We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

A review here refers to the poor service of food in the Marine Bar, located underneath the main Expanse Hotel and overlooking the seafront. Our experience was different. We looked in for lunch in early May. The bar was quite busy but despite that the service of food and drink was second to none. All 5 meals arrived together and piping hot. The Bar Manager was friendly, informal and attentive and the selection of real ales was just great. I will go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musikmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    196
    72
    31
    12
See reviews for
118
254
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Called for a Sunday lunch with family. Ordered 2 x beef roast dinners and 2 x fish and chip dinners at approximately 1.15 pm. The 2 roast dinners arrived at approximately 1.30 pm and by almost 2 pm we were still waiting for the fish and chips. The lunch waiter, Howard, almost 'blew a fuse' when the situation was pointed out to him especially when we also asked for more gravy. His explanation was that they had been very busy. The matter was escalated to the bar manager, Ian, who told us that the food was not in his area of control and invited us to see the owner Mr Wilks. Unfortunately there was no trace of the elusive Mr Wilks.
So away we went, short of both gravy and 2 dinners.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank b31beeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We have just returned from a stay at the hotel, and overall found it to be very comfortable, and not at all shabby as some earlier reviews stated. We had a nice seaview room with a great view over the promenade and sea. There was a very narrow balcony that we could access that had one white plastic chair, but wasn't really suitable for sitting out. The room was very clean, with a cream blanket, not those brown coloured ones that are common in other hotels, with a flat screen TV, but seemed a bit cramped round the bed. I'm not sure if the seaview justified its price supplement of £18 per person, or 50% more than the rooms without a seaview. All the public rooms, the restaurant and lounges and bars faced the seafront, and were very comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent, and the snack menu for lunchtime looked good value. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening because we wanted to try the locally caught fish, which wasn't offered on either the the set menu, or the a la carte menu.
The hotel is within walking distance of the harbour area, there was a nice walk along the cliff top towards Sewerby.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annaWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2008

This was the second time I've stayed at this hotel the first time was ok. On our visit we were put in one of the newly refurbished rooms and I was most impressed, the room was more modern than our previous visit had brand new tv furniture ect.
The bathroom was nice had a shower + bath miles better than the last room.
The food was good as was the service, Me and my fiance thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Old people
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank neil7886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

After escaping the clutches of The Royal Hotel, we relocated to The Expanse - despite the ageing nature of the rooms, they suited our family very well, and kids always like bunk-beds. The family rooms we had were at the back of the hotel, so if you're after a sea-view discuss this with the staff before booking.

All staff were friendly towards the kids, and made our stay pleasant (especially during dinner held in the hotel).

So if you want somewhere relatively anonymous, in contrast to a guest-house for example, then this is a good place to stay.

Recommended.

  • Liked — Great sea-front aspect
  • Disliked — Tired furnishings in the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Balkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I was staying at The Expanse during a business trip to Bridlington which lasted three nights. My initial room was small and slightly musty but the bed was comfortable and the sea view was lovely. However, when I returned to my room on the second day I found all of my belongings had been removed, including from the draws and wardrobe! Reception informed me that they had moved me to another room as my shower had broken. Would have been nice to have been warned rather than thinking I'd been robbed! My second room was cramped and smelt decidedly worse!

Overall the service was pretty poor, most breakfast staff were more concerned with their own conversations than serving and the reception staff could have cracked a smile once in a while! Food was good though.

Overall not a great experience and I still have not heard anything about the pyjamas that were lost in the 'move'!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank queenlulu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Chose the Expanse because it is the probably the best known Hotel in Brid.

I am afraid it is a wee bit shabby, and has lost a lot of its former glory.

However the food was good and the service excellent, it was a pity that our room smelt of urine !!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shabby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
220 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
373 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
433 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing