We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible double booking, not even stayed there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jasmine Guest House
Ranked #30 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Terrible double booking, not even stayed there”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have no review as we haven never stayed there, apart from they double booked and were very unapologetic, we've had to find alternative accommodation more expensive which is now stretching peoples budgets for the weekend away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheardypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OV11, Owner at Jasmine Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are sorry that you feel you have to place reviews of this type, especially when you were not the person who made the initial phone call. Just to bring the truth to light about this matter, the original phone call was made in October 2013, enquiring about available accommodation. The caller was told which rooms were available for the dates they required and said that they would get back to us when they knew how many rooms were needed and for whom. A call was received with a few names and a promise of a follow up. No details of the organiser were given and no further information has been forthcoming. The fact that we were on holiday has no relevance as there was a phone number left on the answerphone for any callers who wished to contact us or we could be reached by email. Our booking terms and conditions clearly state that no bookings are confirmed until we receive a deposit equivalent to the first nights booking. Booking enquiries were coming in via email and phone during December for those same dates and as the originals had not paid any deposits and there was no way to contact them the rooms were let to guaranteed customers. You will have to appreciate that if we had turned guests away and then the originals had failed to complete their booking, we would have been out of pocket by a large sum. This has happened in the past, hence the reasons why take deposits. When the original caller eventually got back to us last week, we offered alternative accommodation for their party but this was declined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    40
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in summer schools with kids and mother in law had two rooms. This was the second time visited and was another nice stay. Owners friendly and helpful.

Rooms spacious, clean, well equipped.

Only thing was the owners were painting the dining area downstairs which i did wish we had have been warned about before going as my son has Asthma and being around strong paint does affect him. He wasn’t too bad with it though luckily but I would have rebooked if known that was the case. I know improvements do need to be done but this information should be given to guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twilight29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OV11, Owner at Jasmine Guest House, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Sorry about the painting but we may not have known at the time of your booking that we would be touching up the paint as the job that was done was an emergency one. We do ask if anyone has any medical problems that we are informed if it could affect their stay and then we can work round it.
Regards Jasmine Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at The Jasmine House in a twin room with a friend, as we were going for a show at the theatre on a saturday night. There was a warm welcome and I was shown to the room on the first floor.
Loved the way everythin was colour coordinated in the room, duvet cover, cushions and frames on the wall. The bathroom with shower was very big which was a surprise. Overall, very happy with the room that had 2 low chairs and a table by the window. The only downfall was that the table was very dusty and so were the window ledge and other parts of the bedrooms. It looked like the room hadn't been used for a while, or that the cleaning wasn't done everywhere. I think a bedroom should be cleaned thoroughly after each guest and something as simple as a table should be wiped after every guest.
Other than that, the bathroom was simple but clean and the beds were comfortable.
Breakfast was very good and served quickly. and it was easy to check out by just giving the keys back when we left.
They have greeting cards handmade by the owners to sell. They are lovely. We left with a couple of them. It's a bit more original than the usual birthday cards we find in the shops ;)
I would definitely go back to Jasmine House if I was to return to Bridlington and I would recommend it. It's close enough to the train station and close to the sea front and the street is quiet at night (apart from the seagulls, but there is no escaping them when you go to the seaside!). Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OV11, Owner at Jasmine Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are sorry the room was dusty when you arrived, this had been overlooked as the window had been left open and the room wasn't used for a few days since cleaning. No excuse I know, but if you had brought it to our attention straight away, it could have been rectified immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have just returned from a two day break at the Jasmine with my daughter. We had a twin room, the beds were very comfy, rooms spotlessly clean, ample space and facilities including an ensuite shower room, TV, coffee/tea tray, towels, info pack about the area and some toiletries. The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere and the owners make you feel very welcome. We enjoyed our breakfasts which were of high quality and freshly cooked to your needs, I had a vegetarian option which was really tasty. The hotel is situated in the perfect place, on a side road not far from the harbour within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, pubs, cinema, Spa theatre, swimming pool and beach. I was concerned about getting a place to park but didn't have a problem at all and was provided with a parking permit for the duration of our stay. I would highly recommend this B&B and hope to return again with the rest of our family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesdreamingangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OV11, Owner at Jasmine Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Well what can i say we booked for 2 nights and ended up staying 4, Jackie and Chris were the most helpful and friendliest proprietors we have met. The easy walk to the beach is ideal. The rooms are very clean the beds are so comfy and the breakfast is to die for. They must have something because we have stayed three times this year (so far). Thanks a lot for all you did Angela and Kevin from York

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OV11, Owner at Jasmine Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for the nice review. Hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stay here during a weekend break with our 3 young children. The family room was spacious enough for our family with tea and coffee available in the room. The proprietors couldn't have been more helpful, yet unobtrusive.

4 out of 5 of us have special dietary requirements and she put on a great breakfast for us including gluten free cereal, bread and almond milk. This very rarely happens anywhere we stay. What a pleasant change!!

The price was extremely reasonable too. We would most definately recommend this guest house and if we ever went to Bridlington again we would happily book/stay there.

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OV11, Owner at Jasmine Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Like the last reviewers, we chose the Jasmine based on all the great reviews and the fact that our border collie would also be welcome.We stayed on Saturday July 6th and everything was perfect. It"s the little extra touches and the fact that the owners have got everything spot on that make it the best b&b we have stayed in. Hope to be able to return soon. Thanks Peter and Susan West Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OV11, Owner at Jasmine Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for the kind review. We try to please everyone including the pets. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chimes Guest House
The Chimes Guest House
#22 of 118 in Bridlington
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Etherleigh
The Etherleigh
#9 of 118 in Bridlington
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glen Alan Guest House
The Glen Alan Guest House
#17 of 118 in Bridlington
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Bed & Breakfast
All Seasons Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 118 in Bridlington
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summerfield Guest House
Summerfield Guest House
#14 of 118 in Bridlington
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine Guest House

Property: Jasmine Guest House
Address: 27-29 Richmond Street, Bridlington YO15 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasmine Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run, Licensed Guest House, close to the refurbished Spa Theatre Complex and blue flag south beach. Pets welcome by arrangement. We can offer a discount on some show tickets at the Spa subject to availability. We welcome fishing parties, Golfers, Bird Watchers etc. Discounts are available for parties of 10 or more. We also have 4 night, Midweek B&B breaks available from £70 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jasmine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine Guest House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing