We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First prize for worst gents ever”

The South Cliffe Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The South Cliffe Hotel
Ranked #112 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went to the mens toilet, worst toilets ever, the place stank as if it never gers cleaned,
1 toilet was full of ***** because the flush was broken, the other had a broken lock.
When i complained an old hag who must have been the manager told me i was seeing things and smelling things because she had just been in and the tiolets were ok.

The place is quite nice in the back family room, but the front bar is full of Bridlingtons alcholic population. Will never go back the place gone down hill fast.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garrybrown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

what a place to spend a night with work mates after a fishing trip on the yorkshire lass,cannot fault it in any way,rooms were great,food bang on,staff so friendly I thought I had known them personally all my life,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Really cannot find a nice word to say about the place, the manageress is a horrible old nag, doesn't like people to have a good time is not child friendly and mocks the disabled, I have never stayed any where as nasty in my life, the rooms are dated and the smell is disgusting, the manageress actually barred a disabled young man from singing on karaoke during our stay which we found appalling could never stay there again

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Worst hotel ever!
Entire place stinks of chip fat. Rooms are horrible. Service and food are disgusting
Woman who owns it made us pay a £10 deposit each??? Not sure why, the entire hotel isn't worth £10!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin_the_fixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This Hotel is situated in a prime location opposite the Spa, however the rooms are a bit grubby looking and could do with a lick of paint, the kitchens are in dyer need of some extracter fans as there is an overwelhming smell of burning grease on the landings to the rooms. The staff were o.k but the landlady has a very cavalier approach toward customers (like it or lump it). One postive is that the meals are good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrjones62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Turned up without booking as we had been let down by our original choice. We were really pleased with the room and the food. Breakast was included in the reasonable price and we ate there every night. Extremely good value for properly cooked food. The staff were all friendly but there obviously weren't enough of them. Everywhere upstairs looked like it needed a good hoover! It wasn't filth and grime just looked like they weren't expecting visitors. The hotel is in a good location just opposite The Spa and minutes away from the beach. If money was spent on it and more staff were employed to bring it up to higher standards it could command much higher rates... but I don't think we'd want that as we wouldn't be able to afford it.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Mo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Turned up on spec - hadn't booked, chose hotel at random - they had a vacancies sign on display. Very friendly member of staff showed us the available room, which was beautiful, amazingly large, well-equipped and extremely clean, we couldn't believe the price for the pair of us - we would have expected to pay that each, and breakfast was included! We had a drink at the bar, in very pleasant and friendly surroundings, and enjoyed delicious home-cooked evening meals, in a lovely dining room, and at a price so reasonable that made us doubt the potential quality - until it arrived - it was superb. Yes, you can smell cooking - that's good - it means they actually cook the food, as opposed to microwaving pre-prepared rubbish! This is the real thing, and was much appreciated. We slept very well, it was extremely comfortable, and the large, full English breakfast was as good as the evening meal. We stayed an extra night because we were having such a good time, and have nothing but praise for the hotel, the service, the food and the staff. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bridlington
241 reviews
1 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Days Guest House
Happy Days Guest House
#48 of 117 in Bridlington
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Marina
The Marina
#5 of 117 in Bridlington
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carlton Apartments
The Carlton Apartments
#5 of 31 in Bridlington
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#62 of 117 in Bridlington
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The South Cliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The South Cliffe Hotel

Address: 6-10 South Marine Drive | Torrs Park, Bridlington YO15 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The South Cliffe Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing