We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child friendly restaurant”
Review of Sandown Restaurant & Cafe' - CLOSED

Sandown Restaurant & Cafe'
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“Child friendly restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant has excellent service and the food was just like home cooking. They cater for children, and even supply food for babies. We were made to feel very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don733, Owner at Sandown Restaurant & Cafe', responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are very pleased the food and service met you expectations and hope to see you and your family again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    22
    18
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“The brammers”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Visited for breakfast on holiday. Great food and really good value. Will call again and recommend. Thank you

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don733, Owner at Sandown Restaurant & Cafe', responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for spending time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again in either our cafe or our restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The best food in Bridlington would recommend it to anyone going to the area staff very friendly, portion size is very generous went there for every meal out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don733, Owner at Sandown Restaurant & Cafe', responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed you meals so much you came back each time you ate out and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sandown fayre”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

this is a good old eatery with no frills just great value for money.very good food served with a warm welcome in the middle of town.love this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank newboysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don733, Owner at Sandown Restaurant & Cafe', responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive and honest review. We value all our customers and appreciate you spending time to review our cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic! and Hilarious!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My partner and I came across this restaurant whilst on holiday and we are so glad we did, we both had main meals and they were extremely tasty. The portions were plentiful and served with a smile. The restaurant itself was extremely clean as were the toilets. We were not expecting such big portions and as a result we left a bit of food on our plates. The very attentive waitress asked us if there was anything wrong, when we replied that there was just too much for us she just laughed but it impressed us that she actually cared because we have been in lots of restuarants where they don't. We also went around the corner to the cafe one morning for breakfast and that was hilarious, we both ordered the same thing and the cafe was busy and whent the order came we got someone else's, so did the next table and the next and the next, the ladies made a joke of it and so did everyone in the cafe, we will definately be back, we are going back to Bridlington at the end of March and can't wait. We would recommend these two places to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don733, Owner at Sandown Restaurant & Cafe', responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanx for your review hopefully we shall see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandown Restaurant & Cafe' also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bempton, Bridlington
 
Flamborough, Bridlington
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing