We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 121 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned home after a fab weekend in Bridlington to see Jack White play at The Spa and we couldn't have chosen a nicer place to stay. It's in a great location and only a short walk into town. The freshly made tea, coffee and lovely home-made biscuits on arrival were a nice touch and very welcome. Our room (6) was cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean, with plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits to come back to after a bracing walk on the beach. Breakfast was excellent and just the job to set us up for the day. The entire place was immaculate and Steve & Tony were two of the nicest people we could hope to meet. What else can we say that hasn't already been said. We will definitely stay again the next time we visit Brid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HippoHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thnaks for your lovely review of South Lodge. We are both pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope to see you both again one day. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
225
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here on a number of occasions and can not fault the cleanliness, the customer service or the price. I would certainly recomommend to friends and family and would not stay anywhere else. The location is perfect for a quite weekend away but close enough to walk into town. Steve and Tony always help to make it a very relaxing break.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been refurished to an excellent standard. Although I do prefer to stay in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moss35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thnaks for leaving your review of South Lodge. It was lovely to meet you both again during your weekend stay. Glad you enjoyed the bonfire and firework display. Look forward to seeing you both again in the new year. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was my second stay this year and once again it was faultless. From the tea and homemade biscuits on arrival, the warm, clean and stylish bedrooms to the perfect breakfasts, nothing is too much trouble for hosts Steve and Tony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Hercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for leaving your review of South Lodge. It was great to meet you again, along with your friend, whilst visitng your family, Hope to see you again next year. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My partner and I spent a long weekend at South Lodge and came away feeling relaxed and refueled. The owners, Steve and Tony, obviously understand hospitality as the care and attention to detail is faultless. Let me give you a few examples, the offer of fresh tea or coffee and homemade biscuits upon arrival - after a 2 hour journey what could be better ? The offer to carry guests luggage, no mater how large or small. The daily recharged hospitality tray, complete with biscuits and enough tea and coffee to slate the strongest thirst.

The rooms are incredibly clean, and very tastefully furnished and decorated to a high level with lots of homely touches too. Lots of care and attention to details is evident in all the guest areas.

The 'lodge' is located in a quiet part of South Bridlington that means that we had a peaceful and restful sleep on all 3 nights. One night a family of 7 was also staying over, but because of the thick walls we were not disturbed.

Then every morning the breakfast, where to start. The breakfast on offer was excellent and really set us up for the day, especially the well cooked and presented English, complete with enough coffee and fresh juice to keep us fueled until the evening. Their had obviously been a lot of thought put into the food and where it is sourced from, it was all obviously cooked with a passion too.

Steve and Tony obviously understand the hospitality industry and offer a very personal and personable experience, they make it seem effortless and fun, nothing was too much trouble.

We really felt as if Steve and Tony had invited us into their home and know that the next time we go to Bridlington we will be returning to South Lodge. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandemflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your very nice review of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Hope that we can welcome you again to South Lodge. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We found the guest house on the internet and it was the best find ever. Both Steve and Tony were the perfect hosts,nothing too much trouble. From the chocolates on the pilow every day to turning on the bedside light and closing the curtains because they knew we would be getting back late in the day. The guest house was spotless and, the breakfast very good (Steve told us he uses bacon and sausages from a local farm they were lovely). We would certainly
go back and we will tell everyone we know how good it is. Just a short note to Steve. Guess what I found? Its for me to know where it is and you to find it with your feather duster! love Gwenx

Room Tip: Our room was at the back number 2 and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwendoline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks for leaving your review of South Lodge. It was lovely to meet you both during your recent stay. It's driven me crazy going around with the feather duster. Can't find anything though. I hope, whatever you found, isn't still their next year when you visit!. See you soon. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

South Lodge is a lovely guesthouse, run by caring and professional hosts. Only a few minutes from south beach, in an attractive area yet still close enough to walk into town easily. Tony and Steve have worked hard to make their guest house stylish, comfortable and welcoming. It retains a traditional atmosphere with a modern twist - everything you could wish for in a seaside B&B. If you are considering a trip to Bridlington, for goodness sake book a room at South Lodge, before someone else does!

Room Tip: Room 2 is nice if you want a bit more space, as it is a family room with double and single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastAngliaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for such a lovely review of South Lodge. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Thanks to Tony and Steve. My wife and I stayed here whilst on a short cycling trip in the area. The quality is really first class. Spotlessly clean,very comfortable and great breakfast. We will certainly return if we are in the area. Mike and Julie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCasperCat, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for leaving your review of South Lodge. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay after your epic bicycle ride!. Hope to see you again. Kindest Regards, Steve and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
1.5 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#4 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Kilburn
The Kilburn
#2 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivanhoe Guest House
Ivanhoe Guest House
#9 of 121 in Bridlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Guest House

Property: South Lodge Guest House
Address: 105 Cardigan Road, Bridlington, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Lodge Guest House is situated on the South Side of Bridlington, East Ridings of Yorkshire. We are a cosy retreat at an affordable price. All of our rooms are en-suite and we offer a range of rooms from twin to family rooms sleeping four. We are only 300 yds away from the stunning South Beach and a short stroll to the Spa Theatre, Harbour and Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your South Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Lodge Guest House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing