We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot and nice service”
Review of rags

rags
Ranked #6 of 206 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Harbour View Restaurant & Bar with seven ensuite bedrooms Serving a varied menu & Full bar service Open all day every day with superb views over Bridlingtons Harbour & Bay
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good spot and nice service”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great view, and from the moment we arrived Julie made us very welcome. The food was generally very good (my steak a little disappointing) but the atmosphere, view and friendliness were even better. Big portions too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    151
    57
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“By the Harbour”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nicely situated with good views of the harbour. The food is a touch above normal pub grub standard and the service is fine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small Details Spoil This Restaurant”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited 'Rags' on our first night in Scarborough, it was the first place we saw. We were offered a table upstairs, window view over the harbour. So far so good. The starter was tasty but I would have preferred my Asparagus to have had the hard skin peeled off. They were very chewy. The waiter served the main course not telling me that the veg dish was red hot until I had burnt myself. I feel that the dish had been left in an oven far too long and perfectly good veg was ruined. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and barring the hot dish they worked well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melec57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mega Burger is a must”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ate here on our last night of Way of the Roses and wanted to celebrate. Our 14 year old son did this in style with their mega burger. Was more like man v's food, this time man won but only just!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Really good food in good surroundings but they have always sold out of something, and there is a slight attitude problem with staff

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kengolf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julied930, Owner at rags, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments I am sorry we didn't have something on the menu when you visited everything on the menu is freshly prepared to order and when we are busy it is very difficult to determine what customers will order from the menu .We feel it is better to run out of certain dishes than to have to keep things in the freezers. Also we do have a very varied choice on the menu and specials so hopefully there was something you chose to your liking.
I am sorry you feel the staff that dealt with you had an attitude problem we do have very good comments about how friendly are staff and this is usually the case so I apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed rags also viewed

Flamborough, Bridlington
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to rags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing