We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fasioned charm”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old Fasioned charm”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely stay in this traditional hotel. Loved the amazing sea view from single room 18. Clean and well equiped room, bed was really comfy. Staff very friendly, breakfast excellant, no waiting and staff very attentive.
Iwas there for a concert at the Spa and it was a brisk 30minute walk away. Iwould definately be going back. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Single rm 18, lovely sea view and straight out of the lift into room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 707Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
So very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we lived up to your expectations. We constantly try to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable stay with us, and as a result each winter we spend a lot of time and money updating and improving our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    196
    72
    31
    12
See reviews for
118
253
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I was staying in Bridlington for a couple of weeks for work. I was booked in to the expanse. I had been warned it's a but dated and could be hit and miss.

My stay was definitely hit. My room was one of the basic rooms at the back of the hotel. The room was large and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the room was well equipped. Would have been nice to have sea view but can't really complain as I wasn't paying the bill!

The decor is a little tired and dated. Although some of it seems to have come back into fashion!

Things seem to be geared towards the older market. 1940s music in the dining room and a hire list of bed and bath hoists in the info book are a giveaway! But I can't blame them really, Bridlington seems to be suffering a decline like most seaside towns and if the older generation are the ones still coming it makes sense to gear things towards them!

Breakfast was very good. Well cooked and a good variety. Nice not to have freshly cooked rather than "kept warm buffet" like in a lot of hotels these days.

Dinner was excellent and can highly recommend it.

I can honestly say I enjoyed my stay at the expanse. If I have to visit Bridlington again I will definitely stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank william d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We try to cater for all ages young as well as old. However we do think that elderly people appreciate little extras that they couldn’t have in other hotels. We also have a selection of mobility scooters for hire as well as bath hoists etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you are looking for the best of both worlds, a self catering appartment with the benefits of a Hotel. Then you are in for a treat in the Sand Caste.
The Apt itself is fantastic with a high spec finish. Masive living room, kithchen with everything you need. Two very well apointed bedrooms with very comfy beds.
The staff are very helpfull, the manager even came to help when we had a central heating problem, all sorted with good speed and no fuss.
We will be back again and again.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilkoSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are now working on our sixth apartment, The Secret Garden. It has a ground floor position with French windows onto a lovely decking area. We have also tried to make it disabled friendly. It has direct access to both the hotel and its own entrance from the car park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Lovely hotel right next to the sea with amazing views.
Good service amazing big room and huge bed
Nice and clean and warm
Staff very friendly and helpful
Good location
Breakfast and dinner lovley plenty of choice

Room Tip: no fitness centre or pool sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Lovely to hear that you so enjoyed your stay. It is unlikely that we will ever build a pool or fitness centre, the hotel is too tight to its site. But the North sea outside welcomes the brave swimmer, while the cliff top walks nearby are perfect for running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, single room with sea view! Perfect! Got a special deal from hotel rather than web sites. Room satisfactory for me with wonderful views over the tempestuous sea.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty to eat and........Gluten free bread!!
Bathroom very big just one little remark the shower was adequate could do with a little extra pressure but nothing to stop me from requesting the same room next time and there will be a next time!! Staff wonderful nothing too much trouble. Yes carpets could do with replacing but the place is real art deco style love the mirror on the 2nd floor!!!! Thank you Expanse Hotel and Bridlington I will be back.

Room Tip: I had room 34 a single sea view on the 3rd floor wonderful views to sewerby and beyond!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oshofan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. There will be new carpet on the First Floor as the finishing touch taking it back to Art Deco style. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Expanse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner this January. The hotel has a family feel to it, staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in a sea view room which had lovely views over Bridlington Bay and Flamborough Head. Some of the hotel is in the process of redecoration but I would imagine that this is an on going process as this is a large hotel. We are hoping to return again with family members this summer to take advantage of the closeness of the beach and other attractions.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are so pleased that your stay was all you expected and look forward to welcoming youi again to the Expanse.
We have now completed remodelling of 7 bathrooms, six of which have been extended to take both walk-in shower and full bath and redecorating and recarpeting a landing. We try to keep improving the Expanse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Typical between-the-wars seaside hotel which is really the only one of its type in town.Has good range of facilities ,,,,bar with bar meals,restaurant,lounges etc.,,,,none of which are outstanding but all are functional. Rooms can be quite small

Room Tip: Sea view.No pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starlightWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We have been doing a lot of refurbishment this year. We have rebuilt 8 bathrooms this winter, 7 of which have been extended to provide wall-in showers as well as full baths. Hopefully when you next visit you will see an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
220 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
373 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
433 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing