We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springtime Variety Show”
Review of Bridlington Spa

Bridlington Spa
Ranked #9 of 52 things to do in Bridlington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bridlington Spa is a theatre, ballroom, art gallery and conference centre located on the south bay of Bridlington. Originally built in 1896, the building has undergone four rebuilds/refurbishments over the years; the latest being a £20M refurbishment between 2006 and 2008. The venue features a huge Art Deco Ballroom, Edwardian proscenium-arched theatre with flytower, art gallery displaying local artists' work and a cafe benefiting from panoramic views across the beach and sea. You can see as far as Withernsea on a clear day. The venue is home to touring musicals on the Yorkshire Coast, is known for producing it's own theatre and repertory season and is often used by top names in the music industry to launch arena tours. The venue's programme features in excess of 400 entertainment shows each year as well as more than 350 business events. Bridlington Spa is open every day of the year with the exception of Christmas Day.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Springtime Variety Show”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to the Spa in a party for the Springtime Variety Show with lunch beforehand.
I give it an excellent review, but sadly have to mention some minus points
The lunch was billed as carvery, when taking our place at table it was obvious that a carvery would not be possible due to numbers, out came a plated meal which was excellent, plenty of turkey and a great sellection of veg, piping hot and very tasty, but why not tell us it was going to be a no choice meal of turkey, one of our party does not like foul, surely he could have been offered an alternative. We had a drink before our meal, pints in plastic glasses, very difficult to drink from, even plastic tumblers for the water from a GLASS jug, what a shame they took the edge of the meal with this penny pinching.
On to the show, what a great show it was, four young guys who sung and danced their hearts out to a very appreciative audience, the compere/comedian was brillient, he set his performance to the audience in the theatre, very funny without being smutty, the afternoon went by so quick by the very fact that the show was fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    139
    39
    17
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great working atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I worked their for a brief 9 months in 2009. Everyone who works in the building is friendly. Everyone will talk to you, from the cleaners right up to the managers. There is a warm community feel to the building. I would recommend anyone to work there. I hope it goes from strength to strength!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColinLep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
1 review
“Poor food”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Last year we had lunch at the spa cafe twice a week always enjoying a salad with a pot of tea and small piece of shortbread,convenient as we are local ,today we decided to have lunch at the spa the first time since Christmas and it was so disappointing,no little piece of shortbread anymore and the tea isn't cheap.
We ordered two turkey salads the turkey was bone dry we bought it home for the dog she thought the same turning her nose up at it,the salad was lifeless and not a lot of it there was no coleslaw and the bread roll was not fully cooked just like part baked bread.on the wall in the cafe there is a notice telling to fill in a satisfaction form,upon asking for said form was told they had run out of forms.we will not be returning to the spa. I give it 2 out of five because the cup of tea was nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 26Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
705 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Restored and Ready to Impress”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was my first visit to The Spa since it was renovated and restored. They have made a great job of it.

A variety of attractions awaits the visitor - theatre shows, music/concerts, cinemas, coffee shop, bars etc. We had a coffee in the lovely coffee shop that has a circular, panoramic, floor to ceiling window, offering unobstructed views of the sea front from the Harbour to the north round to South Marine Drive to the south. A great view to enjoy whilst relaxing with a drink and light bite.

The list of upcoming events that are showing in the theatre is extensive and varied. I would certainly happily come to The Spa for a future show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Kaiser Chiefs are go!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

First time at this venue and would certainly go again. The spa was full of character tht has recently been refurbished, apparently.
Only problem was a yobbish woman who kept pushing our friend.

Helpful?
Thank shilstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa_Management_Team, General Manager at Bridlington Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi shilstar

Thanks for your review. I'm absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the Kaiser Chiefs concert. People often remark about the character of the building - especially the glass dome in the Royal Hall. They also comment on the intimate nature of gigs here despite there being 3,800 people in the audience.

On the subject of the 'yobbish woman' and for future reference, we have a minimum of 32 security personnel, up to 40 staff members and three members of the senior management team, including me, at all events of this magnitude. We do not tolerate anti-social behaviour of any kind. If this should occur again at a future event please have a quiet word with a member of staff or security and they will ensure that the person acting inappropriately is asked to calm down - without causing any embarrassment to you, the person who brought it to our attention.

Our aim is provide superb and memorable events and experiences for our customers to enjoy whilst keeping them safe and happy in our company.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridlington Spa also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Bridlington Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing