We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the moment holiday”
Review of Sewerby Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sewerby Grange
Ranked #90 of 118 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Durkar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment holiday”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We decided to stay on the east coast so that we could meet up with other members of the family. The Sewerby Grange Hotel is a beautiful gothic building, with a welcoming entrance hall. Amanda was there to greet us when we arrived and she showed us to Room 2, a spacious room at the front of the house. The bedroom and large shower room were spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the house. I think the massive bed is the most comfortabe one I have ever slept in.

The breakfast menu is extensive and was well cooked. The porridge was definitely a winner. We had all our evening meals in the bistro, where we were joined by the rest of our family - 2 adults and two children - and we could not have had better service anywhere. The children (a 5 year old and a twelve year old) were particularly well looked after. The meals are very generous and cooked to individual taste. Unfortunately we were all too full to try the puddings. Perhaps next time.

Sewerby Grange is well placed for visits to Sewerby Park and Bridlington. We enjoyed walks along the cliff tops and through Sewerby village and some of us even went down the 150 steps to the beach.

We were very well looked after by Amanda and everyone else at Sewerby Grange and hope to make a return visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themixDurkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in this small hotel for two nights, and cannot wait to go back. Our room was lovely, with the most comfortable bed ever. there was a fridge in the room full of beer, it would have been nice to have some water, fresh milk and maybe a couple of bottles of wine as there are no shops in the village. The breakfast was great, staff lovely and friendly, a great find.

Room Tip: Room 3 large spacious with view of the garden and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Amanda and her husband made sure that my mother and her twin sister had a 90th Birthday party to remember! Nothing was too much trouble for them even with my many e-mails before the event! They and their staff were fabulous - very professional, super friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Amanda even gave us a lift back home at the end of the evening! Having 32 guests to accommodate, everything went swimmingly. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The room was beautifully decorated and made it feel like a real celebration. I would highly recommend anyone to try out Sewerby Grange. You won't be dissappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

You`d think going to an 19th century gothic style Hotel restaurant that you would be greeted with a decor to an opulence of that era. Not so, the decor is quite plain the furniture modern basic and a bar stuck in a corner looks like it came from MFI. Not even any grand paintings or mirrors to adorn the walls. The staff while as polite and helpfully efficient as they can be lacked a distinct dress code to differentiate them from any casually dressed guest. While not wanting to detract from the quality of food on offer I do believe that a restaurant with a degree of atmosphere would fare better than that of a local pub or cafe. We a party of ten were seated in the waiting area when a lady came and took our orders but failed to take the tenth. it was ten minutes before we saw another member of staff to tell her of the mistake. Once seated the food was excellent and a fair price. Service as said was also good. One dissapointment, there was no lager available at the time of our visit. Overall a good meal but in my opinion the decor, while clean and fresh could do with that bit of opulence to give it some atmosphere the building requires.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G-M-Spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The room was ok a bit dated with single glaze sash windows so in winter very drafty. The bathroom was very tight fitted as has been an added extra. all very clean and the radiators were blasting out full on heat so it wasn't cold. At this time of year it always will be bleak in Bridlinton that is what the East coast is like, I have full on family experience of this as my grandparents lived in Sewerby my Dad lives in Old Town Brid and my Auntie lives in Bempton so believe me I know all about the seasons and what to expect. Really though, the place has now become tired over the last 55 years of visiting the main places, they all now look in need of repair and almost appear to be dirty, this is what this hotel is like, its seen better days and there is work to be done to make it look tip top. The staff were lovely and the food was alright, the breakfast was perfect we really enjoyed the food although the slot from 8:30 - 9:00 is a short window it is usually at least up to an hour so I would suggest up to 9:30 would have been a little more relaxing.All ok here we were warm, safe and fed, although there was no bar at night so we had to walk to the local pub. But I am suspecting this was because it was February. It is better than the Expanse so I would recommend this place by far.

Enjoy

Night night xxxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toffeeyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the road, Sewerby Grange appeared delightful. We were not disappointed. Crisp, clean rooms afforded a glimpse of the formidable North Sea and an easy walk along the cliffs. Modern and pleasant bathrooms were a bonus, considering the age of the building. Our welcoming hosts, Daren and Amanda, run a well-organised and friendly establishment. Daren, the owner-chef offers a copious menu that includes locally sourced food cooked and served with flair. Puddings were equally appealing and provided a delicious end to a sumptuous meal. Overall, an enjoyable and comfortable sea-side experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our two night stay was long enough, on our arrival we rang the bell for attendence, pleasant young man appeared wearing some very stained track suit bottoms (not how you expect someone to be dressed to welcome you). He took us to our room informing us that the restaurant was closed (we weren't informed about this on booking) but we could get a pizza at the bistro which is in the Hotel grounds. We didn't bother so cannot comment on the the Bistro.

Our room was small but well equiped but oh dear the blue bedding was well used and didn't smell too nice. It had been decorated with beige & brown wallpaper beautiful curtains with cushions to match so why oh why the old blue bedding - white sheets needed! The shower room, very clean also very very small.

Breakfast - no one about to great us when we went in the dinning room so just sat at a table that was laid ready for breakfast, on a little table was a few glasses ( nothing to put in them ) some unmatching bowls small packets of cornflakes, fruit and fibre and weetabix. Eventually someone came to serve us (10 mins later) the full english was very greasy and of poor quality, scrambled egg was tasty but only got a small tablespoon full when the toast eventually arrived it was put on the table uncut in the toast rack - it was a shambles. Its as though its got that " couldn't care less attitude " about it which i find sad as the house and grounds are lovely. It just seems the people who own it are letting it go to rack and ruin. As you go up the drive you are met with broken fences,chairs strewn about, the ashtrays all full which didn't get emptied while we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mercedesbenze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bridlington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridlington
0.7 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
570 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
225 reviews
8.6 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 118 in Bridlington
452 reviews
3.9 mi away
Manor Court Hotel
Manor Court Hotel
#23 of 118 in Bridlington
216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spa View Guest House
Spa View Guest House
#50 of 118 in Bridlington
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sewerby Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sewerby Grange

Property: Sewerby Grange
Address: 441 Sewerby Road | Sewerby, Bridlington YO15 1ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sewerby Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sewerby Grange Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing