We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daniel and Kara's wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
wigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Daniel and Kara's wedding!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We attended our nephews wedding on 8th June and would just like to say we had an absolutely fabulous time! The staff at the hotel were great. The Food was brilliant and the whole day went without a hitch. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.. The only downfall maybe the drinks were a little bit expensive! but don't let that put you off..
I can honestly say it is one of the best weddng days i have ever attended. Keep up the good work!! and maybe reduce your bar tarriff !! Ha..Ha.. The rooms were lovely aswell..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Alison

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, I was very pleased to read that you had such a fabulous time at your nephews wedding. Our prices are very competitive in comparison to similar standard hotels and unfortunately our prices also have to reflect the level of service and general operating costs involved. I will ensure your positive comments regarding the food and service are shared with the team.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    229
    111
    39
    21
See reviews for
135
208
26
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford cheshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ideal hotel for a night after the races.
The standard is average and the sleep quality as you would expect from a holiday inn express. The room service is quite good and the Bar area is ideal for an after the races drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry you only found your experience to be average but was pleased to note that you found the bar and room service good.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Kath was brilliant and really put us at ease about the day running smoothly. She was always happy to answer any of our queries whatever time of day while we were planning the day. We felt relaxed that we had put our Wedding Day in Kath's hands and it really paid off.

We have been inundated with praise from our guests about the entire Wedding Day. The praises included all of the Thistle staff that paid such a huge part in the day. Every member of staff from waiters to Jonathan (our MC) were very professional. The food was outstanding.

Thank you for a fantastic day that we will remember forever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sarah

Thank you so much for your review, I am so pleased you had a fantastic day and that we were a part of it. Kath and Jonathen will be particularly delighted and I will ensure the praise for the rest of the team is passed on too. Thank you for choosing Thistle Haydock for your wedding venue and we wish you every happiness in your new life together.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel, but don't drink at the bar unless you take out a bank loan! A double Jack Daniels and coke cost more than £9!!!!! Breakfast was a buffet service however things were ready at different times, so I got sauasge and bacon then had to go back for eggs then for beans etc. Had to go hunting for coffee and tea even though it should be brought to your table, when I found it, it was luke warm!! All this said it is a fairlt decent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments following on from your recent stay. Our drinks prices are fairly competitive in comparison to similar standard hotels and prices also have to reflect the level of service and general operating costs involved. I am sorry that breakfast did not live up to your expectation and I assure you the matter will be thoroughly investigated. (Our food & beverage services manager will be in touch with you as we note that you have left similar comments on our own customer survey site.) I was however pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and I trust you enjoyed the wedding you attended.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Came to Haydock for the races and didn't eat in the hotel. Our rooms were super and very clean and even though there were 2 functions on, we were still well looked after. However our thanks go to Val, such a cheery lady, who looked after us at breakfast, a lovely way to start the day and the food was lovely too

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure your feedback is passed on and I know Val will be particularly pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle Haydock.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night / 2 days while visiting our UK factory situated not far away. Hotel looks nice from outside but it is a bit away from any other activities.

The rooms are rather small (the bathroom very small) and they are OK, but calling for refurbishment. It seems quite big, as in the evening there were a lot of people hanging around at the bar. The hotel is specialized for congress & meeting tourism.

Breakfast area is small and food just good enough and with sufficient variety.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments which will be shared with the team for consideration. Should you have the requirement to stay again please do let us know as we do have various room types available which we could offer you. I am however pleased to note that overall you had a good stay.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just celebrated our wedding at The Thistle Hotel Haydock on Friday 24th May 2013 and have to comment on how amazing the day was. The venue itself is lovely but it was the service and support provided by the wonderful staff that made our day so special. Everyone was friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Kath Robinson was fantastic leading up to the wedding and was always there to offer support and advise. On the day, Johnathan and the team ensured everything ran smoothly and guided us through our wonderful day. Jess and Ewan, just 2 of the staff who also made our day so special. The food was lovely, the buffet at night was fantastic and received numerous compliments from our guests. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone who is planning a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandrew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Janet & Andrew

Thank you so much for writing your review and so promptly, ( we hope you are now enjoying your honeymoon!) We were all really pleased to read that you enjoyed your wedding day so much and that we were able to contribute into making your day special. I will ensure your praise is passed on to all concerned and in particular Kath, Jonathen, Euan, Jess and not forgetting the chefs! Thank you for choosing Thistle Haydock for your venue and we all would like to wish you a long and happy marriage.

Many Congratulations

Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydock
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton Le Willows
733 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Haydock St. Helens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#7 of 21 in Warrington
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Haydock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Haydock Hotel

Property: Mercure Haydock Hotel
Address: Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Haydock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel, part of Mercure Brand operated by Accor Hotels, is perfectly placed for exploring Merseyside and the north-west - or enjoying a day at the races. Located exactly halfway between Liverpool and Manchester, the hotel is just a mile from the famous Haydock Park racecourse. Local attractions include stately homes, the region's industrial heritage, and Britain's biggest designer outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Haydock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Haydock Hotel Haydock
Thistle Hotel Haydock
Haydock Thistle Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing