We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfers Weekend”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here two years ago and are going back this August for another golfing weekend. The trouble with some people is that they expect five star facilities for three star prices... this hotel is clean, well organised and perfectly adequate.. however it is a three star... so don't moan about the lift being too small or elect to pay more and stay at the Ritz.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves.
We do not pretend to be anything other than a good sea-side hotel, where the people are just as important as the facilities. This is what the vast majority of our guests want and is why they continue to return.
We are constantlyupgrading and refurbishing the Expanse and aim to provide honest value and friendliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 615 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

The important thing to remember about this hotel is that it is three star accommodation, do not expect anymore from the decor or general upkeep, but what sets it apart from others in the same category is its location and staff.
Situated right on the sea front at the quiet end of Bridlington, a sea view room will not disappoint. However, if your budget does not stretch to a front of house room, be assured the rooms at the back, although being shaded in the morning, look over a good residential neighborhood.
Although the reception staff could be a little more welcoming, do not be put off by this, as those working in the restaurant are courteous and helpful. The food is of an excellent standard and breakfast will not disappoint.
Although we did not meet the chambermaids during our visit, our room was spotless on arrival and cleaned to the same standard each day, although the toilet paper is rather cheap and the towels have seen better days.
I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in the area, but ask for a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are please that you have enjoyed you stay with us.
we aim to exceed expectations, but have never pretended to be a 5 star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful three night stay at The Expanse Hotel. We were extremely impressed by the warm welcome, the setting, the room, the service and the food. It is a clean, comfortable, simple and good honest Yorkshire Hotel! But what really sets this Hotel apart from its competitors is its brilliant position; with stunning sea views. The Hotel is about a ten minute walk to the harbour and the beach is just across the road.
We stayed in a room with brilliant sea views and all the facilities you would need. The bathroom was large and spacious and we had fresh towels replaced daily. The room itself was clean and light with a large flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Although our room was at the front of the hotel, it was very quiet at night, even with our windows open.
And so to breakfast… the dining room is welcoming and bright, with views overlooking the beach. Plenty of choice, well presented and a friendly service. One evening we went to the pub attached (The Marine Bar); a friendly environment and pleasant atmosphere with charming and quaint beach decor.
We showed an interest in the self-catering rooms and were very kindly shown around; I can only imagine they would be the perfect place to stay during summer, for those who like a little more privacy.
All in all, a brilliant stay and we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rooster79806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our position is perfect and we pride ourselves on our staff and attention. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed one night. Terrific sea view from fourth floor room and free wi-fi. Breakfast was fine with adequate service. The room is in need of a re-furb. The overall experience was not bad, just a bit depressing due to the tiredness of the surroundings and the feeling that this is a hotel in decline.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We are glad you enjoy the fantastic view, the wi-fi and breakfast. We were full that night, as often, I can not see in the circumstances how the hoetl was either in decline or weary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

we stayed for the weekend, on a deal, 2 nights with dinner on first night and breakfast each morning. we are 4 girls and had 2 rooms, all was ok on arrival, lift very small, only fits 3 people in, less if you have luggage. Our room was smaller of the 2 having 2 single beds, flat screen tv, heater, trouser press, iron and board, radio, tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. The beds however did feel like hospital beds and were a little hard but wasn't too much of an issue for us and our shower wasn't the best, it trickled out very slowly making it hard to wash hair or wash properly, but it was hot so wasnt that bad, plenty of towels and toilet roll.
We booked in for dinner, having 3 course meal included we took advantage, the food was well presented, and tasted lovely, with a great selection of dishes, and the service was brilliant, our waiter was very helpful and kind.
there is a bar connected to the hotel called marine bar i think, we headed to that for drinks after dinner, it was a little more relaxed than the restaurant.
The hotel is situated on the seafront and about 10 min walk to the harbor along the seafront.

Apart from the shower, our only other issues was the night porter was a little rude to us when we came in and on our second night we couldn't get any food/snack at 9pm, the receptionist said she was too busy, even tho in our room we had a room service menu, we only wanted cheese and biscuits, we were only offered crisps at 70p each.

For what we paid it was a bargain and i would go again at that price. but we went on a kgb deal so was cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammiexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us and we hope that you wuill return in the not too distant future. It is aways nice to hear that we are geting things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just spent two nights at Expanse Hotel, Bridlington.
First time in Bridlington, really impressed by the cleanliness, vast promenade,shops,friendly atmosphere. The Expasnse Hotel was perfectly situated for us. A bracing 10 min walk into the harbour and centre. Located directly opposite the sea, food was excellent, fresh fish for breakfast and lots of choice. Fine dining for evening meal with a good selection and excellent service. Overall a very enjoyable two night break, would stay here again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 23 was large, light, sea facing supplement of £10 per night was well worth it for a splendid se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianadelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We are so please that you enjoyed you stay with us. As a hotel by the sea we pride ourselves on the quality of our fish. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at the Expanse for a family holiday. Grandparents stayed in the hotel and we stayed in a self catering apartment. It was the best of both worlds. Freedom for us and luxury for my parents. We joined them for a fabulous family meal one night in the restaurant and then we all went to the Marine Bar for a more casual meal the second night. Both menus suited everybody and were extremely good value.

We were made to feel welcome from start to finish. It was a brilliant holiday and we will definitely go back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melaniewhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We are please that your family enjoyed yourselves, we hope to see you again in Bridlington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
241 reviews
9 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
444 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
15.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range: $105 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing