We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant customer service”
Review of Prior John

Prior John
Ranked #21 of 39 Quick Bites in Bridlington
Cuisines: Indian, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: We are a friendly local pub in the town centre offering a wide array of cask ales and a widely varied food menu. We seat over two floors as well as having ouside dining available in the beer garden.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in on 25 and 26 sept,the service was good,very polite and helpful staff,not forgetting the excellent quality and price of the guest ales.There was a choice of 6 and the ones i had were spot on.I was on holiday in scarborough and also came here in august last year.
Noticed that most of the staff were the same which is also a good sign.
Nearly entered the kitchen,the extension upstairs including the new gents toilets.which is palacial,large ,spacious,and spotless.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank john w h j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very poor service. Brought chicken strip starter instead of meal even though waiter confirmed order. Apologised & went to replace only to come back & ask for 20p as this was difference in price even though error their fault. Paid this as husband already half way through his meal. Mine arrived without the coleslaw only to be told they don’t do this anymore. Did nt get my 20p back. Have complained to Wetherspoons but not had decency of a reply yet. Won’t be returning anytime soon.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank smokiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As usual, Wetherspoon's have found two good old buildings, and restored them sympathetically into an excellent pub. It is beautifully finished but would benefit from some more comfortable seating. If you want to sit for any length of time, it is very bum numbing. Food and drink are the usual suspects. I do think that their new app ordering is a great idea. You just fill in your table number, choose what you want, add your email address for a receipt and make your payment. Hey presto, your food and drink arrive in a jiffy. What more could you ask for. As usual, the prices fit your pocket better than most other places.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank holidaymanWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Walked into to see a queue at the bar but as I sat down ready to use the app the three staff behind the bar cleared the waiting customers. I ordered and was told my breakfast wouldn't be long but with past experience of other Spoons I sat down with a book. However my meal arrived promptly and I was served by a really friendly lady. Yes the pub is full of old people though this is Brid but this spoons seems a good one.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ianf911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is typical Weatherspoon. You know what you are going to get.
It was very busy on our visit. We had a burger and Scampi, both of which were of a good standard and reasonably priced. The staff were very busy but the people who served me were polite and friendly.
This pub was not bad at all and just what you expect.
Don't hesitate to visit and eat.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SkegnessBiggerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prior John also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Prior John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing