We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish and chips!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Busy Bees Restaurant & Takeaway

Busy Bees Restaurant & Takeaway
Ranked #44 of 195 Restaurants in Bridlington
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went here as we were in Bridlington and wanted some food before a concert. Stumbled across this fish and chip restaurant and what a lucky surprise.
The food was excellent. The chips were crisp and fresh, but not as fresh as the haddock in a great batter.

Helpful?
Thank shilstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    44
    20
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food and good view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is where we eat when we visit Bridlington, it is good value and we have never been disappointed. The restaurant is spacious and has fine views of the bay and the service is always friendly. The chips are "proper" chips and the fish and batter excellent, It is good to have somewhere to eat that is as reliable as this

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnjen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish n Chips ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visit the takeaway and the Cod and chips were fantastic. Snowing hevens high but was cooked to order and well worth the wait. He usues a different brand of potatoe which is crisp on the outside fluffy on the in. If visiting well worth a go you will be amazed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teessidesharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good value, good quality and friendly helpful service. We popped in on a very cold day in January, we were offered specials and then told we would be welcome to have a 'senior' special as we thought a full one would be too big for a lunch - we aren't seniors but that was fine and the portion size was just right. Fish was very fresh, and everything freshly cooked. Our only gripe was the radio pop, but then we've never really liked mainstream toons.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverleybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not fresh but still the best in brid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I Remember eating here with my grandma some 20 years ago and I have not found a better fish n chips in brid since (other than the other busy bees which is just as good). That's not to say however that's its the best chippy on the east coast, just the best in brid. The food scores a 4. It lacks a freshness that you cannot get from frozen fish (see previous review) but the value, service and atmosphere bumps overall to a 5. A message for 'Mr Bee' -If the reason for using frozen haddock is price then I ask that you have an option of local sourced fish as I would happily pay more.
Still, I thoroughly enjoyed my visit today, a trip to brid would not be the same without a busy bee's.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peter-vencman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busy Bees Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Busy Bees Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing