We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hit and miss”
Review of rags

rags
Ranked #6 of 202 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Harbour View Restaurant & Bar with seven ensuite bedrooms Serving a varied menu & Full bar service Open all day every day with superb views over Bridlingtons Harbour & Bay
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hit and miss”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

the food when they first did the place out upstairs was so lovely - very cordon bleu - but I have been back twice since and sat downstairs and found it very same old same old. disappointing !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank teri778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    147
    57
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ate there before going on to a show at the Spa so this made Rags a perfect location. We had booked a table upstairs and were seated by a window so that we had a lovely view of the harbour. The menu was quite varied and the choices that we made were all perfectly tasty apart from the fried fish & chips that I had. The fish looked and tasted as if it had been frozen, smooth batter and quite grey fish in parts. The desserts were delicious though, orange & ginger sponge for two of us, chocolate pudding for another ( he has put on 2lbs since eating it). Staff very friendly and service good. Apart from my fish the only quibble that we all had was this practise of serving food on wooden platters, we loathe that, there is nothing wrong with a plain white plate and we did ask for plates for our mains which we got. The only thing that should come on a wooden board is bread and cheese. We will certainly try Rags again irrespective of these minor niggles

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had looked at this restaurant on an earlier trip to Bridlington as we wanted to eat prior to taking in a show at the nearby Spa Royal Hall, later in the year. Rags is a bar, restaurant and hotel situated right on the harbour side and does not really stand out as anything special. However, we thought that the menu looked good and called in for a drink with a view to booking a table and going back later. We were told however that they had quite a few bookings - no doubt others who were also attending the same show as us. We decided not to wait and took up the offer of eating in the 'upstairs' restaurant. There is a conservatory area at ground level where food is served, overlooking right onto the quayside. We got the impression that eating upstairs would not provide the same experience as eating in the conservatory. However, we were shown to a table by the window with really good panoramic views. The menu choice was very varied, from 'pub type' grub (savoury pies and mash) to more refined dining but all at reasonable prices. We each chose to just have a main course, two of us opting for cod loin in Italian ham with vegetables and the other going for rib-eye steak with hand cut chips and onion rings. the only minor issue was that the mashed potato accompanying the fish was almost cold, while everything else, including the plates was hot. Overall though, it was a good experience and one to recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“made the birthday girl feel special”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

good food, good service and a great atmosphere, sat overlooking the famous Bridlington Harbour with views across both North and South beaches. Rags just gets better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, but lots not available!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Sat in the window downstairs, nice outlook but table was a bit sticky. Had a crab salad starter which only contained brown meat, not a problem for me as I love it but might not suit some. Two others had the antipasti to share which was very stingy. Five small slices of French stick, a slice of thin ham and slice of another meat each plus some olives. Several beers weren't available despite it being early on a Saturday night. Main courses were all delicious, no crackers left for cheese n biscuits for dessert (couldn't someone have popped out to the supermarket just down the road?!) service was fast and fairly friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tjd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed rags also viewed

Flamborough, Bridlington
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to rags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing