We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average UK seaside hotel. Below average food. Service?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Bridlington
Ranked #67 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average UK seaside hotel. Below average food. Service?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Thought I would stay here whilst in the area on business a few weeks ago to be by the seaside rather than staying in Leeds or Hull where I would normally go when up here. Can't say it was an experience to repeat. Distinctly average british seaside hotel/guesthouse with below average food. Only stayed for breakfast which was so poor I didn't eat it. Mentioned to the girl on duty about the food being cold but she just kind of shrugged. On checking in despite an initial warm welcome whenever I asked a simple question such as "what time is breakfast" "is there wifi" etc felt like I was causing a major inconvenience. I think unless you are a regular bathing them in compliments they really aren't very interested.Not sure why you would want to be a regular to be honest this place just left me cold!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lydiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hello lydiale

We have tried to contact you numberous times, but we have had no reply.

We have no record of you staying at our guest house.

Perhaps you have posted your review in the wrong location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    48
    25
    12
    15
See reviews for
26
97
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean and tidy with a very good choice of breakfast.

The room I was in no.6 was clean and tidy with a clean bathroom

The shower was just gravity fed and not a power shower.

The hosts, well the female seemed a little grumpy and the welcoming wasn't particularly friendly.

Car parking was poor but that was down to the people that couldn't park properly.

The owners wouldn't open the bar at 10:10pm for a drink they just simply ignored us, which wasn't pleasing.

I would say this place is very clean and tidy with a great breakfast but the hosts need to smile and acknowledge the customers.

Location is good parking is so/so but in all it's very good and better than other guest houses I have stayed at.



  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swampy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

When you arrived at our guest house, we were already busy at the desk checking in some of your party. Group arrivals are always difficult as guests tend to pile in all together. You arrived and launched your golf clubs into our hall. My wife said, ‘I’m sorry, we don’t allow golf club in the building..’ You interrupted grumpily and your partner said ’just let her continue’ we then went on to explain that we have separate secure storage and the reason why we don’t allow clubs in the rooms. We then continue to check in your colleagues. After we had checked you in we assisted with your golf club storage.

You then ask if you could leave your car parked half on the forecourt and completely blocking a public foot path. We said didn’t think that would be a good idea as blocking a public right of way is an offence and we suggested that you parked your car behind one of ours. You then ignored our suggestion and continue to move your car around the forecourt and street. Later on you decided to take our advice and then indeed you did park as we suggested. Car parking is not an issue unless you make it one. Shaftesbury Road is free parking and as we suggested, we can always park in front of our forecourt too.

Regarding our bar….we are always willing to get residents drinks. We just don’t staff the bar as it is not economically viable to do so and that is why there is a bell on the counter with instructions to ring for service. Indeed some of your group were in the bar before you all vacated to go out into town. You did not ring the bell or ask for a drink, so how you can say ‘we would not open the bar’ is so untrue!

Acknowledging customers – ummmm ok, so there is no mention in your comments about the conversations you had with us on your second day ….perhaps your partner may be able to remind you about the one about the wrist watch and the one when she got you to acknowledge that you are always grumpy. My wife congratulated her and said’ well at least you have got him to admit it.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed over a long weekend, the majority over Friday and Saturday (some Thursday and Sunday also).
After reading some of the reviews before it was booked there was some trepidation. Needn't have worried though. The ever smiling Tim, who gave as good as he got (with a group of 18 there are bound to be some personalities) and Fiona, who (both) accommodated our requests. An early breakfast was asked for and declined (we had an early tee off at South Cliff) but were told if we pre-booked the night before, the dining room door would open at 8.15am and our breakfasts would be on our table by 8.16am. Didn't believe it and prepared to nab some fruit before shooting off. All 18 of us were eating a hearty, tasty, wholesome breakfast within 5 minutes. Superb. One guest, who stayed on the Sunday night as well, after a bit of a mix up (by me) was relocated to another (clean) room.
I would not hesitate booking again should we ever be golfing in the area again. All golfers had no complaints and all words said were good.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hello dutchcaps

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased your group enjoyed their golf break with yorkshirecoastgolf at The Royal Bridlington.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Tim & Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went to the royal with a group of 15 on a golf trip, august bank holiday weekend,
I would just like to thank Tim and his wife for a great weekend, lovely hotel the rooms were very clean and no complaints from any one.
The breakfast was excellent loads of choice.
Thank you very much for sorting all the golf out,
Thanks again Tim from all at the the brown cow golf society Horwich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlbrady63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hello Arlbrady63

Thank you for taking to the time to post your review. We are pleased your golf society enjoyed their golf break with yorkshirecoast golf at The Royal Bridlington.

We look forward towe welcoming you back again soon.

Tim & Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned home after spending 9 day at the Royal. As usual the food was very good
and the bed was a bit to comfy, Didnt want to get out of it. Both Tim and Fiona always give you a warm welcome. All the staff are wonderful and Fiona knows all the best places to visit. You really should try the evening meals they are to die for. The bar is well stocked and sometimes cheaper than the pub. Will always go back its like going home but with nothing to do but relax and have a nice time'

Room Tip: All rooms bar one have bath and shower. You wont get this anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Hello benjie2011

Thank you for your lovely review. We are always pleased to welcome you back and look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes

Tim & Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

They bailed us out after a failed booking at Three Tuns in Filey and for that we think brill. When I booked actually on route because of the difficulties they accepted our booking direct. Very good. Did state room was small but I don't think I appreciated how small. Though advertised as a double with modern four poster, room to move round is anticipated. Both of us moving around was difficult. In addition I really did not like that no wash basin in "bathroom" but in main room. No privacy. I think personally the £78 per night was expensive given above. Really the room should have been single. The male management/owner (not sure which), was pleasant and helpful though apart from admission and leaving did not see. Breakfast was good and comprehensive, and efficient service but it would be nice to have a smile and a little conversation. I would stay again, (doubt if they would let me given input), but definitely a different room.

Room Tip: Not the littel four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Janice S

Thank you for your comments.

As you mention, you did book last minute, in fact on the day of arrival and on your journey here. The only room we had left for the weekend was described to you over the phone prior. No further questions were asked on your part, you were happy to book and relieved that someone could help you out as you had been let down by another establishment.

We are not a modern purpose built accommodation. All rooms are different, but all rooms are well above the specifications for a four star guest house as laid out by the AA. And all rooms have been specifically designed with purpose built furniture to give all facilities and as much space as possible. Yes, it would be lovely if we could just expand some walls, but in reality this is not possible. Again if the wash basin could have been located in the bathroom in this room, it would have been.

We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and we are sorry that our waiting staff were not able to chat during service over this very busy weekend.

Regarding value, the one thing many people forget to take into account is 20% VAT. (Some smaller properties are below the threshold and therefore do not charge vat, so this is an unfair playing field) This actually means the price was only £62.40 per night! Outstanding value we think.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, we are however disappointed that, in the main, your comments are about things we can do nothing about.

Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

You could go a long way to beat this hotel.
Scrupulously clean rooms and the service is very good. My Wife and I have now stayed here 5 or six times over the last few years and the quality has remained very good.
We specially like the evening meals which are very very good. The breakfasts too are just what we need with lots of choices.
The hotel is nicely placed just back from the south promenade, so the town centre is not far to walk to. There is a small car park for about 5 or 6 cars but there is plenty of on-street parking if this car park is occupied.
The owners are friendly and welcoming, and the staff are pleasant too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine10, Owner at The Royal Bridlington, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello HarryW
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay and its lovely when couples like yourselves return year after year.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Best wishes
Fiona & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brockton Hotel
The Brockton Hotel
#72 of 118 in Bridlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#48 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seacourt Hotel
The Seacourt Hotel
#64 of 118 in Bridlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swallow Hotel
The Swallow Hotel
#9 of 118 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Bridlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Bridlington

Property: The Royal Bridlington
Address: 1 Shaftesbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Bridlington 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest Accommodation, 18 en-suite bedrooms, located in the beautiful South Beach area. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV, DVD players, CD radio alarm clock, hairdryer, Wifi and most have a sea view. Spacious dining area on the ground floor, with a large dance floor and fully licensed bar, enclosed garden and private parking. Friendly staff and great food. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Bridlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Bridlington Hotel Bridlington
Royal Hotel Bridlington
The Royal Bridlington United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing