We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second disappointing cancellation!”
Review of Ellie Maes Bistro - CLOSED

Ellie Maes Bistro
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yorkshire, GB
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Second disappointing cancellation!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Previously I have written very positive reviews of Ellie Mae's. Earlier this week I phoned and made a booking for dinner this evening (Friday). Today I received a phone call cancelling tonight's reservation. This is the second time this has happened citing 'personal problems'. I don't think we shall be returning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tumbleYorkshire_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elliemae5557, Owner at Ellie Maes Bistro, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We at Ellie Maes are sorry you were dissappointed that we had to cancel your booking last friday night our sincere apologises for this.Our personnal reasons for this was that we are still trying to come to terms with the sudden death of our daughter in december and we find that certain days linked to anniversaries and birthdays are especially hard for us .Our daughter also worked for us so she is missed by all our staff and customers who knew her very well.Coming to terms with this loss is very hard and we have tried very hard not to let our emotions affect our buisness.We do hope we see you again your comments are always welcome again our apologies for last friday .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always satisfied at Ellie Mae`s.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We always book here for that special meal, even when its not the staff always make it special.
The food is always excellent, never had to complain about anything nor even moan to ourselves. The service is second to none and the staff friendly, courteous and cater to your every whim or desire. The small size of the restaurant only adds to the warm cozy atmosphere every time we visit. I wish there were more places like this to eat in Bridlington, but then again I would still insist on going to Ellie Mae`s.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G-M-Spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had the Valentines day menu. Ellie-Maes managed to fit us in without a reservation on a very busy night. The food was excellent as was the service. Very friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Thanks again to you all at Ellie-Maes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“book for evening meals, cosy”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

really enjoyable meal, great company, and a truly snugg wonderful memories as not the biggest of places but cosy and friendly, great service and stunning food thank you.x

Helpful?
Thank lainteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“christmas meal was booked there one year”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

really enjoyable meal, great company, and a truly snugg wonderful memories as not the biggest of places but cosy and friendly, great service and stunning food thank you.x

Helpful?
Thank lainteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellie Maes Bistro also viewed

Bempton, Bridlington
Flamborough, Bridlington
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing