We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy access to M6”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easy access to M6”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The position close to the M6 is ideal and parking is superbly easy
Rooms are spacious and well equipped although I found the bathroom cold as there was no heating in the fully tiled room
The heating was noisy blown air which I had to turn off cos it was too noisy
Food was good in the restaurant with very good service and the breakfast delicious
Overall a pleasant experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wash4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am sorry you encountered a problem with your heating system and for any disturbance this caused. If this was not reported at the time please do email me directly with the room number and I will ensure this is rectified. I am however very pleased to know that overall you had a good stay and found the food and service good.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    227
    109
    38
    20
See reviews for
133
204
26
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We all find hotels to be a tad expensive for drinks and snacks, this is no exception, however, everything is served correctly and first class service, if I get this I really don't mind paying a bit extra, you certainly get good service and attention here.

When staying away from home on business it is really good to have a pool and gym also, the gym is small but really functional for burning off some calories and coupled with the pool and steam room this is a good hotel to spend a night away from home in.

Room Tip: as this hotel is off the main road there is no traffic noise so all of the rooms are good, a great p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Tony H

Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased that we have met your expectations and been able to provide the service you need for a good business stay. I will ensure your positive comments are shared with the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked the Thistle on New Years Eve thinking because it was the Thistle and because of the price we paid it would be excellent we were wrong, the rooms were ok and the staff very polite but the evening overall was really poor, the meal was served at 8pm and we were still sat there at 11pm with dirty plates on the table and still no disco started. There should of been a piper to celebrate midnight but he was at the side of the dancefloor having photo's taken and decided to pipe midnight in at 12.30 to watch the fireworks outside, the fireworks were really good but we didn't go for a firework display. I just wanted to let people know in case they were booking for next year, don't bother we won't be going again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Monks family

I am very sorry to read of your disappointment concerning New Year's Eve, our events co-ordinators are in the process of contacting all bookers so the main booker will be able to give feedback directly to the team involved, in the meantime your comments will be passed on to the relevant team members and investigated accordingly. I am sorry that you feel you will not return and if you would like to contact me directly please do so.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

On a recent New Year short break in the Lake District we decided to break the journey with a stop over en route. Stayed at this hotel on business and too advantage of the websites 50% off offer to book a room here rather than a Travelodge or the like.

Large comfortable room was just what we required. We arrived as a wedding was taking place in the marquee and were pleased to find our room was on the outside and not facing the marquee. No noise was experienced from the event and we were served dinner in the restaurant (meal times were reduced but this did not atffect us).

Slight grumble in that felt that the food prices were on the high side (did not opt for breakfast) and as there is nothing around in the immediate vacinity its a case of grin and bear it.

Overall an enjoyable stay and an time next morning for a shopping trip into Liverpool before continuing our drive to the Lakes

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfcsccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I was very pleased to read that you experienced a comfortable and enjoyable stay and all your feedback will be shared with the team. Thank you for choosing Thistle Haydock and we wish you a Happy New Year.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

As we were heading north for post Christmas celebrations with family nearby from Boxing Day onwards, we thought we would book into a hotel on Christmas Day and have Christmas dinner there too.

We arrived 2 hours earlier than the check in time as the roads were clear however our two twin rooms were already ready. The bedrooms themselves were of a good size and the bathrooms were extremely spacious. I can't think of the last time I stayed in a hotel with a shower as good as the one in our room!

The little touches such as the chocolates and water left on the desk area as well as the staff who were more than happy to help, took this from good to excellent for me. The Christmas dinner was plentiful and catered to vegetarian requests too.

All of the staff, from the front desk to the restaurant through to the bar were smiling throughout the whole of the day which was nice to see and more than attentive to our needs.

If you're travelling with anyone with mobility issues then requesting as low a room number as possible may be worth a shout as the corridors can seem like a long walk when you're at the higher end!

Room Tip: Low room numbers = less walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scratchgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Tom S

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your positive feedback and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your Christmas stay and Christmas dinner with us. I am especially pleased that you have found all the team to be professional, friendly and helpful and I will ensure your comments are passed on. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future but in the meantime we wish you a very Happy New Year.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I thought the staff here were excellent; every one I met seemed friendly and keen to help. The room was clean spacious and well presented. The only frustrations I had was the cost of the internet connection and the price of the starters and wine in the restaurant. How a bottle of wine that costs £4 from a supermarket can be priced at over £20 in a hotel restaurant is one of the modern day scandals of staying in a British hotel. OK that's my moan out of the way.

Overall though, it was very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willyboy1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments following on from your recent stay which I will ensure are shared with the team accordingly. Thistle hotels are currently in the process of all Wi-Fi Being upgraded which will soon include free Wi-Fi which has indeed already gone live in some hotels. I was very pleased to read that you found the staff excellent and that overall you enjoyed your stay. We wish you a very Happy New year.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel was easy to find and very conveniently located just a junction from the motorway – however be aware that noise from this may be a concern if you have a room closest or facing toward this main route. There is plenty of parking, but even this may be at a premium when large events are held at the site (especially if you are disabled).

I have been booked in on several occasions in the past whilst on business in the area. First impressions were good and it has the look, feel and ambiance of a truly modern hotel with some excellent facilities for the business traveller and definitely meeting its 4* status.

However, be warned, you need to check the room location and its proximity to any events that may be taking place in the hotel if you want a good night’s sleep – especially if it overlooks the large marquee located in the central hotel courtyard.

The Reception and other Staff were friendly, professional and knowledgeable enough to answer any questions concerning the local area.

The rooms were clean and tidy with good bathroom/shower arrangements which are in keeping with the modern traveller ambiance. Once one has worked out the heating it can certainly be warm enough for whatever the weather could do (below 0 C on recent nights there).

The bar area is again modern and drinks moderately priced to suit most visitors – again be aware as seating in this area can become a premium as attendees spill out from their own event areas, especially later into the evenings.

The food at Breakfast the following morning was, in my case, cooked to order and did not raise any cause for complaint as it met my requirements and was reasonably prices. The breakfast Menu gave an adequate choice, including alternatives for the vegetarian palates.

As a business traveller on these occasions I would recommend this hotel if in the area for its modern ambience and approach – however take note of the warnings concerning events above especially at certain times of the year (race days and approaching Christmas) and weekends.

Room Tip: Choose one away from facing directly toward the Motorway and furthest from the 'Events' area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWTravellerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your thorough feedback from your recent stay which is appreciated and I will share with the team. I am very pleased to know that you have stayed with us several times and that you have enjoyed your stay and found the staff professional , friendly and knowledgeable. We do always try to take great care when allocating rooms when an event is on and we have recently added a new sound system in the Marquee which assists in retaining any noise. I do hope we will be welcoming you back again in the future and we all wish you a very Happy New Year!

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydock
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton Le Willows
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Haydock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Haydock Hotel

Property: Mercure Haydock Hotel
Address: Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Haydock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel, part of Mercure Brand operated by Accor Hotels, is perfectly placed for exploring Merseyside and the north-west - or enjoying a day at the races. Located exactly halfway between Liverpool and Manchester, the hotel is just a mile from the famous Haydock Park racecourse. Local attractions include stately homes, the region's industrial heritage, and Britain's biggest designer outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Haydock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Haydock Hotel Haydock
Thistle Hotel Haydock
Haydock Thistle Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing