We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real oasis in the centre of Bridlington...”
Review of The Balmoral House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Balmoral House
Ranked #69 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Had a great weekend thanks to a lovely room and very accommodating and friendly owners. We would be very happy to recommend The Balmoral and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Figgis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

Exceptional value for money. Balmoral is kept to a very high standard of cleanliness and décor in keeping with the property. The owners Jane and Jim were very friendly, but not at all overbearing, with exceptional local knowledge they were happy to share. There was a good variety of food and drinks for breakfast which was cooked to perfection, accommodating our dietary requirements. OOO not to forget the mattress was so comfortable with good quality pillows, something I always either miss when away from home is a good night's sleep.
The location of Balmoral is less than ten minutes flat walk to the seafront, for a very slow walker like myself. Lots of events going on to keep all ages entertained, even for people like us who prefer to take things a little easier. We will be back!! -
Thank you Jane and Jim, perfect hosts in the evening at the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheekycherubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We visit Bridlington about twice a year and have tried quite a few guest houses but this is by far the best one yet.
Spotlessly clean everywhere and even though the room we had was not that big it had everything we needed. The bed linen was beautiful and the towels soft and fluffy.
Breakfast was lovely , served piping hot and everything was really tasty.
Jim and Jane are just so welcoming from the minute we walked in the door to the time that we left we felt at home in this cosy little place.
We will certainly be staying here again and will be re-booking later in the year.

Room Tip: Just a short walk to everything in Brid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshinetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Our stay at the Bamoral was a truly wonderful experience we found Jim and Jane the most dedcated hosts we could have wished for. There home was clean and well organized and the breakfast's were the best,
Both jim and Jane made you feel as if you had known them for years and had a vast amount of local knowledge which they were willing to share.
The shops and local restarants were within walking distance and the Spa theatre only ten miniute walk away.
We would definitely be visiting again,
Keep up the good work.
Ray and Jen

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18smokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

From the moment i first spoke to Jane on to book til we left to go home the service & hospitality was excellent. We were very pleased with our room, it was bright, clean and well presented plus we were within walking distance of all shops, restaurants and the Spa Theatre which we had tickets for. I have to say that to stay in a B&B that decor consisted of Cream walls and plain simple modern interiors made a wonderful change to the usual old fashioned, flowery guest house. I would definatley recommend The Balmoral to anyone and will be going again

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichellenJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

My wife and I came up to Bridlington to celebrate our daughter (who lives in Brid) 18th Birthday. Jim and Jane made us welcome to such a degree that we felt we had known them for years. They allowed us including my daughter ,to use their lounge because of bad weather (Snow etc) and even let us play with their Wii Game.A uperb couple who were the ideal hosts. Thank you very much and well done. The house was warm comfortable and the food was really excellent. Will certainly recommend them and stay again

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer_09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

A lovely warm welcome from both Jim and Jane. Nothing was too much trouble.

They both had a wide knowledge of the local area and places to visit, from sight seeing, to fishing in the sea, to the local eateries. Their breakfast was the best I have had in years and even had my decaffeinated tea (not many places serve it). The room I had was very clean and I was impressed with the tea/coffee/milk and biscuit supplied, along with sachets of shower gel and other goodies too.

I came home feeling well and truly rested!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diddley1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
599 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mayville Guest House
The Mayville Guest House
#75 of 117 in Bridlington
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oakwell Guest House
Oakwell Guest House
#16 of 117 in Bridlington
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#6 of 117 in Bridlington
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#72 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral House

Address: 21 Marshall Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range: $37 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Balmoral House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star comfortable guest house with family, twin, double and single rooms available.All rooms are en-suite and split over 2 floors.A full breakfast is included in the price and special diets are catered for. We are just 300yds from the harbor and close to all shops and amenities.The bus station is just 2 minutes walk away.We also have a lovely residents lounge.A warm welcome awaits at Balmoral Guest House, Bridlington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Balmoral House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balmoral House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing