We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expanse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2007

we have stayed at this hotel many times.
the position and views from bedrooms and balconies are
superb.The breakfasts and dinner ,in the seaview dining room,
are very good.Price ,compared with others,is extremley competative.we will stay again ,whenever in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank keith_met
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 594 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2007

We just had one night B&B at a cost of £106 in May. We thought we'd push the boat out and expected something a bit special for that price. At half the price we would have been delighted.

Good points - Superb sea view, quiet location, easy street parking, good breakfast (except that the butter had been put out too early and was runny due to the heat (see later))

Bad points - small lift, most rooms far too hot, cheap furnishings and decor.

We'll be going back to the Red Lea in Scarborough for £78!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

Weekend away with the kids. Decided to stay in the Expansive Hotel after reading reviews on this site and we wern't disappointed. Great food and relaxing enviroment and great location, friendly staff, room may need updating but it doesn't matter with the attention to cleanliness and the view from the window. Flamborough Head and Bempton Cliffs are a must visit.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mjtManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

We were booked in for an overnight stay following a function. First impressions of the reception area were not good, a bit small and tatty and a small cabinet of soft toys (ugh) on display. The receptionist was perfunctionary in her duties but not welcoming and no smiles. My husband was asked to complete a form but as he did not have his reading glasses on and there was no where to rest we do not have a clue what was on there. We were not asked if we wanted a newspaper for example.

The lift is very small so we took the stairs which were in definite need of a good clean. Fearing the worst we were pleasantly surprised by the room which was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The view was an amazing panoramic outlook to sea. A bit disappointed to find the double glazing only opened at the top but there are rooms with balconies so I would book one of these next time.

The bathroom was exceptionally clean and although I applaud the approach to using the towels (see photo) why on earth stick it up with tatty sellotape.

The hotel still allows smoking in certain rooms and I was not asked at the time of booking if I wanted a non smoking room. Still this problem will be sorted in July but it is a point to remember if like us you cannot bear the smell of the weed!

The evening meal at our function was nicely served and very hot. The food is not exciting, but more like good home cooking. However the wine is an very expensive I think at around £20 for the cheapest bottle.

We loved the fact you could hear the waves on the shore at night and suffered only minor disturbance from taxis etc from other guests leaving the function which is to be expected at these sort of hotels.

We were looking forward to breakfast...however the sun was shining so brilliantly all the curtains had been drawn, so no view, and the room was very hot. The tables were very cramped as well. However the breakfast is all cooked to order on blisteringly hot plates (kedgeree is on the menu too). OJ was ordinary though but delighted to see real butter pats and proper marmalade in a dish.

We think this hotel is trying very hard and in the most part exceeding expectation, all our comments are quite minor. I would recommend this hotel for a short break and families.


Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank Ladysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheExpanseHotel, Head Receptionist at Expanse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2007

Thank you for your comments, but please may i state that bottles of wine start from £12.90. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

If you expect the Expanse to be like the range of nice but faceless 2, 3 or 4 star hotels many of us stay in for business or pleasure, forget it. If you expect rough, ready and a bit tacky - forget that, too. The Expanse has real character and in some aspects is superior to most UK hotels we have stayed in. For example, the food matches any we've had elsewhere in UK hotels, and beats most.
The Expanse is not perfect, but what hotel is? Some of the rooms are dated and the fittings could do with an upgrade. The lift is tiny and reception can be a little slow and disorganised. The heating system is not great in winter and the rear rooms do not all have a great outlook. However, the hotel is clean, and comfortable and every effort is made to make your stay relaxing. It is worth booking a seaview room as there are great views and the soporific sound of the waves breaking on the beach to help you relax. The staff are welcoming, friendly and attentive. The owners eat in the restaurant with the guests and why wouldn't they? The food is superb - not fancy, just excellent quality and prepared with obvious skill and attention to detail. The waiting staff are good humoured and skilled in silver service and have a good rapport with the kitchen staff, evidenced by the jollity that emanates from the kitchen and servery at meal times. After the meal, a coffee served in the oak panelled lounge with a sea view is a treat to be savoured.
The Expanse is not a stuffy place. We found it to be relaxed and warm in atmosphere and refreshingly unlike most other hotels in which we have stayed. Certainly there is a place for the multi nationals and boutique hotels, but Bridlington is not that place. To stay or to eat at the Expanse is to experience a hotel almost at the top of its form today, but with its roots in the hotel hey days of 1930s when the family who still own and manage it had it built.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Bridlington: old, young, single, with or without children. You will not be disappointed as long as you are prepared to experience the Expanse, not just stay there and go. We have stayed here a lot over the last ten years and have always enjoyed the experience. Changes in the hotel trade mean that places like this may not survive for much longer. Experience it while you can.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank PL1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Great service, friendly staff, as good an english breakfast you will find anywhere. Superb seafront location. Easy to walk to Sewerby Hall and flamborough locations. Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank amartinwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
223
Reviewed November 14, 2005

A Proper English Seaside Hotel. My room, a small single had a balcony I could sit on and enjoy the brilliant see view.
Staff were friendly and very helpful.I only ate there for breakfast, but this was always served quickly and was delicious. The Fynan haddock wes nothing short of excellent.This is not your monolithic chain hotel but a lovely privately run establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 117 in Bridlington
483 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#6 of 117 in Bridlington
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#25 of 117 in Bridlington
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Seafront
Pembroke Seafront
#72 of 117 in Bridlington
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Revelstoke Hotel
Revelstoke Hotel
#32 of 117 in Bridlington
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range: $91 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing