We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More mini fish than goujons”
Review of Fish and Chips 149

Fish and Chips 149
Ranked #3 of 200 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Fish and Chips at 149 philosophy is that the customer deserves the best possible experience from the moment you walk through the door to the very last bite. We work in every area of our business constantly striving for the best possible results. Fish and Chips at 149 has two shops, one on Marton Road in Bridlington and the other, on Galgate in Barnard Castle. Come and say hello.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More mini fish than goujons”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Awesome fish and chips that we go back each year while on holiday. This year went or the 6 fish goujons which could easily serve 2 as they were huge, so delicious and lightly battered. Just be aware portions are BIG

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    92
    64
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fish & Chip Heaven”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great fish and chips and fantastic staff. They deserve all the awards they have won. The location is out of the way but people travel miles to go there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank petercjackl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Was the best”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I used to love this place, but the quality appears to have dropped. I visit this place because family live near who also say the quality has dropped.

Food is under or over cooked now at the last 3 times I visited this year. I am told the owners are busy setting up another shop, if so, please come back and review what is going on!

Used to be fantastic, please please fix it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Brawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice..but over priced long waite”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

so expensive,only 4 people in front of me,still a 20 minute waite. very overated.fish and chips twice,2 portions of peas, over £13. rip off

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank de19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good But Expensive !”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The 149 is becoming an expensive place to buy your fish & chips ! yes the quality is there in the food and well presented but the prices now being charged are more akin to restaurant prices than a take-away !
Parking is horrendous with many an angry exchange between drivers , locals not too happy with the situation !
Lots more chippys in Brid who offer as good as the 149 !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorksCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish and Chips 149 also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Flamborough, Bridlington
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Fish and Chips 149? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing