dining experience on the evening of your stay.
Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the relevant departmental Managers who I am confident will take the necessary steps to prevent any such
re-occurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    271
    132
    56
    27
See reviews for
148
198
29
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We chose the Haydock location because it was ideal in breaking our journey from Scotland to the south. We were delighted with all aspects the food, the people (all helpful and friendly, particular mention of Brian at breakfast). Couldn't fault it. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much - I will share all your comments with the team and recognise Brian especially, for his excellence service.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
324 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I can't agree with recent negative review have stayed here many times wonderful helpful staff good food lovely and clean yes decor is slightly dated but not an issue would always stay here when visiting relatives

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto this website following your most recent stay with us.
It's so good to read that you've stayed here many times and always find the team helpful, the food lovely and the hotel clean.
We look forward to welcoming you back again when you're next in the area visiting relatives.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I really can't fault the location of this HI - seconds from the M6 motorway and very convenient for Haydock Racecourse and other attractions.

Brian, who was serving in the breakfast room, is an absolute star! Can't fault his enthusiasm, friendliness, courtesy, if only everybody was like him!

The rooms and facilities were rather disappointing and fell short of the usual Holiday Inn standard. There was the usual tea and coffee making facilities, TV, desk, bath etc. The fixtures were dated but very clean.

Internet was the real issue. I can't quite comprehend a large hotel not giving you free wi-fi, not in this day in age. Even when I tried to purchase wi-fi I got an error message saying that wi-fi was not available in my room and to contact reception - I didn't but at that point it was late so I gave up. I also couldn't even get 3G and phonecalls kept cutting out.

Wouldn't recommend this one for business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
Please accept my sincere apologies for your overall disappointment in your stay - I regret our Wi-Fi provision together with our rooms and facilities there-in fell below your expectations, however I am pleased to advise you that free Wi-Fi has been introduced for our Elite Reward Club members already, and is scheduled to be offered to all Club members with effect from next month.
It's good to read your comments about Brian - I will ensure that he is recognised for his excellent service.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the HI in Haydock as part of a tour group passing through. While I couldn't fault the hotel in its cleanliness, it was just another impersonal hotel typical of the brand. It seemed to be a hotel best suited for businessmen. Service wasn't bad, nor was the quality of sleeping accommodations and linens, however, a little more would have gone a long way to have made the stay better. It wasn't convenient to much of anything. Breakfast was just so-so. I've had better at other Holiday Inns. The real downside was that Wi-Fi wasn't free, and that's a big disadvantage when so many other hotels do offer it. While I don't have any real negative comments, I wouldn't go out of my way to recommend the hotel or stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpickerell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was pleased to read that you could not fault the hotel's cleanliness however I regret that breakfast did not meet your expectations and you felt the hotel more suited to businessmen than to your tour group - free Wi-Fi has been introduced for our Elite Reward Club members and is scheduled to be offered to all Club members with effect from July 2014.
Please accept my apologies for your disappointment in your stay together with the assurance that your feedback has been discussed with my Management Team for their information and action.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future
Regards
Chris Freer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
283 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Arrived in evening for relaxing time after long drive .. Facilities in room lacking for two persons despite booking 5 weeks earlier. The greeting in the room was non evident . Through the night there was constant disturbances resulting in never getting rem sleep . People banking walls due to the thin structure , which made matters worse. Pastries ran out and waited long time to get more , small cups served coffee and after second was offered bigger mug !! Should have been there at beginning ... The management on learning of the failings could not have done more and it was resolved to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I regret that we fell below your expectations in your in-room facilities and breakfast offering, and that your sleep was disturbed due to other guests.
Please accept my apologies for your subsequent overall disappointment in your stay togther with my assurance that your feedback has been reviewed and forwarded to the appropriate departments for their information and action (including the removal of all small cups within the restaurant).
I am pleased that my Duty Manager spoke with you at check-out and resolved the issues to your satisfaction.
We hope you give us a chance to restore your faith in us in the future.
Regards
Chris Freer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 1 night with friends due to going to Haydock Races. Ideal for the race course (aprox 10 minute walk). Courtesy Bus available for £3 return, but the walk is nice (weather permitted). Our friends booked a disabled room which was ideal for them , Cannot fault our room , large , clean and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, nothing to much trouble, breakfast was buffet , great choice and hot!! Will definatly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericfreeman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's great to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you will definitely return - we will look forward to welcoming you back when you do
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Le Willows
0.4 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Haydock
700 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
4.9 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Property: Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Address: Lodge Lane | Haydock, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Newton Le Willows
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Le Willows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Haydock Hotel is superbly located just off Junction 23 of the M6 next to Haydock Park Racecourse and serves as a gateway to the entire North West Region. In close proximity to Manchester and Liverpool via the A580 that links the two cities. Also within a 15 mile reach of the hotel are the towns of St Helens, Warrington, Wigan, Leigh and Bolton.The hotel offers Standard, Executive and Accessible Rooms all offering High Speed Internet Access and all are Air Conditioned.The Holiday Inn Haydock combines an excellent range of facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free* The hotel has full Leisure and Fitness facilities, Restaurants and Bar serving food and drinks throughout the day, 24 hour room service. The hotel also caters for Conference and Banqueting events for up to 180 people making it an ideal location for Weddings, Seminars and Training courses. Parking (including a total of 4 accessible parking bays) is free for all guests using the hotels facilities The hotel makes the ideal base for visiting local attractions including Haydock Racecourse, Liverpool , Trafford Centre, Manchester United Football Club, Manchester City Football Club, Liverpool Football Club, Everton Football Club, Wigan FC and Aintree Racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Haydock m6, Jct 23 Hotel Newton Le Willows
Newton Le Willows Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Newton Le Willows
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 Newton Le Willows, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing