We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Shocking shocking hotel. DO NOT BOOK IF WITH A GROUP.

I stayed in this hotel as part of a large group and it was the worst hotel experience I have ever encountered. Here are a few of the many faults.

Staff attitude was disgusting. Manageress was the worst. She made our stay very uncomfortable. She complained about everything the younger group members did.
She would get shirty if you asked her for anything that wasnt available.

The meals were shocking. We were given our meals by staff who near threw them down in front of us. And theportion sizes wouldnt even fill my 16 month old. Some food was not cooked correctly. So we asked for self service which they said they would do. On second nite they set up the self service but staff stood at hotlplate and rationed out the food. Again miniscule portoon size. Desert wasnt even worth waiting for. Frozen Iceland gataux. Once last person walked from hotplate everything was very quickly removed so noone could attempt a second helping.

Dark haired waitress was seen by myself leaning on elbow against hotplate eating gum (open mouth eating too).

One nite the adults in group didnt even get desert so when we asked they brought out the smallest portion of frozen cheesecake ever.

We were given water with every meal. No juice and no sign of post meal coffee.

Packed lunches were provided. And again very very sub standard.

During manageress's day off the other members of staff apologised about her. They even told us that she is a "b###h" and no one likes her. Very unproffessional.

Rooms were shocking. Very plain. My wet room and few others I spoke to had flooding. The shower filled the whole wetroom and even trickled into bedroom. To use sink I walked in an inch of water.

They advertise free wi fi. Yes but only of your within 20 metres of front desk. No rooms had wi fi at all.

I have stayed in many hotels and this is the number one worst customer service experience. I understand that we were on a group booking and price was group price, but I know they cut so many corners that they made a big profit especially with meals. Drfinately didnt get moneys worth.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gush37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhay, Owner at Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I believe you are the coach driver for the group? I am saddened that you have used this forum to express your views and I will make contact with you personally with my full response.

Kind regards
Kelly-Ann Grimes
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    237
    150
    68
    75
See reviews for
126
250
44
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business and really enjoyed the experience.
The reception/check-in was quick and painless and the same was true of check-out. All the staff I met were friendly and helpful and the service was exceptional throughout may stay.
This is a really good budget hotel and Premier Inn and Travelodge could learn a lot from these guys.
Clean tidy room with access to internet (free). Room service with no tray charge and a reasonable menu.
Overall...good hotel with good levels of service, much better than some other more expensive hotels that I have stayed in.
I will definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: Room s at the back do not overlook the A580.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rapidresponder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Checked in smoothly, room was clean and adequate, not overly large, but sufficient for our needs. It had a wet room which to be honest I dont really like, I had requested a bath but to be fair the hotel did tell me they are all wet rooms.

For the £25 paid, I would say it served our purpose. The breakfast was adequate but definately not as good as the Premier Inn version. We had to wait for eggs and other items to be cooked even though there were only a couple of table in occupancy in the restaurent.

If you want luxury, go elsewhere but definately better than a Travelodge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Arrived there in a sunday afternoon. The receptionist was very nice and polite. The room is big, very well equiped, with a leather sofa, internet connection for free, The restaurant was ok, I had a pizza and it was decent, not like italian pizza, but for my hunger was just good. Good sleep, it was warm and quiet. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eneacsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend. We spent a bank holiday visiting Liverpool and Manchester, as we didn't have a well defined plan, we decided to stay somewhere between the 2 cities. We found a good offer in Ramada Encore Haydock, and I have to say that the hotel is very good value for what we paid (£87 for 3 nights, no meals)

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was good sized, didn't face the dual carriage way, so it was quite. Unfortunately the mattress wasn't very comfortable: we could sleep, but I missed my home mattress to be honest. The shower was a wet room: I am not a big fan of wet rooms but it was fine. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, which was much appreciated, as well as free car park, which was useful for us.

We had breakfast one of the days in the hotel, the waitress was very friendly, asked if we needed any eggs or anything else (we were the last guests to have breakfast). I wasn't specially impressed with the breakfast, but it was fine. The rest of the days we just had a coffee in the bedroom, and went directly to visit things in Manchester or Liverpool.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean budget hotel with friendly staff, and if the mattress had been more comfortable, I would have given it 4 stars instead of 3.

Room Tip: try to get a room that does not face the dual carriage way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here with work colleagues and it was just ok. It was the Grand National weekend and the hotel was full but at 7pm there was only one receptionist checking us in (12 in the queue), not great forward planning fro Grand National weekend. I didn't request but ended up with an accesible room. I would have liked a bath but as the hotel was full I could not move rooms. For £77 B&B you can't complain at the rate. Breakfast was ok but chef was on his own so couldn't make porridge or scrambled eggs. The rooms that back onto the main road have a lot of traffic noise throughout the night - avoid these. Rooms are clean and beds comfy.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that back onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastbourneFamilyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhay, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. All our rooms are fitted with wet rooms therefore we do not have a room with a bath. I am sorry to read that you could not get scrambled egg or porridge at breakfast, I will investigate this with our Kitchen Manager, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience. Once again thank-you for your comments and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at somepoint in the future.

Kind regards
Marie Miller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

During my recent stay at the ramada encore in hay dock I was let down. After reading reviews on here I didn't think it would be to bad. I was wrong. There was a que as I was checking so I took anosey at what this hotel had to offer. At first I thought it would be a lot. Until I realised how understaffed it is. I saw in the restaurant the girls looked rushed off their feet. I was in a que of 3 and got seen to after only 4/5 minutes. The girl on the desk seemed stressed as she was having problems with a client complaining but she handled this well as well as checking the que in. She was really polite and couldn't do enough for me. The rooms are basic but it's okay for one night. I had a meal in the restaurant which the food came out messy. The girl behind the bar was friendly and had a laugh with me. So did the girl on the reception when she wasn't busy, they really made me feel welcome. From what I gather this hotel needs more staff. The hotel and the staff itsf are great. But they need more as its too busy. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhay, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Marie Miller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haydock hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydock
1.1 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Haydock
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Haydock St. Helens
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton Le Willows
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
460 reviews
1.3 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#10 of 21 in Warrington
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock

Property: Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
Address: Piele Road 4 Galway Crescent, Haydock WA11 0GR, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Haydock)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Haydock Hotel Haydock
Haydock Ramada
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing