We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chip shop in England, NO ! Not on the night we went.”

Fish and Chips at 149
Ranked #4 of 206 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Fish and Chips at 149 philosophy is that the customer deserves the best possible experience from the moment you walk through the door to the very last bite. We work in every area of our business constantly striving for the best possible results. Fish and Chips at 149 has two shops, one on Marton Road in Bridlington and the other, on Galgate in Barnard Castle. Come and say hello.
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best chip shop in England, NO ! Not on the night we went.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Finally got try to 149 last night, Parking is beyond a joke, maybe worth asking the council to introduce a one way system ? Plus all that grassed area in front would be ideal for tables &chairs. Turned my car round near some garages at the rear of the shop and spotted the young fryer having a quick cigarette. Got parked, went in,woman behind the counter finally asked me what I wanted, I said three haddock not sure she told the lad doing the frying though, five minutes later she asked me again. Got the order with a cup of tea 2x peas but they had no breadcakes. Drove down to the beach to eat them, first impressions the fish was superb, nice light batter and superb chips, peas ok, cup of tea was nice however the grease from the fish does congeal very quickly ! The other complaint from the 3 of us, was the fish seemed overdone on the edges where the batter hadn't stuck to the fish. Overall 8 out of ten. Not sure if the lass serving thought she was comedienne and I'm sure her and the fryer lad were at loggerheads with each other and seemed to be playing a game of one upmanship. Not sure why they have little chalkboards that tells me what local boat caught the fish and what breed of potatoes went into the chips

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sbdtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    97
    66
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food not so good service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews on trip advisor we decided to visit whilst on holiday in filey.
The fish and chips were great, service not so. my order was wrong and I had to repeat it numerous times, the assistant was more interested in talking than listening, didn't really need to know what her friends had put on Facebook!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spire207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Brid”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are regular customers on our trips to Brid, but decided to try another after researching the reviews on tripadvisor. Tried Gabbys in the old town who are rated number 1 - what a mistake!
Back to 149 where we are guaranteed fresh, quality fish and chips - they can't be beaten.
We will be back this weekend - we don't mind the queues and sometimes parking chaos, because we know we won't be disappointed.
Thanks to all at 149, keep up the good work, we appreciate it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harri103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish and chips”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fish and chips from here were spot on, the fish was very fresh, batter was not too heavy and the chips were crispy on the outside but fluffy on the inside. It is take away only but that is not a problem, just a few minutes drive down to the front at Brid and either eat them in the car or out in the fresh air. They are served in a box so they don't go soggy as they do if wrapped in paper. Service was quick and friendly, had to wait a little once the order was placed but not a problem as they were being cooked fresh, so only to be expected.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Fish & Chips ...could do better”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good Fish & Chips shop that with some minor changes can be great.
If you don't live locally you need a car, but parking is limited - especially when hungry punters neglect to use their brain. (but there's plenty of parking in side streets, just a few minutes walk away).
Apart from the extra wait, due to a mistake in our order, the service was prompt and polite, the (Mini) Cod and Haddock where crisp and flaky and the chips were perfect.
But here is a wish list: the fish was a bit greasy (probably needs some extra draining or a change in the oil temperature) and the limited sides selections should include also Coleslaw, Gherkins and Tartare sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VaderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish and Chips at 149 also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Flamborough, Bridlington
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Fish and Chips at 149? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing