We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask to stay at the back of the hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ask to stay at the back of the hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Good clean hotel, that is next to the M6 which is never quiet. Hence ask to stay at the back of the hotel and you will get a pleasant nights sleep. Good helpful staff. Breakfast is better than the average HI.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank check06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I'm glad to read that you found our team friendly and our breakfast better than average.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    269
    131
    56
    27
See reviews for
147
192
29
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Having made a reservation some two months previously I was surprised the restaurant had no record of it. The restaurant was not busy yet we had an half hour wait to be asked what we would like to order,to be honest we were on the point of leaving when the server came over,he was a pleasant individual but we got the impression the staff on duty were inexperienced as other guests had issues surrounding their orders and length of time to be served ( we attempted to complain afterward but decided not to remain in the queue!).
The food was very nice when it arrived, we had to ask for side plates and glasses/pitcher of water were not offered, just a shame customer service was not a premium,very disappointing as we were celebrating a wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Saintsfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear 56Saintsfan56
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent dining experience here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's good to read that the food was very nice, however please accept my sincere apologies for the issues in service that you encountered.
The shortfalls you detail are not indicative of our usual service delivery and as such, please be assured that your feedback has been discussed with the hotel Management Team for their information and action.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice friendly welcome,clean room. Very nice bar and communal area.
Good variety of breakfast foods. Bar menu available which was well priced and good quality however drinks are slightly more expensive.
Slight issue with my meal but this was rectified immediately.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GSN51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was pleased to read that you found us to be a convenient stop over. I will share your feedback with the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice comfy bed with 3 pillows each, so no problem with the rubbish flat pillows you get in some hotels. The pool area was larger than most hotels, with a good size sauna and steam room. The hot tub was disappointingly small but warm once we got a turn in there! Very handy for the M6, it really is just off the junction. No traffic noise though - the windows were pretty soundproof. Improvement suggestions? Ice machines or a fridge, to save you having to go down to the bar for ice to cool your drinks. Also a shower that falls from above rather than jetting out from chest height!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear BeckyNW
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's good to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us - I will share all your feedback with the team.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
202 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon to be warmly greeted by Suzy on reception who went through the information on the hotel in great detail. Our check-in was quickly processed and soon we found ourselves in our Executive room on the second floor which we found to be extremely comfortable and fully met our needs for our stay.
We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and found all the restaurant staff to be attentive and helpful.
The hotel is situated just a minutes drive from Junction 23 of the M6 and provided a pleasant stop-off on our journey back up to Scotland. This was our first stay at this hotel and will give it serious consideration when choosing an overnight stay the next time we make this journey.

Room Tip: Ideal stop off and very close to the motorway without the distraction of any motorway noise in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear legend14
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you will consider staying with us again when you are next in the area.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back .
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I am a regular at IHG this was my fist stay at this one. Reception and check in fast and polite. Room as expected and in good order. Condition of the hotel was very good and looked as it had recently undergone a refurb or at the very least been re decorated. Spa/pool good. Used the restaurant for dinner, good meal, as ever with IGH the "kids for free" deal makes eating in a no brain'r. Very nice staff at every level, all in all nothing of significance to fault it. Same old IGH grumble.......booked this one on my points, why can you not get a breakfast inclusive deal.......

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Jonathan r
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your first stay with us and found nothing significant to fault.
I will share your feedback with the team, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with me fella for 3 nights on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis, it was fabulous! From the moment we checked in every member of staff was so friendly and helpful, in fact we weren't due to check in till 2.00pm but arrived at 12.30 and were given keys to our room immediately, no problem at all! Our room was lovely with everything we needed. Very clean, warm and spacious. There was the usual tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, hair dryer and shampoo etc in the bathroom. If I had one complaint, and believe me it is VERY small, it's that the hair dryer is in a drawer and is already plugged in somewhere behind the drawer, this makes the lead a little small and maybe a little awkward to use, but as I say it's just a small gripe!
The food we had here was lovely, there was so much choice for breakfast there is no need for anyone to go hungry. You can even make your own pancakes! There's the usual full English selection as well as cold meats, pastries and fresh fruit. You can even ask for poached eggs, boiled eggs or porridge if you fancy!! Service was prompt and very friendly. For our evening meal we were given the regular menu as well as a smaller version setting out three courses for those on the db&b basis. There was a choice of 3 starters, 3 or 4 mains and 3 desserts. If you wished you could choose of the regular menu for a supplement of £2 per dish. The food was delicious and I have to say we had such a laugh with the waiting staff, it made our night. Wonderful people and a credit to this hotel. Another little gripe though, again this is personal and hardly worth a mention but I feel if you are taking coffee after your meal it maybe nice to be given a proper teaspoon and not one of those macdonalds wooden stirry stick things!
We visited the spa area while we were there but only to use the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. We found them to be very clean and of a nice temperature. Towels were provided which was very welcome as we had forgotten ours!!
Oh, worth a mention is that if you forget your toothbrush, razor etc, reception will happily provide them for you!
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and if your here to visit haydock races you can't get much closer than this hotel. We will definately be returning to this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank browncow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable 3 night stay with us and it's great to read that you will return.
I will share your feedback with the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Le Willows
0.3 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Haydock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Haydock St. Helens
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Property: Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Address: Lodge Lane | Haydock, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Newton Le Willows
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Le Willows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Haydock Hotel is superbly located just off Junction 23 of the M6 next to Haydock Park Racecourse and serves as a gateway to the entire North West Region. In close proximity to Manchester and Liverpool via the A580 that links the two cities. Also within a 15 mile reach of the hotel are the towns of St Helens, Warrington, Wigan, Leigh and Bolton.The hotel offers Standard, Executive and Accessible Rooms all offering High Speed Internet Access and all are Air Conditioned.The Holiday Inn Haydock combines an excellent range of facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free* The hotel has full Leisure and Fitness facilities, Restaurants and Bar serving food and drinks throughout the day, 24 hour room service. The hotel also caters for Conference and Banqueting events for up to 180 people making it an ideal location for Weddings, Seminars and Training courses. Parking (including a total of 4 accessible parking bays) is free for all guests using the hotels facilities The hotel makes the ideal base for visiting local attractions including Haydock Racecourse, Liverpool , Trafford Centre, Manchester United Football Club, Manchester City Football Club, Liverpool Football Club, Everton Football Club, Wigan FC and Aintree Racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Haydock m6, Jct 23 Hotel Newton Le Willows
Newton Le Willows Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Newton Le Willows
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 Newton Le Willows, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing