We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hosts”
Review of The Balmoral House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balmoral House
Ranked #69 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Kilmarnock
2 reviews
“wonderful hosts”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

My husband and I have just spent 4 days at the Balmoral. Jane and Jim could not have made us more welcome. From spotless rooms to a first class breakfast and lovely surroundings, nothing was too much trouble for Jane and Jim. Thanks for such a relaxing break. hope to see you again next year. Shona & Alex Munro

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Me and my partner have stayed at this Hotel twice now - once when Jim and Jane had just started and then a year later. I must say that we will also be going back another 2 times this year.
On our arrival Jim & Jane couldnt do enough for us, ever so helpful. Breakfasts are lovely, laid out very nicely and a fair amount of choice. Couldnt go hungry. Rooms were very clean, infact the whole hotel was clean..spotless infact.
In an evening its nice to unwind at the bar with a few drinks..which we were joined by Jim & Jane for a long evening chat...very enjoyable company.
We would highly recomend this hotel to anyone, and in July we will be taking the rest of my family who are looking forward to their stay.
Many thanks for yet another fab stay and see you in July.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Disappointing to be honest. You think you are going to a grand house and its a semi in a fairly ordinary road, no secure parking. Service was OK,but not worth the money. Our car was damaged overnight, not seriously but enough to make you not want to repeat the experience. And there are places nearby for half the price and just as good, or better, as we found out on return trips last year.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaeld1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoralhouse, Owner at The Balmoral House, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
Hi, sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at The Balmoral in Feb 2007. However, since Feb 2008 we have been the new owners and although we can only ever hope to please some of the people some of the time we do try and make everyone feel more than welcome. Cleanliness and comfort are our main aim followed by good food and a good time for all our guests.
So, if you are ever this way again give us a call and we will sort something out for you.
Jim and Jane(new owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We have just returened from a weekend golfing trip to Bridlington and stayed at the Balmoral House. From the moment we walked into the guest house Jane and Jim made us feel really welcomed. The room and the whole the guest house was extremely clean and well presented. The room was excellent with a 4 poster bed. The breakfast was great, with a good choice. We couldn't of asked for a better location, with the beach, harbour and shops on our door step. We will definately be going back to the friendly Balmoral house.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller77770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We have just recently returned from a long weekend at the Balmoral and can I say we had a wonderful time. Jim and Jane are great hosts, very warm and friendly. From the moment we walked through the front door we were made to feel at home.
Nothing was to much trouble for Jim & Jane, the fact that Jim collected us from the train station on our arrival in Bridlngton was a perfect example of this. The breakfasts were first class and certainly set you up for the day ahead. The room we stayed in was lovely, it was very clean and comfortable and had had four poster bed. Everything about the Balmoral and the manner in which it is run by Jim & Jane make you look forward to returning at the end of your day to the warm and friendly welcome that is waiting for you. There is no doubt whatsoever that my wife and I will be returning to see Jim & Jane at the wonderful Balmoral.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Balmoral and would recommend it to anyone staying in Bridlington. The guest house itself was spotless, cosy and comfortable. The breakfasts set you up for a fun packed day in and around Bridlington. They have a lovely walled garden area, fantastic for sitting out with a glass of wine before the 3 course evening meal which was delicious with great puddings. Not so good for your waistline! The bar was fully stocked with every drink imaginable. And the new hosts, Jim and Jane were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived as strangers but left feeling like we were friends. We will defiantly be going back to see Jane and Jim…… many times! Thank you for a wonderful break. It was just what we needed!

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank random_flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

clean and comfatable and a well presented hearty breakfast. Our hosts was such good fun and after a long day and a walk out in the evening it was lovely to go to the cosy bar and have bottle of wine and a good chat and with such nice people with a good sense of humour! would recommend this to couples and familys. thanks for your hospitality.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cook4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aidansdale Hotel
Aidansdale Hotel
#53 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marshall Lodge Guest house
Marshall Lodge Guest house
#58 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mayville Guest House
The Mayville Guest House
#76 of 118 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windmill Guest House
Windmill Guest House
#35 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral House

Property: The Balmoral House
Address: 21 Marshall Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Balmoral House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star comfortable guest house with family, twin, double and single rooms available.All rooms are en-suite and split over 2 floors.A full breakfast is included in the price and special diets are catered for. We are just 300yds from the harbor and close to all shops and amenities.The bus station is just 2 minutes walk away.We also have a lovely residents lounge.A warm welcome awaits at Balmoral Guest House, Bridlington. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balmoral House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing