We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient location, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“convenient location, friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

stayed for 6 weeks for business, after a dodgy start (no head chef and appauling food) they redeamed themselves although bar food was always better than the restaurant. rooms are what you would expect and the pillow choice is always a welcome favourite. Staff were always pleasant and even remembered our names after a short while. Real bonus is the location, next to the race course, just off the M6 and half way between Manchester and Liverpool (20 miles to each) Ashton just a short walk away offers a variety of restaurants and bars. Check out pesquales italian for a decent meal at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Always ask if an upgrade is available. Corner rooms have dual aspects and are light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
MrsFrodo,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you noticed the positive change in food quality following the introduction of a new Head Chef into the hotel and thank you for your kind words regarding the attentiveness of the staff. I will ensure that this accolade reaches them.

Kind Regards

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    272
    132
    56
    27
See reviews for
148
199
29
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed one night in October 2011. Was a late booking so probably got the 'spare room'. That said the room was next door to the side door exit to car park. This exit was supposed to be barred between 10pm - 7 am but it was clearly not so. Result was frequent slamming of door, with interrupted sleep. It wouldn't be so bad if the staff had responded to my request to adhere to the timing and close the door, but that didn't happen. Therefore got to mark this hotel down. I have stayed here before with few problems but this incident was very annoying. I did tell them I would be writing this review when I left.

Room Tip: book early avoid the car park exit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_walker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear simon_walker88,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I have discussed your comments with the front office and nights team, which has lead to a change in our current practices, which will in turn improve the quality of our future guests’ experience. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel and providing you with a better nights sleep.

Yours sincerely

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The staff at this hotel made our entire wedding experience Magical!!! From start to finish the experience was second to none.
We stayed at the hotel for 3 days in total, the eve before the wedding my family flew in from all over the country and they where greeted with a warm welcome from first rate excellent and friendly staff.
Myself and my matron-of -honour had a pamper night and got to know the staff on a personnal level which helped to dampen some of my nerves!!
The Wedding day itself was OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! perfect venue, perfect staff, and gorgeous weather...We couldnt of wished or wanted it any other way.
The staff were more like close friends than strangers, they made our day magical and memorable.

The day after the wedding it was my birthday and they made me feel just as special as the day before, it was the little gestures and special caring touch that this hotel specialises in that made our experience at The Holiday Inn one of the most heartwarming times our entire family have ever had the pleasure and luck to experience.

Room Tip: every room is set to high standard, every taste is catered for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Kat C,

I am delighted that the staff at the hotel made your wedding such a wonderful experience. Particularly that the experience spanned three days and you felt the warmth of our hospitality from the moment you arrived until the moment you left. It is exciting to be able to share such glowing comments with my team. Thank you.

Yours sincerely

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Me and my oh have stayed in this hotel a few times when we've been to see the horse racing, and i can honestly say its an all rounder, nice polite staff, breakfast is fantastic, from fruit too a full English to continental, they have it all :) the spa is nice to use while you stay and is included in the price of your stay...there's a pool, jacuzi, sauna and steam room where you can all relax. The rooms are clean and spacious great value for money overall. The only downsides are; the evening meals, they are not really worth the money tbh as you can tell they are far from freshly cooked. Other than that, a top hotel for a short stay

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear XPriscillaX

Thank you for your kind comments, it is nice to read that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. I can safely say that I believe your next experience at the hotel will be even better, as we have recently recruited a new head Chef, who is receiving excellent feedback from our guests. I look forward to reading your next review on the hotel.

Yours sincerely

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Yes we had our civil ceremony here,and from booking our first appointment with their wedding
co-ordinator we knew our plans were their priority.They booked and ordered everything which
took away the stress from us.On the day of our ceremony everything went as we planned.
right down to the red carpet. All our guests commented on how loveiy the day went.The staff
were all heipful and friendly,I would recommend this hotel to everyone, we couldn't thank them all enough for making our day so very special

sue&sue

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Susan M,

I am extremely happy that the staff at the hotel helped to relax you and make your wedding day just that bit more special. I will ensure that your thanks and appreciation is passed to all involved.

Yours sincerely

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Before I start this review, I would just like to say that I never write any sort of review, however after recently getting married at this hotel, I don’t want anyone else to make the same mistake. I could write a list of our complaints but the review would take too long to write. In fact I wouldn’t know were to start. I can honestly say that I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The hotel inside is actually not too bad; however the staff are rude beyond belief the food is slop. However I suppose you get what you pay for. The food is actually worse than cheap microwave food and like I have said, some of the staff are the rudest people I have ever come across. Don't bother complaining as you end up speaking to more incompetent staff. This hotel would make faulty tower look like the Ritz. The staff are young and are probably poorly trained, however the more experienced staff who run the hotel also don’t appear to be competent. For the odd nights stay its probably not bad, to get married in, please don’t bother!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen16liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear stephen16liverpool

It is very disappointing to read of your dissatisfaction at during your recent wedding, even more so that this is your first posting on trip advisor. I would therefore welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you in detail, should you wish to contact me personally at the hotel and elaborate on your findings.

Yours sincerely

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is another Holiday Inn that follows the same pattern. Friendly staff, rooms that offer that level that keeps them just above the budget hotel chains, decent bars and, and here is the rub, truly awful dining. They operate on pre prepared frozen meals produced en masse and shipped to the hotels who then micro wave and brown off by staff who know nothing about food. This particular Holiday Inn served me last night a passable sausage and mash that they wanted £14 for, drowned in instant gravy and accompanied by an Italian bread and oil and balsamic dip. The oil was served not only hot but searingly hot ( I had in fact my own bowl and I mean bowl – a cereal bowl with 2 cm deep pool of oil ) so hot I had my own at table chip pan. When I questioned it the waitress looked at me oddly and said this is how they always serve it.

A decent hotel, but as with all holiday inns, work out where the nearest restaurants are.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Le Willows
0.4 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Haydock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
4.6 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 4 in St Helens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Property: Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Address: Lodge Lane | Haydock, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Newton Le Willows
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Le Willows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Haydock Hotel is superbly located just off Junction 23 of the M6 next to Haydock Park Racecourse and serves as a gateway to the entire North West Region. In close proximity to Manchester and Liverpool via the A580 that links the two cities. Also within a 15 mile reach of the hotel are the towns of St Helens, Warrington, Wigan, Leigh and Bolton.The hotel offers Standard, Executive and Accessible Rooms all offering High Speed Internet Access and all are Air Conditioned.The Holiday Inn Haydock combines an excellent range of facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free* The hotel has full Leisure and Fitness facilities, Restaurants and Bar serving food and drinks throughout the day, 24 hour room service. The hotel also caters for Conference and Banqueting events for up to 180 people making it an ideal location for Weddings, Seminars and Training courses. Parking (including a total of 4 accessible parking bays) is free for all guests using the hotels facilities The hotel makes the ideal base for visiting local attractions including Haydock Racecourse, Liverpool , Trafford Centre, Manchester United Football Club, Manchester City Football Club, Liverpool Football Club, Everton Football Club, Wigan FC and Aintree Racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Haydock m6, Jct 23 Hotel Newton Le Willows
Newton Le Willows Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Newton Le Willows
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 Newton Le Willows, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing