We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
East Anglia, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great overnight stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Did an 'overnighter' here on the way to the ferry at Haysham and it was perfect. No lift but reception staff ready to assist with baggage and the rather complicated room numberings. The room was a good size and had all you could need. Spotlessly clean but some staining and crack on ceiling near the corner which I found next morning to be due to the flat roof overhead.Rooms are due to refurbishment so not a problem.
Had a quiet night although there was a wedding party in the hotel and an event in the marquee.Grounds were lovely and I had a walk round the pathway outside before breakfast,which was buffet and fine with a good selection to choose from.Probably better than the dinner the night before which also had a good selection on the buffet unless you were a veggie when it became very limited.Staff were very efficient and helpful at all times and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from wedding marquee if you are not among the wedding party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MX19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and we are very pleased that you had a great overnight stay. I will of course share your feedback with the team who will be delighted to know you found them helpful and efficient. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    229
    114
    39
    21
See reviews for
136
209
27
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after a day at Haydock races and found the location ideal,we also had dinner at this hotel and found the service and prices very good indeed. But all of this was spoiled by the room allocated, there was 2 weddings being celebrated at this hotel on the night we stayed and for some unknown reason the hotel roomed myself and wife in a room directly above a wedding marquee which was like trying to sleep in a disco. Eventually after trying to sleep for quite a while i had no alternative but to go to recetion and complain. We were told that the music would stop at midnight but could move rooms if we wished and as it was 23.45 we decided to stay put. Big mistake because although the music did stop at around 00.15 as promised the wedding party guests carried on celebrating outside our room until the early hours. I am not a killjoy and good luck to the wedding party who enjoyed themselves but surely putting non wedding guests in this part of the hotel is ridiculous. With a little forward planning and better room management this sort of situation could be easily avoided and a very pleasant day at a lovely venue would not have to be ruined by not being able to sleep until the very early hours.

Room Tip: Check if a wedding is taking place and request a room in different part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonyr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Anthony


Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback, firstly I would like to apologise for the location of your room. We do as a rule always try to allocate non function guests away from any possible noise. Unfortunately on this occasion an error was made on our behalf and I am sorry for the inconvenience it caused to you and your wife. I know my reception manager has already spoken to you directly regarding this matter and I hope you will accept our sincere apologies. I was however very pleased to know that you found our other services very good and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had nice time was relaxing and nice gardens. staff friendly and helpful which is always bonus. Didn't eat in hotel as already had plans but sure food would be nice. Would recommend and go back in the future keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular found the team friendly and helpful and I will ensure your feedback is passed on. Thank you for choosing Thistle Haydock and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms, good suites for meetings, had our own eating room for 20 of us and the service attentive. Food average which was a shame, had the ham terrine which was nice, for the first time in my life went for the vegetarian Wellington bad mistake, panna cotta ok cheese board lovely. Drinks expensive but to be expected in the hotel. More positives though with the room being superb and great service.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lally05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following on from your recent conference and dinner. I am sorry your main course was not to your liking but I was pleased to read that overall you had a good stay and in particular found the service attentive and the room superb for your requirements. I will ensure all your comments are fed back to the team.

Best regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed the weekend as part of a wedding group, rooms quite small and the bathroom needs to be brought up to date, other than that very nice staff especially in the breakfast room.
Superb full english breakfast . Decent bar prices. Not bad at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you had a good stay and overall had a good experience and found the staff very nice, I will ensure your comments are shared with the team.

Best wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked a two night stay in a family room at short notice, in order to travel up from Portsmouth to see my dying nan in hospital ( a goodbye visit). Myself , wife and 3 children ( ages 3,2 and 4 months).

The room was not the 4* standard as is expected. On entering we immediatly noticed the state of the walls, all scuff marks and stains, coffee marks and spillage stains ( and whatever else). The net curtains had what appeared to be blood stains on them( I did complain and was told that it was make up and these did end up getting replaced). The bathroom was no better , the fittings are all very tired and in need of an update, RUSTING and loose bathroom fittings and the worst part was what appeared to be someones dental braces rubber band left in the bathroom, gross!) We expected much better from this hotel chain. With pride we can say that our home is much cleaner than a supposed 4* hotel!

The swimming pool and gym were the only good things of note from our stay. We are very very very disappointed and when we visit for the funeral next month , we will be seeking alternative arrangements. Thistle please get intouch if you wish to discuss. We stayed in Room 131 between 20-21 /06/2013.

Room Tip: Holiday inn is very good from previous experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Paul

I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay our reception manager Michaela will be contacting you directly. We do have an on-going refurbishment plan and completed a further 40 rooms in April this year. We do have various room types some of which you may find more suitable, 131 is indeed still to be done and is one of our more traditional rooms which is on our in house programme of works. I apologise for any lack of attention to detail in the room which is most unusual for our housekeeping team but is being duly followed up. On a more positive note we are glad you enjoyed the leisure facilities. Thank you for your feedback which will be acted upon accordingly.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great hotel for my 3night stay and visit to Merseyside, Tip top rooms and room service, The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the two breakfast staff, they did make me laugh, golden 'oldies' the youngsters should learn from them. Restaurant/food again very good but slow service, waited 25 mins with no reason given until we asked.
I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it wasnt for the fact paying guests have to vie for a seat when there is a wedding function on, don't get me wrong the blurb for the hotel make it very clear that this is the main function of the hotel, BUT it would be nic eit there was an area set aside for paying guests.
Otherwise I will definatly visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Christine

Thank you for taking the time to give us your views on your recent stay, I am pleased that overall you had an excellent weekend. The lounge bar does often get very busy depending on events and on racing days at Haydock Park but we will take into consideration your comment regarding seating. I was particularly delighted to read that you found the team helpful and friendly and will ensure your comments are passed on. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Haydock.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydock
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton Le Willows
735 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Haydock St. Helens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#7 of 21 in Warrington
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Haydock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Haydock Hotel

Property: Mercure Haydock Hotel
Address: Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Haydock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel, part of Mercure Brand operated by Accor Hotels, is perfectly placed for exploring Merseyside and the north-west - or enjoying a day at the races. Located exactly halfway between Liverpool and Manchester, the hotel is just a mile from the famous Haydock Park racecourse. Local attractions include stately homes, the region's industrial heritage, and Britain's biggest designer outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Haydock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Haydock Hotel Haydock
Thistle Hotel Haydock
Haydock Thistle Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing