We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat!!”
Review of Rags Restaurant

Rags Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 217 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rags Hotel, Bar & Restaurant is located alongside the Harbours Edge and Bridlington’s South Beach. A family friendly ground floor Bar/lounge area boasts candlelit seating areas with a contemporary feel. A seasonal menu is served all day with two Harbour View dining areas available. The varied lunch/evening menu and daily specials feature a large variety of dishes using locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. This establishment also offers function and meeting rooms, subject to availability. Six First floor hotel rooms are situated within a former RAF hangar where the interior décor creates a homely feel. Rooms include a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms boast large corner baths, power showers & luxury toiletries. Hotel guests have priority to the Free on-site parking. Full Yorkshire & Continental breakfast in the First Floor Restaurant, is cooked to order and served with stunning views of the working Harbour and South Bay.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had another great meal at Rags overlooking the harbour yesterday - tasted even better as they gave my wife a voucher for £15 towards the meal!! The food is consistently good, but one thing that could maybe have been looked at was cod loin wrapped in parma ham (delicious) served with seasonal veg - the veg was carrots, broccoli and cauliflower in a cheese sauce which was far better suited to the roast dishes on offer and the cheese sauce took away from the sauce that was served with the cod. Would have preferred summer veg, but still good all the same!! Always visit when we're in Brid!!
Top tip - fill in the birthday form for £15 off!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julied930, Owner at Rags Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for your recent review I am pleased you enjoyed you evening with us and that your wife received her Birthday treat .
Our vegetable selection does change regularly I am sorry that you felt yours didn't go with the dish you ordered we would be more than willing to have changed this for you please just let us know next time and we will always aim to serve you an alternative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 573 of 688 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

As the wife and I love the sea this restaurant is perfect.Everything was cooked how we like it, I couldn't fault anything. We both had fish dishes, but it was so hard to choose what to have as there is such a lovely choice.( We also stayed at Rags for 2 nights which was a good choice) Everything was freshly caught that day so the taste was even better. Can't wait to go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julied930, Owner at Rags Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to us I am very pleased you enjoyed your meal and the fish that was on the menu.
Just to let you know on Fridays we offer a fish & wine deal if you order 2 main course fish dishes from our main menu you receive a Free bottle of wine
we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Beautiful location overlooking the harbour and the meal was gorgeous. The young waitress we had couldnt be more friendly and helpful if she tried. Would highly recommend

Thank Mizzyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julied930, Owner at Rags Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

thank you so much for your recent review about your visit to Rags the staff really do try hard to look after the customers so its lovely that you have taken the time to comment on that thank you and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic meal, I'm so upset that i am unwell at the moment and left over half of my meal as was superb ( sorry chef!) very friendly staff and lovely table looking out on the harbour. I'm so glad I live in Bridlington and will go back again once my large appetite returns!

Thank Bahamas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julied930, Owner at Rags Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

thank you so much for your lovely review and I am sorry you are unwell at the moment we can always offer smaller portions of most of the dishes on the menu so please feel free to ask when you come again and we will always try to serve you something suitable we hope to see you very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

After a two years absence, we looked forward to our Sunday carvery meal, we found the meal had declined in it`s quality and taste, not being put off we went back a dew days later (everyone can have a bad day) for the signature Steak Pie, again we were disappointed, all we can say to customers "standards and quality have dropped"

Thank nigelcarter61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julied930, Owner at Rags Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

thank you for your comments I am really sorry you were dissapointed I am unsure what the problem was and as we don't and never have offered a carvery in all the 18 years we have been here at Rags I am unsure what you are comparing it to !
We do have a Homemade Steak Pie on the menu and it is a very popular choice with our customers it is not a signature dish so again I am unsure what you are referring to.
It is a shame that we could not have dealt with your complaints at the time we always like feed back directly from our customers at the time so if there is a problem we can try to rectify it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rags Restaurant also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Flamborough, Bridlington
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Rags Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing