We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location. Enjoyable stay”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location. Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I booked the hotel via a hotel comparison site and obtained what I thought was a competitive price for a hotel of this ilk. The purpose of the visit was a family party and we found the whole experience very pleasant despite concerns raised from my parents who had stayed here previously . The room we had was number 9 and if the same room could be reserved via a comparison website I would not delay booking this hotel again. Very spacious. Balcony overlooking the beach. Superb. The food was of a decent standard at the party and although not on the menu the staff accommodated cheese and biscuits rather than sweet puddings available. I have absolutely no complaints but fear we may have been lucky and that all rooms are not of the same standard. However this is merely hearsay as my own personal experience was thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akilgallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us We consider that we are fortunate that our staff are friendly and accommodating. We can take no credit for the wonderful seaviews from you window, that's our location. We are an independent , not chain, hotel with each of our bedrooms being different. We are constantly refurbishing, so at any given time there will be some rooms more uptodate than others. Our prices at the time of booking are always as good as, or better than, on the major national sites. If you book direct we can always make sure that you get the room that you want. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    201
    75
    31
    13
See reviews for
119
263
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beeston, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My Mum lives in Bridlington and has used The Expanse as a venue before for special events. The weekend in question was to celebrate my Mum's 90th Birthday. I was in charge of arranging the whole event and had excellent service from the staff in assisting me with the booking, This was to be a meal for 54 people.
Several of us had booked to stay overnight. On arrival I was able to get into my room early and the main member of staff ( Chelsea ) for my Mum's do was on hand to discuss things.
I have heard nothing but praise from my immediate family who stayed overnight ( 5 double rooms ). The whole evening was a huge success with many comments giving praise from the guests both on the night and in subsequent letters.
The breakfast on the Sunday was very good with plenty of choice. And may I point out that the same staff were on hand to assist.
The whole event was superb ! Lovely food, very helpful staff, great atmosphere. No request met with anything other than helpfullness !
I will definitely be back !
Many thanks to all concerned

Room Tip: Sea view some have a small balcony too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that your mum's 90th went so well. Please wish your mum many more big birthdays to come. We hope to see you asgain at the Expanse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Myself, my mum and my 2 sons were booked in for Sunday lunch. Both my mum and various members of my family are regular visitors to the Expanse and stay regularly. Firstly the service was great and the staff were very helpful. The food was lovely and all plates were cleared. Its great because you can choose from just a single course up to 3 courses which suited all 4 of us.

The quality of food was fantastic as was the variety and choice. My mum is very bad on her feet an unable to walk any great distance and we asked a couple of members of staff that my mum knew if there was anywhere in the town where we could hire a wheelchair from. After a few enquiries we were told because of the time of year the hotel was fairly quiet and allowed us to hire a wheelchair directly from them, even though we weren't stopping there.

We would like to thank Chelsea and Stephen for all there kindness which made our holiday complete.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your meal and that our staff were helpful and understanding towards your mum. We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I planned to meet for the weekend in Bridlington, as they live in Hartlepool and we live in Staffordshire it seemed a good location to meet. I was a little dubious about staying at the Expanse after reading some poor review about the staff and quality of the rooms. However, our friends had already booked at the Expanse so we decided to go along with them.
Was it as good or as bad as the reviews that I had read?
well, let's start with the reception: the receptionist on arrival was perfectly amiable and very helpful. The restaurant: we only had the included breakfast here and on the first morning we all had the full English which I must say was excellent. there was plenty of tea, coffee and toast delivered to the table. My wife thought that the bacon could have done with a little more cooking but, you will never please everyone. The staff were very polite, happy and helpful.
The Rooms: Dirty? Tired? in need of a refurb? Not a chance! Our room was fantastic with a balcony and sea view. Everything was clean and tidy and the maids were in every day. The bathroom was modern and spotless. Our friends room was equally as nice but no sea view.
Downstairs there were a couple of day rooms which were quiet, comfortable and warm should you wish to use them. The Marine bar is on the ground floor and although it is open to the public was fantastic. Serving real ale was a huge bonus for me as I don't do lager. The food in the bar was very nice and reasonably priced. The staff here were also cheerful and pleasant.
So Mr manager what do you need to do? Take no notice of the moaners you will get them everywhere and they will never be happy. Keep running your hotel the way it is it's great and so are your staff. Would we stay there again? You bet! Oh! The free wi fi was terrific.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teggauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. It can be so much more effort to write a positive review, than to put off until there is something to complain about. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and also the Marine Bar. It is usually the staff, not the fixtures, that make a hotel. Pleased to hear that we have achieved this. We hope to see you all in the future, don't forget that you will always get the best rate if you book direct with us rather than through another site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Expanse was the chosen venue for a family event and as such, a number of us selected to stay there for sheer convenience and the compelling location. I found certain staff members to be lovely - warm, hard-working and caring. Kudos to Chelsea. Others were almost the opposite. A member of the reception staff did not even speak when spoken to!
The rooms varied a lot. Number 3 was lovely but mine 14A was shabby. Unclean, tired and no way worth the amount I paid! Quite why we paid such fluctuating amounts is also questionable. The hair dryer had no nozzle (someone managed to locate one but seemed aggrieved to have to do so), the shower curtain was hanging off, there was hair (not mine!) on the tiles...
I travel a lot and have stayed in places far better and far worse. Proportionately priced. This was off the scale of disproportion. V disappointed.
I must however commend the event planning as the evening was exactly as my Grandmother wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickygorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Location Location wherever you travel throughout the world you pay extra for a beautiful view. What better panorama than Bridlington Bay with miles of sandy beaches and a sea that changes colour every day.
Your friends had a side view therefore the room was cheaper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The 1st thing I always do is appraise the cleanliness of a hotel room, and this did past muster no problem. The bathroom was spotless. The fixtures / furnishings are probably passed their mid point through life but functional and adequate, I wasn't paying for or expecting a new hotel room. The decoration in the corridors was recent and modern, some work ongoing, its obvious they are investing. Bed was good, a sold nights sleep. The service and friendliness of the restaurant staff was very good, and the food and menu choice was good. Its an interesting place for people watching, with all sorts of guests coming and going, including to functions held their. Good location and Bridlington was a pleasant surprise, much nicer than places like Skegness.

Quaint english charm,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are very pleased that the Expanse fully met your expectations and especially that you found English charm, as well as friendly service. The Expanse is perfect for people watching, we attract a wide spectrum of guests, whilst the view of the sea and beach are unbeatable. We are an independent hotel, so we are constantly refurbishing but this takes time and rooms to vary, once we have "finished" it is time to start again ! We hope to welcome you back to the Expanse and to Bridlington again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West calder
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent 2 nights on business at this hotel, the evening meals and breakfasts were excellent, the staff very friendly. I was in room 25 which had a side view of the sea but was a bit run down, needed refurbishment. The room was cleaned and linen changed, quiet and a good nights sleep was had. One downside was it was difficult to park as the parking restrictions on the prom started at 8-00 am.

Room Tip: If you are fussy ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Every one of our rooms is different, most of our guests like that, but it also means that we are often asked for a specific room. Room 36 is similar to Room 25 but we think that you would prefer it. Refurbishment is ongoing throughout the hotel, however it takes some years, at the end of which it is time to start again ! . Thank you for your helpful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
225 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,843 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
452 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 118 in Bridlington
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 118 in Bridlington
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Property: Expanse Hotel
Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing