We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Haydock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Visited for a family 'get together'. Staff superb, going out of their way to help. Enjoyed a quiet drink in the bar on our arrival. Room very clean & comfortable. Our family evening meal was very good, served professionally by very industrious but friendly staff. The meal was very good value, & the room it was served in was lovely. Top marks for the breakfast, staff again very friendly but professional. A very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us following on from your family party at the weekend. I am absolutely delighted that you had a good stay overall and had such an enjoyable family celebration. I will ensure your lovely comments are shared with the team as they will be very pleased to know that you found them all professional and friendly.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    217
    106
    36
    20
See reviews for
131
196
24
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night with the kids and were treated to a really nice welcome, a lovely meal in the restaurant and a relaxing drink in the bar area. The kids were welcomed by the staff who made their evening entertaining! Fab hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Kel S

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. It is very nice to know that you and your children were so well looked after by the team and that you enjoyed your meal in Beechers restaurant. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the relevant personnel. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Thistle Haydock.

Best Wishes

Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I loved it here. Although this hotel is old and in need of refurbishment, it is sympathetically aged and as the fittings were originally 'expensive' and classic, they are still very classy. The pool is made from marble and is lovely. The rooms are all really pleasant and beds very comfortable. Some staff are a bit hoity toity, but some are quite friendly. The breakfast staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is nice and the hotel is in a good location.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice here, but ask for a room without stairs as there are no lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Tina D

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. You may be interested to know that since may we have had some further upgrades in the lounge and bar area and we are currently undergoing some bedroom refurbishment in the ground floor rooms which is due to be completed in April this year. I am very pleased to know that generally you enjoyed your stay and in particular found the breakfast team friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again sometime at Thistle Haydock

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The position close to the M6 is ideal and parking is superbly easy
Rooms are spacious and well equipped although I found the bathroom cold as there was no heating in the fully tiled room
The heating was noisy blown air which I had to turn off cos it was too noisy
Food was good in the restaurant with very good service and the breakfast delicious
Overall a pleasant experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wash4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am sorry you encountered a problem with your heating system and for any disturbance this caused. If this was not reported at the time please do email me directly with the room number and I will ensure this is rectified. I am however very pleased to know that overall you had a good stay and found the food and service good.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We all find hotels to be a tad expensive for drinks and snacks, this is no exception, however, everything is served correctly and first class service, if I get this I really don't mind paying a bit extra, you certainly get good service and attention here.

When staying away from home on business it is really good to have a pool and gym also, the gym is small but really functional for burning off some calories and coupled with the pool and steam room this is a good hotel to spend a night away from home in.

Room Tip: as this hotel is off the main road there is no traffic noise so all of the rooms are good, a great p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Tony H

Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased that we have met your expectations and been able to provide the service you need for a good business stay. I will ensure your positive comments are shared with the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked the Thistle on New Years Eve thinking because it was the Thistle and because of the price we paid it would be excellent we were wrong, the rooms were ok and the staff very polite but the evening overall was really poor, the meal was served at 8pm and we were still sat there at 11pm with dirty plates on the table and still no disco started. There should of been a piper to celebrate midnight but he was at the side of the dancefloor having photo's taken and decided to pipe midnight in at 12.30 to watch the fireworks outside, the fireworks were really good but we didn't go for a firework display. I just wanted to let people know in case they were booking for next year, don't bother we won't be going again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Monks family

I am very sorry to read of your disappointment concerning New Year's Eve, our events co-ordinators are in the process of contacting all bookers so the main booker will be able to give feedback directly to the team involved, in the meantime your comments will be passed on to the relevant team members and investigated accordingly. I am sorry that you feel you will not return and if you would like to contact me directly please do so.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

On a recent New Year short break in the Lake District we decided to break the journey with a stop over en route. Stayed at this hotel on business and too advantage of the websites 50% off offer to book a room here rather than a Travelodge or the like.

Large comfortable room was just what we required. We arrived as a wedding was taking place in the marquee and were pleased to find our room was on the outside and not facing the marquee. No noise was experienced from the event and we were served dinner in the restaurant (meal times were reduced but this did not atffect us).

Slight grumble in that felt that the food prices were on the high side (did not opt for breakfast) and as there is nothing around in the immediate vacinity its a case of grin and bear it.

Overall an enjoyable stay and an time next morning for a shopping trip into Liverpool before continuing our drive to the Lakes

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfcsccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was very pleased to read that you experienced a comfortable and enjoyable stay and all your feedback will be shared with the team. Thank you for choosing Thistle Haydock and we wish you a Happy New Year.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydock
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 2 in Newton Le Willows
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Chalon Court Hotel
Chalon Court Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Helens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
15.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza  Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Haydock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Haydock Hotel

Property: Mercure Haydock Hotel
Address: Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Haydock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel, part of Mercure Brand operated by Accor Hotels, is perfectly placed for exploring Merseyside and the north-west - or enjoying a day at the races. Located exactly halfway between Liverpool and Manchester, the hotel is just a mile from the famous Haydock Park racecourse. Local attractions include stately homes, the region's industrial heritage, and Britain's biggest designer outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Haydock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Haydock Hotel Haydock
Thistle Hotel Haydock
Haydock Thistle Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing