We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Italian food, great value”
Review of Bonifacio's

Bonifacio's
Ranked #40 of 198 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Italian food, great value”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A nice restaurant with great quality food. We had the "early bird" menue which was great. There are many "chain" Italian places around everywhere these days. So we've not been to an independent family run restaurant like this for a while. The wine, dessert and the food were of good quality and you will not be disappointed if you decide to eat here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank solwaydooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsbury5, Owner at Bonifacio's, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
So kind of your to take your time to review us with lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon.
kindest regards
Eliseo and Merilyn Bonifacio and our Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    84
    28
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Dissapointing”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Having visited Bonifacio's last week for a final family meal after a nice week by the coast. We where all very disappointed from the moment we sat at our table.

Taking the mustard yellow walls, laminated motivational quotes and a sign that says 'You take a my space, I break a your face' out of the equation.

The starter selection did not have standard Italian antipasti such as cured meats. The menu offered 'live mussels' as a starter, the waiter advised that they were actually frozen which is bizarre considering they are so close to fresh fish. After settling for the brochette, it arrived looking more like a pizza.

When the mains arrived, all where returned as they had various different faults, like shreds of chicken in the chicken dish, watery sauce and meat balls that tasted like nothing eaten before.

I was presented with my main in a dish that had a crack in it and a big chip missing from the corner. There was also a dirty spoon on the table.

Although we were offered replacement food after complaining, we declined as once 4 dishes have been served as they where, we didn't have any faith in any future offerings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsbury5, Owner at Bonifacio's, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Such a pity that you didn't allow us to put things right for you, ourcustomer reviews are testament to the fact that we serve good food.
Unfortunately we do have the odd person who would prefer to leave a nasty review rather than allow us to rectify the problem. I hope that you are satisfied that you have managed to discredit us,fortunately most of our customers recognise intentionally mean reviews and only take note of the hundreds of good ones.
Kindest regards
Eliseo and Merilyn Bonifacio and our brilliant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent-
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very very average”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

If you have never visited an Italian restaurant before then this place is fine.
If however you know your bruschetta from your Prosciutto then I really would not make the effort.
To be fair Bridlington offers a massive choice when it come to its eating establishments, so long as you like fish and chips. At one point I stood in a certain spot and counted no less than 12 chippys!
Bonifacios is very average, the staff on our visit we're functioning, just.
The decor was pretty tackey.
The cleanliness was average.
Our food was hot and reasonable, but nothing special or worth writing about.
Value for money was decent enough but only because we had an early bird meal deal.
This Italian has the marketplace seen up in town but don't be fooled into thinking this is how they are everywhere else.
Average.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gilesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsbury5, Owner at Bonifacio's, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We rarely get this kind of response from our ustomers and when we do I wonder why on the numerous occasions that they are asked if everything is alright, why they don't say instead of leaving mean comments like this one. Many many of our reviews tel a different story than this one and although we are unhappy that you were not best pleased we would have liked you to say at the time when we may have been able to put things right.
Kindest regards
Eliseo and Merilyn Bonifacio and our brilliant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great traditional italian - for all the family”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was our first visit after searching trip advisor for a good restaurant in bridlington. We were not disappointed. This is a typical italian with the italian owner cooking the food...... The lasagne was one of the best I have ever tasted. We were a party of 12 aged 7 to 77 and it suited everyone. What was nice is that your veg/potatoes were included in the price and this restaurant is really good value for money. We are staying in Flamborough again in August so will be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsbury5, Owner at Bonifacio's, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
So pleased that we made your visit enjoyable. Both ourselves and our lovely staff take pride in reviews like this. We look forward to seeing you againsoon and thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments.
kindest regards
Eliseo and Merilyn Bonifacio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovey place to eat”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The restaurant was warm and inviting, the food was excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. Cannot wait to go back next year to it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsbury5, Owner at Bonifacio's, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
So pleased to have made your visit pleasant and thanks for tking your time to review us. Many visitors come back year after year and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
kindest regards
Eliseoand Merilyn Bonifacio and our Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonifacio's also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Bonifacio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing