We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spice Raj - CLOSED

The Spice Raj
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Spice Raj Indian Restaurant specializes in the finest traditional Indian Cuisine. We take great care, pride and satisfaction in serving our customers with the freshest ingredients of the highest quality catered to suit your taste buds. All our food is freshly prepared daily and we can cater for anyone with special dietary needs e.g. gluten free, low fat, vegetarian, allergies etc. Our menu has a wide range of dishes for those with a delicate palate and those who like their meals with a fiery kick! Please ask our staff for further information. We can take on bookings and events for special occasions, we have our own bar serving a range of wines, spirits, beers and non alcoholic drinks. If you prefer to eat in you can simply order a take away. Do not miss out on our offers we serve high class food at a low price! Please drop in or contact us.
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The old owners have returned and are very friendly, the variety of food is very good and very tasty we have visited a couple of times in the last month which speaks for itself, well worth a trip

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomt1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    4
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Had the meal deal 3 courses for £10.00.. In the week.. Great value and excellent service.. The waiter advised a lamb dish .. Can't remember the name .. But it was a chefs special and it was lovely.. Great place and we will be going again soon...

Thanks for a great meal..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Class Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Fantastic food. Great very varied menu. Super atmosphere, very attentive staff. Also do takeaway service, which is of equal standard to eating in the restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Visited here on a Tuesday night and although not that busy the atmosphere seemed pleasant enough. This was obviously previously a modern'ish pub and it seemed to work as an Indian now.

They have an offer on Sunday to Thursday, popadams & chutneys, starter, main & pilau rice or plain nan bread for £9.95 which seemed very reasonable (certain usual exclusions King prawn, Seabass etc). If you wanted any thing above the set menu that's fine they just add it to your £9.95. The food is tasty and the staff were very pleasant.

Would recommend this restaurant for a good value for money Indian with clean and pleasant surroundings, perhaps not the first choice for a romantic meal for two but well worth a visit.

Will return when in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxerdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Miners Lamp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

the food was ok .plenty of car parking the restoraunt is very clean with friendkly helpfull staff,highly recommended will go again definatly

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StHelensPero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Raj also viewed

Haydock, Merseyside
Haydock, Merseyside
 
Haydock, Merseyside
Haydock, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing