We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed the weekend as part of a wedding group, rooms quite small and the bathroom needs to be brought up to date, other than that very nice staff especially in the breakfast room.
Superb full english breakfast . Decent bar prices. Not bad at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you had a good stay and overall had a good experience and found the staff very nice, I will ensure your comments are shared with the team.

Best wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    222
    108
    37
    20
See reviews for
132
203
25
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked a two night stay in a family room at short notice, in order to travel up from Portsmouth to see my dying nan in hospital ( a goodbye visit). Myself , wife and 3 children ( ages 3,2 and 4 months).

The room was not the 4* standard as is expected. On entering we immediatly noticed the state of the walls, all scuff marks and stains, coffee marks and spillage stains ( and whatever else). The net curtains had what appeared to be blood stains on them( I did complain and was told that it was make up and these did end up getting replaced). The bathroom was no better , the fittings are all very tired and in need of an update, RUSTING and loose bathroom fittings and the worst part was what appeared to be someones dental braces rubber band left in the bathroom, gross!) We expected much better from this hotel chain. With pride we can say that our home is much cleaner than a supposed 4* hotel!

The swimming pool and gym were the only good things of note from our stay. We are very very very disappointed and when we visit for the funeral next month , we will be seeking alternative arrangements. Thistle please get intouch if you wish to discuss. We stayed in Room 131 between 20-21 /06/2013.

Room Tip: Holiday inn is very good from previous experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Paul

I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay our reception manager Michaela will be contacting you directly. We do have an on-going refurbishment plan and completed a further 40 rooms in April this year. We do have various room types some of which you may find more suitable, 131 is indeed still to be done and is one of our more traditional rooms which is on our in house programme of works. I apologise for any lack of attention to detail in the room which is most unusual for our housekeeping team but is being duly followed up. On a more positive note we are glad you enjoyed the leisure facilities. Thank you for your feedback which will be acted upon accordingly.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great hotel for my 3night stay and visit to Merseyside, Tip top rooms and room service, The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the two breakfast staff, they did make me laugh, golden 'oldies' the youngsters should learn from them. Restaurant/food again very good but slow service, waited 25 mins with no reason given until we asked.
I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it wasnt for the fact paying guests have to vie for a seat when there is a wedding function on, don't get me wrong the blurb for the hotel make it very clear that this is the main function of the hotel, BUT it would be nic eit there was an area set aside for paying guests.
Otherwise I will definatly visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Christine

Thank you for taking the time to give us your views on your recent stay, I am pleased that overall you had an excellent weekend. The lounge bar does often get very busy depending on events and on racing days at Haydock Park but we will take into consideration your comment regarding seating. I was particularly delighted to read that you found the team helpful and friendly and will ensure your comments are passed on. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Haydock.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We attended our nephews wedding on 8th June and would just like to say we had an absolutely fabulous time! The staff at the hotel were great. The Food was brilliant and the whole day went without a hitch. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.. The only downfall maybe the drinks were a little bit expensive! but don't let that put you off..
I can honestly say it is one of the best weddng days i have ever attended. Keep up the good work!! and maybe reduce your bar tarriff !! Ha..Ha.. The rooms were lovely aswell..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Alison

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, I was very pleased to read that you had such a fabulous time at your nephews wedding. Our prices are very competitive in comparison to similar standard hotels and unfortunately our prices also have to reflect the level of service and general operating costs involved. I will ensure your positive comments regarding the food and service are shared with the team.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford cheshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ideal hotel for a night after the races.
The standard is average and the sleep quality as you would expect from a holiday inn express. The room service is quite good and the Bar area is ideal for an after the races drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry you only found your experience to be average but was pleased to note that you found the bar and room service good.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Kath was brilliant and really put us at ease about the day running smoothly. She was always happy to answer any of our queries whatever time of day while we were planning the day. We felt relaxed that we had put our Wedding Day in Kath's hands and it really paid off.

We have been inundated with praise from our guests about the entire Wedding Day. The praises included all of the Thistle staff that paid such a huge part in the day. Every member of staff from waiters to Jonathan (our MC) were very professional. The food was outstanding.

Thank you for a fantastic day that we will remember forever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sarah

Thank you so much for your review, I am so pleased you had a fantastic day and that we were a part of it. Kath and Jonathen will be particularly delighted and I will ensure the praise for the rest of the team is passed on too. Thank you for choosing Thistle Haydock for your wedding venue and we wish you every happiness in your new life together.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel, but don't drink at the bar unless you take out a bank loan! A double Jack Daniels and coke cost more than £9!!!!! Breakfast was a buffet service however things were ready at different times, so I got sauasge and bacon then had to go back for eggs then for beans etc. Had to go hunting for coffee and tea even though it should be brought to your table, when I found it, it was luke warm!! All this said it is a fairlt decent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments following on from your recent stay. Our drinks prices are fairly competitive in comparison to similar standard hotels and prices also have to reflect the level of service and general operating costs involved. I am sorry that breakfast did not live up to your expectation and I assure you the matter will be thoroughly investigated. (Our food & beverage services manager will be in touch with you as we note that you have left similar comments on our own customer survey site.) I was however pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and I trust you enjoyed the wedding you attended.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydock
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 2 in Newton Le Willows
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 4 in St Helens
432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
9.6 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Haydock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Haydock Hotel

Property: Mercure Haydock Hotel
Address: Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Haydock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel, part of Mercure Brand operated by Accor Hotels, is perfectly placed for exploring Merseyside and the north-west - or enjoying a day at the races. Located exactly halfway between Liverpool and Manchester, the hotel is just a mile from the famous Haydock Park racecourse. Local attractions include stately homes, the region's industrial heritage, and Britain's biggest designer outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Haydock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Haydock Hotel Haydock
Thistle Hotel Haydock
Haydock Thistle Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing