We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

As a regular Holiday inn guest I am aware that across the spectrum some hotels try more than others . The Haydock falls to the lower end in my experience . In an ' Executive ' room having poorly repaired sink area , worn-through upholstery on the seating and noisy heating pipes that wake you unexpectedly all contributed to a less than good stay. The waiting staff were all very friendly and responsive and attentive , so please if the hotel management read these reviews , help you staffs efforts by giving this place a makeover!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinitraveller963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Trinitraveller963,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologise for the dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay.

I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and attentive toward you, but was disappointed to read that the hotel furniture did not meet your expectations and that your sleep was disturbed by the plumbing. Your comments have been shared with the maintenance team for them to action accordingly.

I appreciate your comments and hope that you will consider visiting us again to experience the hotel in its true light. Should you wish to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Regards

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    290
    136
    58
    29
See reviews for
157
205
31
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked this hotel on the holiday inn website, received a confirmation email and confirmation no. from IHG, but was phoned at 20:30 (!) on the night of my booking by reception to be told there were no rooms left and I would have to go to Warrington! If I had booked Warrington originally it would have cost £13 less!
Apparently they left it till 20:30 as they were accepting guests until the hotel was full and tried to blame there booking system (there own international website booking system!!)
If you're travelling with a family or have no transport... beware!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear , Smithy036

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologise for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced as a result of being out-booked. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Should you wish to discuss the matter further, please contact me directly at the hotel

We appreciate your loyalty and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Exactly halfway between New Forest and Perthshire this hotel is perfectly situated at 250 miles from both to make driving a pleasure. Just North of Manchester and Liverpool Motorway Junctions. The rooms are a good size, the lifts always work the buffet evenings are fantastic, the TV's are large, the water is hot the location is quiet (even though not far from motorway) facilities are excellent, staff are friendly, chef is excellent ( I asked for a dish not on the menu and it was prepared beautifully) etc etc

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardnailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear richardnailor

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was delighted to read that Haydock is your favourite Holiday Inn - please be assured that I will pass all your great feedback onto the team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skirlaugh near Hull
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn, Haydock on a Bed, Breakfast and Dinner package, and were very impressed by the quality of the rooms and the staff. Our room was exceptionally clean, and the food was excellent, with a good choice of Dinner items and a first class breakfast.
The only criticism that we have is that the hotel chose to add a "discretionary" 10% gratuity to our dinner bill, and did not draw our attention to it. I had it removed, and chose my own level of tip. I strongly object to having a gratuity added to my bill anywhere, as I am sure many people pay it either because they do not see it is there, or are too embarrassed to ask for it to be removed, even when they have already left a tip at the table. Apparently it was mentioned in the (very) small print on the menu, but we certainly did not see it.
I am sorry that this has taken up most of my comments, because we really enjoyed our short stay, but maybe the hotel will take note!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skirlaughtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear skirlaughtravellers

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was delighted to read that you feel Haydock is one of the best Holiday Inns and that you were impressed by the quality of our rooms and our team. I will certainly take onboard your feedback regarding lack of communication of the discretionary gratuity which was added to you bill. I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your short stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband and two children aged 10,and 6 stayed for 1 night this weekend. We had a day out at knowsley safari park and decided to stay here as an extra treat. We found the hotel good. The room was adequate for us all, the children having a sofa bed in our room, it was a bit cramped but fine for a night or two, and all very clean and comfy. The leisure facilities are very good, decent sized swimming pool, sauna etc.
The food in the restaurant was good, the kids ate free although we thought the children's menu was small.
Above all the hotel staff were excellent, friendly and competent and willing to please.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthhughes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ruthhughes1

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock. I was pleased to read that you felt we offered you very good value for money and that the staff were friendly and willing to please.
We hope to welcome you back should you be in the area again.

Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great stay as usual like home from home. Never a problem always no I will get a goods night sleep and be fresh to go to work the next day, staff are always friendly. Breakfast the same great standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear WilliamF

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your more recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock. It's great to hear that you see us as a home from home and that you never have a problem here. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great stay.

Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights....the hotel is old and nothing to shout about really. The furnishing and interior in the rooms are aged and needs some refreshing.

Staff are great and so is the service.

No free wifi, no acknowledgement of platinum priority club members.

Sorry but ill not be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0lf_vacati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear g0lf_vacati0ns,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the rooms and fr the poor customer service. We will look into these points. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Le Willows
0.4 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Haydock
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
0.4 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Haydock St. Helens
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Warrington Lowton Hotel
4.6 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Property: Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Address: Lodge Lane | Haydock, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Newton Le Willows
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newton Le Willows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Haydock Hotel is superbly located just off Junction 23 of the M6 next to Haydock Park Racecourse and serves as a gateway to the entire North West Region. In close proximity to Manchester and Liverpool via the A580 that links the two cities. Also within a 15 mile reach of the hotel are the towns of St Helens, Warrington, Wigan, Leigh and Bolton.The hotel offers Standard, Executive and Accessible Rooms all offering High Speed Internet Access and all are Air Conditioned.The Holiday Inn Haydock combines an excellent range of facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free* The hotel has full Leisure and Fitness facilities, Restaurants and Bar serving food and drinks throughout the day, 24 hour room service. The hotel also caters for Conference and Banqueting events for up to 180 people making it an ideal location for Weddings, Seminars and Training courses. Parking (including a total of 4 accessible parking bays) is free for all guests using the hotels facilities The hotel makes the ideal base for visiting local attractions including Haydock Racecourse, Liverpool , Trafford Centre, Manchester United Football Club, Manchester City Football Club, Liverpool Football Club, Everton Football Club, Wigan FC and Aintree Racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Haydock m6, Jct 23 Hotel Newton Le Willows
Newton Le Willows Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Newton Le Willows
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 Newton Le Willows, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing