We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking Essential”

Raffles A La Carte Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 202 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Booking Essential”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Excellent value for money, excellent cooked food and served with a smile.

Remember to book - even for a lunch time meal!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane-sewerbydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
“Best Chips”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Was taken to the MUST TRY Raffles for a special visit. A definite treat. A small restaurant, with a true warming, welcome upon entry. Starter options were of wide variety, soup of the day, cauliflower and broccoli was healthy portioned and perfectly balanced with seasoning, served complete with a hot warm mini loaf. Next on to the steak with a depth of flavors, tender and cooked to perfection. All complimented with lovely wine list. I must say..not on the menu, but served at a special call ahead request were the traditional English "FAT CHIPS" you haven't had any until you have had these as it was a perfect balance of crunch and fluffy baked potato flavor/texture inside. What happens at most restaurants on a Friday night (at least in America), eat quick and move on so we may seat another, DID NOT happen here. We were welcome to stay the entire evening if desired. Evening was rounded out by a welcome sit down and chat with the Chef.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Small, friendly restaurant. We had the early bird menu, 2 courses for £11. Very good choice for this type of menu. Three of us had sirloin steak, and it was delicious. Good selection of vegetables as well. Would definitely go back, shame we live in the South East!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoaBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“open but closed!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We (a party of 8 ladies) arrived to find the restaurant closed with the open sign on the door!!!
As we had booked for 7.30pm a few weeks before, after hearing good reviews, it was very disappointing to say the least. After a phone call we were told that they were closed!!!
So beware, if you book at this restaurant, check before you go.
Fortunately Ellie Maes Bistro further down the street came to the rescue, although busy, moved tables etc, made us feel very welcome and the meal was enjoyed by all.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swim2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raffles015, Owner at Raffles A La Carte Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Sorry but we do not feel that this is a valid comment
as we had booked this DAY off well in advance i don't feel that this
should have been put as a comment as i belive Trip Advisor is about your experiance inside
the venu
And feel it very unfair that you have not steped inside to judge what Raffles is about
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Speciality SeaFood evening an outstanding success!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is our go to place for that very special night out in Bridlington and never fails to please. Throughout the year they hold themed evenings usually on a monday. We went to a recent Fish and Seafood night at Raffles and it was just perfect. 5 courses for £28-50 per head was pitched just about right. On arrival you take your seat and have a brilliant selection of local seafood from which to make your choice. We all get a bowl of home made Paella pronounced delicious by the wife, then a selection of starters. We chose Stuffed Mushrooms(Lobster and Crab) and King Prawn parcels. A nice refreshing Sorbet is then served getting you ready for the main course. I had whole Turbot simply grilled with lemon and the wife went for King Prawn parcels for her main. Other mains were Cod, Barracuda, and Plaice. To follow is a bewildering array of desserts if you have room. We didn't so had another glass of a very nice Rose'...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkyibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raffles A La Carte Restaurant also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Flamborough, Bridlington
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Raffles A La Carte Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing